We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camp Shonga
Nearby Hotels
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1,464
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dulini Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$2,117
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sausage Tree Safari Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)
US$461
US$419
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge(Klaserie Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$278
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$2,051
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Sands River Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
US$1,582
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Londolozi Private Game Reserve(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Naledi Game Lodges(Balule Nature Reserve)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thornybush Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casart Game Lodge(Grietjie Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
41
18
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
18
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate reserveamazing guideking bedoutdoor showergame drivesthree nightsthe main lodgethatched roofeach morningwildlife viewingonce in a lifetimeamazing experienceour honeymoonsouth africasafari experiencenormantex
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We arrived at Camp Shonga after a brief stop at the parent lodge to wait for our driver to take us for the 15-minute ride to Camp Shonga. Texan (Tex) was our driver for the entire stay (three nights, four days). We were hungry having nothing since we left Johannesburg early morning. The camp cook staff prepared a wonderful lunch then we were off to our cabin. The photos we viewed prior to making our reservations were spot on...wood floor with screened and canvas sides and thatched roof. While a bit rustic (not in a bad way) the cabin had a king bed, a large bath, outside shower and plenty of privacy since there are only five cabins at the camp and separated by trees and shrubs. We asked to leave our blackout canvas rolled up so we could enjoy the sights and sounds of Kruger. While we have read many reviews about this camp, both positive and not-so, we must say our stay could not have been better. Tex went out of his way to provide an experience of a life time. Our first game drive was the same day we arrived and started with a lioness and her cubs up close. Each morning at 5:30 am we were awoken and were on a game drive by 6:00 am, The evening game drives started at 4:00 pm and lasted until 7:00 pm. Viewing wildlife anywhere in the world can be a hit or miss adventure, but each drive Tex exceeded our expectations and we wondered how the next drive could top the previous one. We were not disappointed on any drive either by the wildlife viewing or the incredible sunrises and sunsets. Yes, we did see all of the BIG FIVE, plus cheetahs, hyenas, jackal, hippos, zebra, giraffes, and many colorful birds. Breakfast at camp was after the morning game drive, lunch around 1:00 pm, and dinner after the evening game drive. The cook staff did an incredible job with all of our meals using local ingredients. Alcoholic drinks are not included in the all inclusive, but are available if one wishes. We know some clients who posted their reviews were less than satisfied with their visit. Sure there is some quirkiness involved when visiting more remote camps, but that is part of the experience. With only a maximum of 10-visitors at any one time, it makes for a very cosy stay. We were there in mid-May which is actually the off season, but we would go back again during the same time period.

Room Tip: There is not a bad cabin at this camp. Our friends were in cabln 3, we in cabin 4.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We were initially a little worried after reading mixed review of the place. However, we were immediately put to ease once we reached the place. The room was spacious and the ambience was amazing~ Although there are some insects in the room, insecticide and insect repellant was provided and it took care of the issue. The only complaints is the lack of hot water and as a result, we could only take a 5 min shower.

Norman was extremely hospitable. He ensured that we are well taken care of during our stay there.

Food was awesome and we have so many meals that we were soooo full!

Taxon was also amazing guide for our trip! He knows exactly where to find the animals and he has sharp eyes to spot the animals even in a far distance. He also went all out to help us look for leopard till the last day of our trip. It's unfortunate that the leopard decide to hide from us.

Would highly recommend this place if you would like to experience a little life close to the wild~

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Serene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

We've spent 3 nights in camp Shonga at the end of our honey moon.
That was an incredible experience. Lost in the bush, the camp was very peacefull, far away from our busy everyday lifes.
Norman, the manager was very welcoming and did everything to make our stay pleasant. He gave us the swetest attention for our last night there (a bottle of sparkling wine was waiting for us in our tent).
Texon, our ranger, did everything to make our games unforgettable. We've seen the big 5 and many other animals. Two safaris are included everyday, the morning one started between 5 AM till 8 AM, the afternoon one from 4:30 PM till 7:30 PM (summer time). Don't check-in too late on your first day if you want to catch the first game (that was our mistake...).
We slept with all the natural noises of the bush. We saw a hunting scene from the balcony of our tent.

The food was very good considering the location of the camp. The tent was clean and well fitted out.

That was our first safari experience, but it was everything we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matthieu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

This is a tentedcamp, and on our visit we were e only people staying there. The food was excellent. The tents are slightly dated but large and nicely furnished. The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful. Great service.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We stayed at Camp Shonga in Kruger National Park for three nights this December 2016 and it was an absolutely incredible experience! Having never been on a safari before, we weren't sure what to expect but we were blown away by the incredible game viewing, wonderful lodging, and attentive staff that made this experience one of a kind.

**** Game Viewing ****
Let's begin with the game viewing experience which was out of this world. Our expert ranger, Taxson drove us around the park, giving us enough information to feel immersed in the park but not so much that we were drowned in information. He knew the best parts of the park for each type of game viewing (try the dam for hippos and alligators, check beyond the lake for a lion pride's napping area, and go to the tall trees to catch a glimpse of a leopard watching the sunset). And he brought along his adorable son Unati on a few trips and despite being so young, he was our trip's good luck charm with his expert spotting.

Taxson was eager to give us the best possible experience and would drive across the park if it meant giving us a chance to see one of the Big 5 or a unique viewing experience. It's no wonder then, that we saw 4 of the Big 5 in our first drive and by the end of our 6 drives, we had seen all of the Big 5 in addition to dozens of other animals and quite a few unique animal views (elephants bathing their newborns, lions taking an afternoon nap, and leopards stalking their prey).

I'd say we lucked out but it was all skill because Taxson gave us that adventure driven by his 10+ years of experience so it's all thanks to him that we had such a great time.

****Lodging****
I'll admit we were somewhat wary when I heard "tents" with regards to the lodging but when we arrived at our rooms, all of our fears melted away. You'll walk along a raised pathway to your luxury tent and enter a large luxury room with all of the amenities of a hotel room but with all of the character of the original game drive lodges including antique lights, reading chairs and bedframes. You'll have an amazing deck view of the park where you're likely to see Waterbuck and Impala and even a hyena or two if you're lucky.

But rest assured, unlike another reviewer said, there's a protective electric fence and the encampment itself is raised so you have all of the security you need. You never feel unsafe and there's no need for guards as another reviewer mentioned (perhaps this is a newer upgrade). And although you're so close to nature, it's easy to shut the tent flaps and keep the noise out when you want to rest. We loved having the option but enjoyed the nature feel as well.

The way the rooms are set up, you'll quickly forget that you're living in a tent at all - it could easily be a hotel room in the city with all of the amenities. But remember, they've done their best to give you an immersive experience so there was no TV and the shower was outdoors (though covered and protectected from animals). One disadvantage of the luxury tenting is that there was no AC and it could get quite hot on the summer nights but with the fan and cool breeze during the night, we had no issue keeping cool and there is always cold water and refreshments available when needed.

**** Staff and Service ****
Our experience was made all the more incredible by an informed and attentive staff. Norman, the manager, went out of his way to make our stay even better from the small touches like tailoring the portions for meals to our appetite so we didn't waste, to going out of his way to provide larger night time torches and sitting with us to recount our day's adventures. He even asked the chefs to cook us fresh rotis (an Indian staple) when he heard we were from India. He was attentive and kind and will stay in our memories! We were also so thankful to Thully and Nozy who were part of the cooking/cleaning staff for their care and attention! I've also mentioned Taxson, our ranger, but he deserves an extra shout out because of his awesome efforts to give us the best adventure possible. A big thanks to him for also taking us up to the border and showing us the views from the hills as well as for the perfect sundowner spots for drinks while we watched the sunset!

To close this out, we wanted to add that the food was delicious although the portions were quite large. We had some of the best steak we've ever had and the kudu meal was unique and delicious (though a bit tough). From the two course breakfasts, the three course lunches and the three course dinners (not to mention the high tea and snacks in between) kept us well fed and ready for the game drives ahead.

We couldn't have had a better time! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Samir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews