We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable minutes with Mike”

Wilderness River Safaris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Wilderness River Safaris, offer leisurely boat cruises on the Touw River, starting and ending at the slipway at Tarentaal day visitor area in Wilderness Rest Camp of Garden Route National Park. The boat "Silver Serpent" is a safari style aluminium longboat with canvas canopy, it seats 8 passengers and is powered by a small quiet outboard motor. The cruise takes one up the reed lined river into the forested valley and down the lagoon to the river mouth. The spectacular scenic beauty, aquatic and forest bird life, and luxury homes along the river make this a very enjoyable and interesting trip for people of all ages. Refreshments are included in the price, whilst patrons may bring their own refreshments and picnic. Another option is to book a cruise on Island Lake, here there is more bird life and the boat may go at speed for a little excitement. What to bring: Sunblock, hats, binoculars and cameras, clothes to match the weather and something extra for if the weather may change. Rates: We charge R150 per adult and R100 per child. A daily conservation fee is payable on entry to the park, the fee (if applicable)is subject to SANParks tariffs. We suggest booking in advance. During summer there will be scheduled trips every two hours.
Reviewed 28 September 2017

A relaxing time on the Touw river with Mike, a very informative guide & skipper of a comfortable aluminium cruiser. Highly recommended.

Thank whatJDC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikeraub, Owner at Wilderness River Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our cruises. Very glad that you enjoyed it. Regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boat trip"
in 2 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 2 reviews
"bird life"
in 3 reviews
"mike"
in 11 reviews
"birds"
in 7 reviews
"lagoon"
in 2 reviews
"river"
in 4 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Mike made our day. He made efforts so we have photo op's with most birds in the river. Comfortable relaxing and enjoying. The best way to explore the river with an expert.

Thank Gitzhaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikeraub, Owner at Wilderness River Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your great review! It's my pleasure to share the ecology and a bit of knowledge with those who appreciate it. I'm glad to have met your expectations. Every group has different needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

What a delightful hour spent with Mike on his river boat! As it's out of season we called him and he was super obliging arriving within 10 minutes. As we're a family of birders he went to areas where he has seen birds most recently and was most knowledgeable. The boat seats have been upgraded since our first trip a year ago and were super comfortable. Affordable and thoroughly enjoyable!

Thank Leigh & Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikeraub, Owner at Wilderness River Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thanks Leigh and Craig for the support and the kind review. It is great to have people like you returning for more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Calm and peaceful with many birds to see. We could spend the whole day on this boat just floating down the river!
Thanks Mike for helping us so quickly

Thank lkoekemoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikeraub, Owner at Wilderness River Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thanks Lizanne for the support and kind review. So glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We had a thoroughly enjoyable trip with Mike. The tranquility of this special place was a real treat to experience with a knowledgeable guide. The pace of the tour is perfect. Thank you.

Thank Londonfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikeraub, Owner at Wilderness River Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your review and rating. Glad to have met your expectations. It is always nice to show visitors our beautiful natural environment in Wilderness. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilderness River Safaris also viewed

 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Wilderness River Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing