We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, excellent food and friendly service ”

The Girl's On The Square
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$100 - US$750
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of the Wilderness village, we are a multi award winning, Top 10 Restaurant on the Garden Route. Come and relax in a cosy, African inspired atmosphere highlighted by stunning artwork by local artist, Peter Pharoah. Our beautiful garden setting is ideal for enjoying the warm African weather! We have an imaginative menu combining high quality local produce with distinctly different flavours. Popular menu items include fresh linefish, succulent prawns, tender steaks and flavoursome curries all cooked to perfection in our open kitchen where you can see the chefs at work! Our award winning wine list has been carefully chosen to offer a wide selection of local South African wines to enhance your dining experience - not to mention our ever popular gin tasting platters!! We look forward to welcoming you at The Girl's on the Square!
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We can highly recommend The Girl‘s to go out for a good dinner.
The restaurant itself is not that big so that a reservation definitely makes sense. The food is delicious and nicely presented (look at pictures). The service is very polite and super friendly.

1  Thank AvonF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We had the steak and the mango seafood. It was good but not something to get too excited about. The service was excellent!

Thank cindey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

We had an evening meal at the girls .The place was buzzing albeit being in winter and quite cold,the place felt warm and cosy.We had a lovely meal and the food was delicious.The starters and dessserts also looked very good .

Thank MAUREEN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Lovely food , atmosphere and staff. We eat here every time we visit SA. It is a must to try and then return to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travellerCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Terrible. We got sick very sick from their food we had tappas. Hummus whas curried up so that you can't taste that it's off pesto is only olive oil with a bit of basil. Bree whas bitter as hell the thomboli what sour very bad food. Three waiter no one know what they were talking about

2  Thank issebelvisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanneInWilderness, Owner at The Girl's On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Issebelvisser

Please allow me to respond to your review!!

Our hummus is made fresh every day using .....chickpeas. Must admit we`ve never had it confused with curry before.

Pestos tend to be oily.

Brie would smell like ammonia if it was off and you wouldn`t put it anywhere near your mouth!! But should you have not been put off by the smell and in fact eaten it, you would have got a type of food poisoning called listeria. The time between consumption, ie eating the food, and the appearance of the first symptoms usually takes between 4- 8 weeks after the event?!!......Oops.

Still trying to work out what "thomboli" is, so can`t comment on what your symptoms would have been. Perhaps that had something to do with the matter when you refer to our our waiters not knowing what "they "were talking about. I don`t blame them!

Fascinates me as to why you would have, in your repertoire of reviews, decided to review Saldanha Bay Municipality.

Yours Roxanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Girl's On The Square also viewed

 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to The Girl's On The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing