We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$39
View deal
PricelineUS$39
Agoda.comUS$39
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
150
142
76
59
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
150
142
76
59
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tugela falls pool table backpackers lodge course meal rock climbing wall self catering fixed menu twin room highly recommend this place hike jacuzzi mountains kitchen drakensberg facilities vibe camping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2021

Beautiful location. Beautiful venue and atmosphere for some drinks, views and the general chill. We got the economy twin room which was clean and neat, but tiny (understandable) and the bunk beds were quite wobbly. The first hour before sleep took me I was expecting the thing to break at any moment, but had no issues.

People are friendly and the food was okay. nothing wrong with it but definitely on the budget side of things. The chips were overly spiced up and I had to eat my fiancé's portion but it was okay for me with the drink.

We had a short 20min walk to the little pond before sundown and it was lovely.

Overall there are some minor room (excuse the pun) for improvement but it definitely scores points and makes up for it with the location and atmosphere it has. They just need to be careful not to rest on their laurels too much and try to adjust their kitchen a little bit.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pieter-Adriaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

The staff and management was great! We made a few changes to our booking and was given the credit to use for drinks and meals over our stay.

After spending two nights wild camping in the mountain we decided to upgrade our tented accommodation to rooms. We were assisted with this without any effort. All of this made for a great stay! We will definitely be back when hiking in the Northern Drakensberg.

Ps: the pizza is the best! What a pity we couldn’t order pizza again the Monday evening.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lyronjulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2021

A small tv in the room would be appricieted. other than that thier facility is of great standard and their prices are affordable. the place is easy to find and well equiped, we had a great time with the band. Thank you for an amazing time we shared.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nshaba751004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2021

I have travelled to the backpackers 4 times in a short time frame just because of how wonderful the experience is. From the view to the staff to the facilities it is one of my favourite travel destinations.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank leecrusemeiring09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2021

The Amphitheatre Backpackers is well recommended for it's setting overlooking the Amphitheatre, value for money, good standard of various types of clean accommodation and camping facilities, tasty, well presented meals and friendly, efficient staff. We stayed in a family unit this time but my husband and friends have stayed in other units and camped on previous visits, and we will all continue to return.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews