We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit”
Review of Letaba Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Letaba Rest Camp
Reviewed 10 December 2017

There are always pros and cons when travelling, our expectations always let us down. The rondavel with the double bed was a disappointment, there was so little space between the wall and the bottom of the bed - my knees and toes were bruised. BUT the accommodation was comfortable, clean, ample hot water, sufficient kitchen goodies to be able to braai comfortably. The shop was well stocked with everything we needed. The Bush Kitchen was GREAT. We had breakfast twice and dinner once and the ambience was awesome, the staff were great and attentive and the service was fast. I had a beef potjie and it was delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bithia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

Had our longest stop over here of 3 nights staying in a tent just next to the pool, so the kids were well happy. The tent was very comfy & served all our needs. The museum is very educational and interesting and taught the kids and us a lot.

Room Tip: No tip all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jools490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The restaurant was closed, so we had to cook by ourself after a long day in the Kruger!
Kitchen equipment dirty and old!
The rondavel was clean and the douche oke. But a little bit oldfashioned.
A little bit more luxury is what they need!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank rbent2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Hi guys
We always rent a bungalow with a kitchenette.
A bungalow on the perimeter.
Our bungalow had 3 beds. So, we did not have to lay our suitcases on the floor. Beds are good.
There is a lot of game in the area.
The restaurant (Tindlovu) is a disgrace. The food is awful. Black boboti, very tough meat (mixed grill). The restaurant is a well organized chaos.
Avoid at all costs.
Regards
schliek

Room Tip: a bungalow on the perimeter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Has everything you need if you book a bungalow with kitchen and bathroom. Game drives are good and the camp is clean and tidy with a well stocked shop.
Bush kitchen is operating now selling African food / also very good. Recommend - no wifi.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
124.4 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
428 reviews
171.2 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#71 of 178 in Kruger National Park
126 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.3 km away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#54 of 178 in Kruger National Park
427 reviews
151.6 km away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#34 of 178 in Kruger National Park
596 reviews
83 km away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#53 of 178 in Kruger National Park
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letaba Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letaba Rest Camp

Address: Lethaba-Shingwedzi Road, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range: RM356 - RM8,623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic Letaba Rest Camp is situated on a sweeping bend of the Letaba River, midway between the southern and northern boundaries of the Kruger National Park. The name means "river of sand", and the sandy riverbed is an excellent location for game viewing, particularly elephant, which thrive in the area. Letaba is a green oasis in the surrounding mopane veld, and remains a firm favourite with visitors. At night the stars overlook a symphony of sounds. Owls, nightjars, frogs, fruit bats, crickets and cicadas all vie to be heard, until the lion roars, then all are silent. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing