We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bungalow, no wifi, terrible food.”
Review of Letaba Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Letaba Rest Camp
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Hi guys
We always rent a bungalow with a kitchenette.
A bungalow on the perimeter.
Our bungalow had 3 beds. So, we did not have to lay our suitcases on the floor. Beds are good.
There is a lot of game in the area.
The restaurant (Tindlovu) is a disgrace. The food is awful. Black boboti, very tough meat (mixed grill). The restaurant is a well organized chaos.
Avoid at all costs.
Regards
schliek

Room Tip: a bungalow on the perimeter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Has everything you need if you book a bungalow with kitchen and bathroom. Game drives are good and the camp is clean and tidy with a well stocked shop.
Bush kitchen is operating now selling African food / also very good. Recommend - no wifi.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

The Letaba camp for me is the most beautiful of all the rest camps within the Kruger National Park. Lots of trees, big camp sites and the resident Bush bucks wandering around the camp. Camp sites aren't specifically mark so you can choose the best location for your group when you get there. I would recommend that your take decent length power extension cords as the power points might be a bit further than usual from where you would like to camp. Also, most of the camp sites are on a fine dirt surface so take extra ground sheeting with to make your stay a bit more comfortable. The camp has a nice walking path running along the fence, on the rivers' side, all the way from the camping area to the restaurant. The food at the restaurant is of a good standard. Be sure to grab at least one drink at the restaurant as you have a beautiful view over the Letaba river. The shop in the camp is also well stocked.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Ok, sure it's dated, no WiFi and the restaurant is nothing to write home about. It is clean, safe and has all you really need to enjoy the bush. The Letaba River Bridge nearby is worth it as you allowed out of your vehicle! It's all about the wildlife, we saw cheetah, jackals and other amazing animals. Had a bush baby in the tree above our cabin! The shop and the tusker museum add to the amenities of the camp. Bring your own food and drinks and you will have a great time.

Room Tip: Close as possible to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazboOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Letaba restcamp is beautifully located on the Letaba river. However, the Mug and Bean restaurant was closed including the beautifull terrace, although the river walk itself remains beautifull.The tented restaurant was not an acceptable alternative and the service was slow. Our bungalow (BD3U) was a bit outdated. The shower area was very cramped as was the outside kitchen. Just outside the camp we saw 2 male lions at the other side of the river, which itself was disappointingly devoid of animals except crocodiles. Letaba is halfway Satara and Shingwedzi and therefore an interesting stop for those who want to visit the northern part of the Kruger.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Geert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
124.4 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
441 reviews
171.2 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#64 of 178 in Kruger National Park
136 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
163.6 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#36 of 178 in Kruger National Park
212 reviews
151.6 km away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#29 of 178 in Kruger National Park
600 reviews
83 km away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#51 of 178 in Kruger National Park
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letaba Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letaba Rest Camp

Address: Lethaba-Shingwedzi Road, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range: RM 351 - RM 7,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic Letaba Rest Camp is situated on a sweeping bend of the Letaba River, midway between the southern and northern boundaries of the Kruger National Park. The name means "river of sand", and the sandy riverbed is an excellent location for game viewing, particularly elephant, which thrive in the area. Letaba is a green oasis in the surrounding mopane veld, and remains a firm favourite with visitors. At night the stars overlook a symphony of sounds. Owls, nightjars, frogs, fruit bats, crickets and cicadas all vie to be heard, until the lion roars, then all are silent. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing