We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
281
127
34
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
127
34
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp shongathe main lodgeprivate lodgegame driveswatering holebush breaksoutdoor showerearly morninghigh teaelectric fencebuffet styleevening gamesafari experienceprivate reserveoff roadafternoon drivecamp fire
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Situated inside Kruger, About 2.5 hrs drive from nelspruit airport. Very spacious rooms and nice food. Good arrangement for safari into the national park. On the negative, pretty long walk to the rooms, difficult for luggage, children and service.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jibu2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We arrived at Camp Shonga after a brief stop at the parent lodge to wait for our driver to take us for the 15-minute ride to Camp Shonga. Texan (Tex) was our driver for the entire stay (three nights, four days). We were hungry having nothing since we left Johannesburg early morning. The camp cook staff prepared a wonderful lunch then we were off to our cabin. The photos we viewed prior to making our reservations were spot on...wood floor with screened and canvas sides and thatched roof. While a bit rustic (not in a bad way) the cabin had a king bed, a large bath, outside shower and plenty of privacy since there are only five cabins at the camp and separated by trees and shrubs. We asked to leave our blackout canvas rolled up so we could enjoy the sights and sounds of Kruger. While we have read many reviews about this camp, both positive and not-so, we must say our stay could not have been better. Tex went out of his way to provide an experience of a life time. Our first game drive was the same day we arrived and started with a lioness and her cubs up close. Each morning at 5:30 am we were awoken and were on a game drive by 6:00 am, The evening game drives started at 4:00 pm and lasted until 7:00 pm. Viewing wildlife anywhere in the world can be a hit or miss adventure, but each drive Tex exceeded our expectations and we wondered how the next drive could top the previous one. We were not disappointed on any drive either by the wildlife viewing or the incredible sunrises and sunsets. Yes, we did see all of the BIG FIVE, plus cheetahs, hyenas, jackal, hippos, zebra, giraffes, and many colorful birds. Breakfast at camp was after the morning game drive, lunch around 1:00 pm, and dinner after the evening game drive. The cook staff did an incredible job with all of our meals using local ingredients. Alcoholic drinks are not included in the all inclusive, but are available if one wishes. We know some clients who posted their reviews were less than satisfied with their visit. Sure there is some quirkiness involved when visiting more remote camps, but that is part of the experience. With only a maximum of 10-visitors at any one time, it makes for a very cosy stay. We were there in mid-May which is actually the off season, but we would go back again during the same time period.

Room Tip: There is not a bad cabin at this camp. Our friends were in cabln 3, we in cabin 4.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We are group of 17 Guests for 02 nights checked in 16th May 2017 to 18th May 2017. Welcome reception was excellent . As specially our arrival follow up to the lodge followed by the lodge manager is markable. The food is also good but must be added some additional dishes. The Safari Rangers are very good and we had sighted Lion very closely and other animals as well. The 17th May evening snacks offered in the crodile river bank duing sun set is very very impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Selvaraju B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Had a great time , spotted the big 5 on 1 game drive a truly awesome experience!
Would definitely come back to Shishangeni, the rangers are friendly and the staff is helpful . I satisfied and received value for money !

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MsMgaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtienneSO, Manager at Shishangeni by BON Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Good day Ms Mgaga,
Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at our lodge. Not only do we value your opinion, we NEED it because we rely on your input. This is how we improve where we need to and praise and acknowledge our team for sticking to our game-plan. Our Management Team reads guest feedback and comment cards every day. The team at Shishangeni believes that our guest satisfaction is the true measure of our performance.
So guaranteed, the content is noted and we hope to see you again soon
Shishangeni Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I have stayed here years ago and can't comment on what it is like now overall but I can comment on arrival and departure procedure, as I now visit frequently as "the messenger". It has to be the worst venue I have experienced in years of delivering and picking up clients at various lodges.
On arrival there is no one waiting to greet guests; you simply go to reception. It is a battle to find anyone to handle the luggage from the vehicle.
On departure luggage handling is again a problem. They deliver it to the front area but you are expected to do the loading.
Asked if they had any porters, I am told "no".
Apparently there have been changes in personnel and I can only assume the change is for the worse.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shishangeni, Manager at Shishangeni by BON Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for the review, however we must say that we are very disappointed by your comments. We've known you for some time as a driver of XXX transfer company. we have explained to you for several times that our employees are not allowed to open private vehicles, as the driver it is your duty to offload the luggage from your own vehicle, our staff then take it to reception and into the rooms after check ins.
In future if you need any further assistance, please let us know, we will gladly assist as we value the relationship we have with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews