We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Lake Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Sandpiper Guest House(St Lucia)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp(St Lucia)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge Afrique(St Lucia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
33
77
66
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
77
66
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelthe ground floor roomsbit datedswimming poolrooms are cleangood sizehigh streetoverlooking the estuarygarden areaspent one nightshort staywalking distancesmall townhipposbalconylawntours
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The hotel Manager was so sweet that I want to give this place a better review. But the reality is that it is a rugged run-down motel like atmosphere. There are few electrical outlets, and not the kind that work with regular converters, no wifi, a minimalistic TV, and a not so comfy bed. It seemed clean enough- I never saw a bug. But it was the kind of place where I wouldn't have been shocked if I had seen one.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Our first impressions of the hotel were not particularly favourable – typical bland chain, 60s architecture, no lobby. However, these changed pretty swiftly.

For start, the hotel is very centrally located. It is right next to a steak eatery – The Quarterdeck and an excellent Italian – Alfredo’s. It has a view over the Umfolozi river albeit only from the far edge of the lawn.

The place has a lovely poolside area with the breakfast room right next door. Best to get rooms overlooking the pool on the ground or first floor as there is not much of a sight of the river from any of the other rooms.

What really makes a difference to the place is their staff – very friendly and always smiling. They knew us by our names and were very helpful throughout our stay. They also phoned in one evening to alert us of the visit of the resident hippo on his nightly grazing escapade into town.

In the morning you want to sit by the pool and observe the naughty tenant monkeys fooling around – but watch out if you decided to leave anything on the balcony, this will be swiped by them in no time.

The bar has rather haphazard opening hours – one evening it was open till 9.30pm and then on another- well beyond that time.

Breakfast was rather basic but satisfactory – not much fruit.

Room Tip: Best to go for rooms 3 - 11 or 29 - 37
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed here while on tour of S.A. We had a cruise on the river to view hippos and crocodiles and held up here for the night. Staff was excellent. Rooms were comfortable,nothing to write home about, but were alright for one night. There was a nice lounge that extended to the outdoors. In that the hotel grounds open to the river, you are warned about hippos roaming at night. Breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The hotel is good. No shower soap and bad service in the restaurant but otherwise great. Hippos come into town in the evenings so beware on the streets at night. They come to drink from the hotel pool at night and came when we were there. I highly recommend Alfredo's Italian Restaurant next door!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsmith45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here the night before we took a boat tour of the estuary. Upon our arrival the porters quickly unloaded our luggage and showed us to our rooms. Ironically all the porters who were assisting us were women and you just don’t see that every day. The room was comfortable and beds were a bit firm for me. There is no internet at this hotel. We only ate breakfast here and the buffet was great but there are not a lot of choices. The hotel is in good walking distance to restaurants so we walked to the main strip (less than 5 minutes walk) and ate at a local restaurant that had live music. The best thing about our stay at this hotel here were the hippos that came onto the property. The hippos walked up to the rooms and even took a swim in the pool; we got great pictures with the SLR camera.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delia03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews