We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hornbill House
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sandpiper Guest House(St Lucia)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlin Lodge St Lucia(St Lucia)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge Afrique(St Lucia)
US$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkers Cottages(St Lucia)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
14
10
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
10
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnext morningcape vidalinformationhostlucia
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We booked a room at the marlin lodge for 3 nights after doing research on tripadvisor and airbnb. After the payment and confirmation email from airbnb we received a message from the host (sonet) that her place was not available. She told us she would find us another place, but she could not tell us which place it was yet, because she had to wait her emails. We were quiet concerned as we picked the marlin lodge with care and we were looking forward of 3 days relaxing by the pool (after excursions) and having sonet and maybe other guests sharing a braai... the reviews talked a lot about the host so we thought to make a good choice for a more personel approuch of b&b. When we arrived to marlin lodge Sonet took us to to hornbill house. We did not have much of a choice as we had already payed and did not have time to look for something ourself. But unfortanatly the hornbill house did not felt like an upgrade we were hoping for. The pool area was very small and in the shade. The rooms were ok but the shower curtain was a bit dirty. There was no hairdryer or coffee facilities in the room. Maybe we have been spoilt on our other stays at b&b in South afrika but for the price we payed we did expect a bit more. Service was ok, but not much was explained. When we asked about excursions they showed me the map with info, I had to ask to get a bit more information.. finally we just got into town and booked somewhere else. The first night we found the door closed after dinner (around 20.00) we rang the doorbell and nobody was there. There was a phone number on the door but we did not have a phone with us... so after a while we went to the marlin lodge to see if they could help us get inside. They told us were to find the keys for the door so finally we could get inside. This was never explained to us.. Breakfast was good and plenty to choose from. Our last day the breakfast was served by a lady that did seem to have more eye for detail.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ToursInValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Small scale, intimate and beautiful setting. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly, as are the two dogs that walk around the house. The knowledgeable owner, Kian, runs a tour company and going on some of these tours is definitely recommended! Get on a boat and go see hippos and crocodiles (even bull sharks if you're lucky), take a trip to the stunning Hluhluwe Park or jump on a repurposed German army truck and drive into the iSimangaliso bushbush in the middle of the night, absolutely fantastic! Breakfast service is great and there's a laundry service as well. Oh, and the Hornbill House definitely lives up to its name. There are some hornbills around that might just surprise you with a rude awakening when they attack their own reflection in the window - no problem for us whatsoever.

(Word of advice: when you can't handle being woken up by wildlife, you should probably reconsider travelling to Africa in the first place ;) )

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchgaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were welcomed and treated like old friends at the Hornbill House. The staff members are extremely friendly and accommodating. They arranged all our tours for us, and were happy to change them around to accommodate the weather and give us the best possible experience. They recommended restaurants and local sightseeing highlights, and cooked us eggs to order in the mornings. Claire is also a massage therapist, and brought her massage table in to deliver us wonderful massages with aromatherapy and candlelight one afternoon.

The rooms are clean and well-appointed, and ours had a small terrace. There is an extensive collection of tea on hand, with many flavors of rooibos to sample. We were out almost all day, every day, as there is so much amazing wildlife to see and five diverse ecosystems all within an hour's drive. All tours leave directly from the B&B, which was very convenient, and they are great--very informative and entertaining! The World Cup was on while we were there, and in the evenings we gathered in the living room to watch the matches. We felt very welcome at Hornbill House where Kian took excellent care of us!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarieenVerlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed for three nights and found Hornbill House to be very comfortable and excellent value for money. The B&B is a short distance away from the main street, so it's very quiet, but still within walking distance. We also booked a tour of through the affiliated tour company (ShakaBarker) that was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zzzz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Having arrived slightly late, we were welcomed by (as it turned out later) by a tour guide who was less than knowledgeable. Gladly, we got a much better impression of this Bed & Breakfast in the course of the next two days. One is accommodated in the host's house which might be off-putting for some. However, as the only significant negatives we found that the bathroom was very small and lacked ventilation, wired internet was only available upon request (at a surcharge), and the fact that accommodation and tours have to be paid for in cash.
Other than that, we really liked:
- good value for money
- continental breakfast buffet with cooked breaky as requested
- additional services (e.g. laundry, car wash) available at very reasonable price
- very helpful and friendly host (Kian; even provided all braai utensils and charcoal!), also an excellent tour guide (Shakabarker)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank veepka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews