We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hornbill B&B St Lucia”
Review of Hornbill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hornbill House
Ranked #26 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 November 2015

I stayed three nights at the Hornbill B&B in St Lucia from the 8th to the 11th November 2015. I enjoyed my stay & would go back - if/when I go to St Lucia again.
The staff were efficient & friendly. A big plus for me was that they have a bore hole so we always had water & they have an "inverter" so we always had electricity.From the B&B it is a pleasant walk to town & as it is where Shaka Barker operates from - for guests going on outings it is very convenient. The aircon in the bedroom was very welcome as it was pretty hot! It was a nice atmosphere there - the staff were pleasant without being stifling or over attentive.

Room Tip: My room was at the top of the stairs which gave more privacy .... & exercise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dot O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2015

We booked a room at the marlin lodge for 3 nights after doing research on tripadvisor and airbnb. After the payment and confirmation email from airbnb we received a message from the host (sonet) that her place was not available. She told us she would find us another place, but she could not tell us which place it was yet, because she had to wait her emails. We were quiet concerned as we picked the marlin lodge with care and we were looking forward of 3 days relaxing by the pool (after excursions) and having sonet and maybe other guests sharing a braai... the reviews talked a lot about the host so we thought to make a good choice for a more personel approuch of b&b. When we arrived to marlin lodge Sonet took us to to hornbill house. We did not have much of a choice as we had already payed and did not have time to look for something ourself. But unfortanatly the hornbill house did not felt like an upgrade we were hoping for. The pool area was very small and in the shade. The rooms were ok but the shower curtain was a bit dirty. There was no hairdryer or coffee facilities in the room. Maybe we have been spoilt on our other stays at b&b in South afrika but for the price we payed we did expect a bit more. Service was ok, but not much was explained. When we asked about excursions they showed me the map with info, I had to ask to get a bit more information.. finally we just got into town and booked somewhere else. The first night we found the door closed after dinner (around 20.00) we rang the doorbell and nobody was there. There was a phone number on the door but we did not have a phone with us... so after a while we went to the marlin lodge to see if they could help us get inside. They told us were to find the keys for the door so finally we could get inside. This was never explained to us.. Breakfast was good and plenty to choose from. Our last day the breakfast was served by a lady that did seem to have more eye for detail.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ToursInValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Small scale, intimate and beautiful setting. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly, as are the two dogs that walk around the house. The knowledgeable owner, Kian, runs a tour company and going on some of these tours is definitely recommended! Get on a boat and go see hippos and crocodiles (even bull sharks if you're lucky), take a trip to the stunning Hluhluwe Park or jump on a repurposed German army truck and drive into the iSimangaliso bushbush in the middle of the night, absolutely fantastic! Breakfast service is great and there's a laundry service as well. Oh, and the Hornbill House definitely lives up to its name. There are some hornbills around that might just surprise you with a rude awakening when they attack their own reflection in the window - no problem for us whatsoever.

(Word of advice: when you can't handle being woken up by wildlife, you should probably reconsider travelling to Africa in the first place ;) )

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchgaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were welcomed and treated like old friends at the Hornbill House. The staff members are extremely friendly and accommodating. They arranged all our tours for us, and were happy to change them around to accommodate the weather and give us the best possible experience. They recommended restaurants and local sightseeing highlights, and cooked us eggs to order in the mornings. Claire is also a massage therapist, and brought her massage table in to deliver us wonderful massages with aromatherapy and candlelight one afternoon.

The rooms are clean and well-appointed, and ours had a small terrace. There is an extensive collection of tea on hand, with many flavors of rooibos to sample. We were out almost all day, every day, as there is so much amazing wildlife to see and five diverse ecosystems all within an hour's drive. All tours leave directly from the B&B, which was very convenient, and they are great--very informative and entertaining! The World Cup was on while we were there, and in the evenings we gathered in the living room to watch the matches. We felt very welcome at Hornbill House where Kian took excellent care of us!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarieenVerlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed for three nights and found Hornbill House to be very comfortable and excellent value for money. The B&B is a short distance away from the main street, so it's very quiet, but still within walking distance. We also booked a tour of through the affiliated tour company (ShakaBarker) that was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zzzz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 km away
Parkers Cottages
Parkers Cottages
#14 of 29 in St Lucia
172 reviews
0.3 km away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#15 of 29 in St Lucia
152 reviews
0.4 km away
Avalone Guest House
Avalone Guest House
#12 of 29 in St Lucia
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#4 of 29 in St Lucia
513 reviews
0.7 km away
African Ambience Guest House
0.2 km away
African Dreamz Guest House
African Dreamz Guest House
#27 of 29 in St Lucia
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornbill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornbill House

Address: 43 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: RM397 - RM503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hornbill House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hornbill House is ideal for exploring the southern area of the Greater St. Lucia Wetland Park. We offer comfortable rooms, all en-suite and even a family room. We offer continental or full English breakfasts. A variety of safaris are available departing from Hornbill House. All water based tours can be reserved from Hornbill House. All rooms are en-suite, air-conditioned and have private verandas overlooking the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hornbill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing