We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Lake Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Lucia
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is nothing special from the outside, but well situated just off the main street. The foyer is quite spacious albeit a bit cluttered with many brochures and a tour booking desk. We were met at the door with a smiling welcome and an offer of assistance to carry our bags to our room.The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a great buffet the first evening with lamb on the spit. Good food and good service. Our room overlooked the pool and the bar terrace, with a view across the garden to the riverbank. Room was very nice, although it needed a bit of maintenance. Good bed. Aircon was a boon, it was very humid. Hippos came up to feed after dark, but there were too many eager photographers wanting to get close, and basically chased them back to the water. Night drive was good - very lucky to see a leopard and hyaena apart from various antelope, bush pig and bushbabies. Also enjoyed the cruise, with many hippo, a croc, ibis, and the magnificent African fish eagle.

Room Tip: Ground floor 1 - 12 and first floor 27 - 38 face pool
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrys26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Elephant Lake Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

The hotel Manager was so sweet that I want to give this place a better review. But the reality is that it is a rugged run-down motel like atmosphere. There are few electrical outlets, and not the kind that work with regular converters, no wifi, a minimalistic TV, and a not so comfy bed. It seemed clean enough- I never saw a bug. But it was the kind of place where I wouldn't have been shocked if I had seen one.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Our first impressions of the hotel were not particularly favourable – typical bland chain, 60s architecture, no lobby. However, these changed pretty swiftly.

For start, the hotel is very centrally located. It is right next to a steak eatery – The Quarterdeck and an excellent Italian – Alfredo’s. It has a view over the Umfolozi river albeit only from the far edge of the lawn.

The place has a lovely poolside area with the breakfast room right next door. Best to get rooms overlooking the pool on the ground or first floor as there is not much of a sight of the river from any of the other rooms.

What really makes a difference to the place is their staff – very friendly and always smiling. They knew us by our names and were very helpful throughout our stay. They also phoned in one evening to alert us of the visit of the resident hippo on his nightly grazing escapade into town.

In the morning you want to sit by the pool and observe the naughty tenant monkeys fooling around – but watch out if you decided to leave anything on the balcony, this will be swiped by them in no time.

The bar has rather haphazard opening hours – one evening it was open till 9.30pm and then on another- well beyond that time.

Breakfast was rather basic but satisfactory – not much fruit.

Room Tip: Best to go for rooms 3 - 11 or 29 - 37
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed here while on tour of S.A. We had a cruise on the river to view hippos and crocodiles and held up here for the night. Staff was excellent. Rooms were comfortable,nothing to write home about, but were alright for one night. There was a nice lounge that extended to the outdoors. In that the hotel grounds open to the river, you are warned about hippos roaming at night. Breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The hotel is good. No shower soap and bad service in the restaurant but otherwise great. Hippos come into town in the evenings so beware on the streets at night. They come to drink from the hotel pool at night and came when we were there. I highly recommend Alfredo's Italian Restaurant next door!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsmith45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Lucia
0.9 km away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
16.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Elephant Lake Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Lucia
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 km away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
0.6 km away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
506 reviews
0.6 km away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Lake Hotel

Address: McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Lucia
Price Range: RM403 - RM479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elephant Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing