We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hornbill House
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge Afrique(St Lucia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
14
10
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
10
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnext morningcape vidalinformationhostlucia
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We spend 2 nights here in the hornbill house in St. Lucia.
The room was nice. Just what you need for a short visit. Everything was clean.

Lots of choises for breakfast in a very nice looking room.

There are 2 very cute/friendly dogs there as well. Butter and Donkey.

We got lots of information from the owner about st. lucia and booked a boot tour in the hotel. It was worth it. The guide was very friendly and told us much about the hippo's and birds there.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nerinckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Higly recommended! We stayed at the Hornbill House for 2 nights in an amazing room. It had a double bed and a bunk bed for our daughter, a little balcony and a perfect bathroom. The owner of the guesthouse is also the owner of Shakabarker Tours. We booked the Eastern Shore Safari with them and we could hop inn our safari vehicle just outside the guest house. We had a wonderful sundown with the rhinos and an amazing spotlight night safari! We got to hold a chameleon, saw bushbabies, elephants and hippos! The second day, after a very big breakfast buffet, we visited the Crocodile Center and spent the afternoon on Main Beach. There are many restaurants in walking distance. The last morning we had breakfast with the hippos at the Shakabarge Coffee and Croissant Tour. One of the best experiences in South Africa!

Room Tip: Ask for the room upstairs, we enjoyed it a lot!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

I stayed for 4 nights in the Hornbill house and it was a great experience. Many choices at breakfast, tidy and clean rooms with a nice ambiance. I loved the dogs who cruise around the house, they are very friendly and well educated :). The tours the staff organized and executed were really awesome. They are very knowledgeble and you can sense they have passion for what they are doing.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank Jannek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

I stayed three nights at the Hornbill B&B in St Lucia from the 8th to the 11th November 2015. I enjoyed my stay & would go back - if/when I go to St Lucia again.
The staff were efficient & friendly. A big plus for me was that they have a bore hole so we always had water & they have an "inverter" so we always had electricity.From the B&B it is a pleasant walk to town & as it is where Shaka Barker operates from - for guests going on outings it is very convenient. The aircon in the bedroom was very welcome as it was pretty hot! It was a nice atmosphere there - the staff were pleasant without being stifling or over attentive.

Room Tip: My room was at the top of the stairs which gave more privacy .... & exercise!
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dot O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We booked a room at the marlin lodge for 3 nights after doing research on tripadvisor and airbnb. After the payment and confirmation email from airbnb we received a message from the host (sonet) that her place was not available. She told us she would find us another place, but she could not tell us which place it was yet, because she had to wait her emails. We were quiet concerned as we picked the marlin lodge with care and we were looking forward of 3 days relaxing by the pool (after excursions) and having sonet and maybe other guests sharing a braai... the reviews talked a lot about the host so we thought to make a good choice for a more personel approuch of b&b. When we arrived to marlin lodge Sonet took us to to hornbill house. We did not have much of a choice as we had already payed and did not have time to look for something ourself. But unfortanatly the hornbill house did not felt like an upgrade we were hoping for. The pool area was very small and in the shade. The rooms were ok but the shower curtain was a bit dirty. There was no hairdryer or coffee facilities in the room. Maybe we have been spoilt on our other stays at b&b in South afrika but for the price we payed we did expect a bit more. Service was ok, but not much was explained. When we asked about excursions they showed me the map with info, I had to ask to get a bit more information.. finally we just got into town and booked somewhere else. The first night we found the door closed after dinner (around 20.00) we rang the doorbell and nobody was there. There was a phone number on the door but we did not have a phone with us... so after a while we went to the marlin lodge to see if they could help us get inside. They told us were to find the keys for the door so finally we could get inside. This was never explained to us.. Breakfast was good and plenty to choose from. Our last day the breakfast was served by a lady that did seem to have more eye for detail.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ToursInValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews