We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay, very friendly host!”
Review of Hornbill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hornbill House
Ranked #25 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 February 2017

If you don't have a lot of time to spend in St. Lucia, this definitely is the perfect place to stay. First of all, the host will share all his knowledge as a guide to make your stay worthwhile. He gave us a lot of information about the Isimangaliso wetland park, and when we decided to drive through the park by ourselves up to Cape Vidal, he was so generous as to give us some beach towels and snorkeling gear for the day, free of charge. Secondly, he doesn't only run the b&b and provide useful information, he also has his own tour guide company. We decided to go on a boat trip the next morning with one of his guides, and had a really good time. The trip was well organized and we had breakfast on the boat.
The rooms looked very nice and the location was good. Don't expect to be staying in a hotel though, this is a nice b&b with a homey vibe.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalina3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Hornbill House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2016

We spend 2 nights here in the hornbill house in St. Lucia.
The room was nice. Just what you need for a short visit. Everything was clean.

Lots of choises for breakfast in a very nice looking room.

There are 2 very cute/friendly dogs there as well. Butter and Donkey.

We got lots of information from the owner about st. lucia and booked a boot tour in the hotel. It was worth it. The guide was very friendly and told us much about the hippo's and birds there.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nerinckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Higly recommended! We stayed at the Hornbill House for 2 nights in an amazing room. It had a double bed and a bunk bed for our daughter, a little balcony and a perfect bathroom. The owner of the guesthouse is also the owner of Shakabarker Tours. We booked the Eastern Shore Safari with them and we could hop inn our safari vehicle just outside the guest house. We had a wonderful sundown with the rhinos and an amazing spotlight night safari! We got to hold a chameleon, saw bushbabies, elephants and hippos! The second day, after a very big breakfast buffet, we visited the Crocodile Center and spent the afternoon on Main Beach. There are many restaurants in walking distance. The last morning we had breakfast with the hippos at the Shakabarge Coffee and Croissant Tour. One of the best experiences in South Africa!

Room Tip: Ask for the room upstairs, we enjoyed it a lot!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

I stayed for 4 nights in the Hornbill house and it was a great experience. Many choices at breakfast, tidy and clean rooms with a nice ambiance. I loved the dogs who cruise around the house, they are very friendly and well educated :). The tours the staff organized and executed were really awesome. They are very knowledgeble and you can sense they have passion for what they are doing.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank Jannek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

I stayed three nights at the Hornbill B&B in St Lucia from the 8th to the 11th November 2015. I enjoyed my stay & would go back - if/when I go to St Lucia again.
The staff were efficient & friendly. A big plus for me was that they have a bore hole so we always had water & they have an "inverter" so we always had electricity.From the B&B it is a pleasant walk to town & as it is where Shaka Barker operates from - for guests going on outings it is very convenient. The aircon in the bedroom was very welcome as it was pretty hot! It was a nice atmosphere there - the staff were pleasant without being stifling or over attentive.

Room Tip: My room was at the top of the stairs which gave more privacy .... & exercise!
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dot O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 km away
Parkers Cottages
Parkers Cottages
#13 of 29 in St Lucia
172 reviews
0.3 km away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#15 of 29 in St Lucia
152 reviews
0.4 km away
Avalone Guest House
Avalone Guest House
#12 of 29 in St Lucia
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge
#5 of 32 in St Lucia
179 reviews
0.6 km away
Anna's Bed & Breakfast
Anna's Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 29 in St Lucia
64 reviews
0.4 km away
Igwalagwala Guest House
Igwalagwala Guest House
#10 of 29 in St Lucia
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornbill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornbill House

Address: 43 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: RM365 - RM475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hornbill House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hornbill House is ideal for exploring the southern area of the Greater St. Lucia Wetland Park. We offer comfortable rooms, all en-suite and even a family room. We offer continental or full English breakfasts. A variety of safaris are available departing from Hornbill House. All water based tours can be reserved from Hornbill House. All rooms are en-suite, air-conditioned and have private verandas overlooking the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hornbill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing