We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Palace of the Lost City
Nearby Hotels
Bush Bungalows at Sun City Resort(Sun City)(Great Value!)
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$221
US$192
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Kingdom Resort(Sun City)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Soho Hotel(Sun City)
US$178
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bakubung Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$383
US$264
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge(Pilanesberg National Park)(Great Value!)
US$334
US$286
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,204)
Filter reviews
2,204 results
Traveller rating
1,348
439
213
110
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,348
439
213
110
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslost citycrystal courttusk barthe grillhigh teaoysterssushiover the topsouth africaamazing hotelother hotelsout of this worldbreakfast buffettreated like royaltywave poolwater parkmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 2,204 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Come on Sun City - I expected much better service from staff at flagship hotel The Palace. Arrived at breakfast and had to stand in queue to be seated
Staff surly - no explanation given for delay whilst many tables available. Once seated had to search for someone to serve us coffee. Your staff need to be better trained - customer service poor. Better service at Mugg and Bean!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Angela M

We are so sorry to see you did not fully enjoy your stay at The Palace.

The Food and Berverage team is addressing the concerns you have pointed out to us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

We visited this hotel for 3 nights at the start of our Honeymoon, and what a great start to our holiday!
We took a shuttle from the airport to the hotel which was about a 3 hour drive, it was comfortable and we felt safe. We also know people who have rented a car and driven themselves.
The hotel is very large and impressive, it feels like you've stepped onto a movie set!
Even though we had paid for an upgraded room, the lady who checked us in tried to sell us an upgrade to a better room and made us feel like we would be disappointed with the room we'd paid for. The hotel was empty when we visited and we explained we were on honeymoon but she wouldn't give us a complimentary upgrade but made us feel like we really should pay for another upgrade. We decided against paying for another upgrade until we had seen our room, and we are glad we didn't as our room was lovely...very spacious and a nice big, comfortable bed.
Breakfast was lovely at the hotel, and so was the massages you could get from the spa therapists by the pool. They were so reasonably priced that I had a massage every day!
There is so much to do around Sun City and we would highly recommend the Mankwe safari tours which pick you up at the resort and then take you to the national park (Pilanesberg) which is next door. We did the early morning and evening safari's every day, it really was an amazing experience and only about £30pp. We saw lions, elephants, cheetahs, rhino, giraffe, hippos etc..
There wasn't much on offer at the hotel for dinner so we would go to the Sun City centre where there was a food court with lots of restaurants.
The hotel didn't really make us feel like we were there to celebrate a special occasion, so I think they could have done more there but apart from that, we had a great time.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank xLove2trav3lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear xLove2trav3lx

Thank you for choosing the Palace to spend your honeymoon

As you rightly mention there is lots to do on the resort

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

A year after the hotel opened we visited and to put it was exceptional! For years we raved and told. People that it simply was thee most luxurious place that you. Could imagine. Looking back to when it was built and now mach older and having traveled the world...... It is very very sad that Sun hotel group simply don't understand what they have. My father was involved I the landscaping of Sun City when it was built and after years of stories about midnight fights to meet the Sun King SOL..... I realism you could never pay anyone enough money to create the vast detail to attention that this magical magnificent place has! It's once in a lifetime...... and it's horribly let down by maintenance and service. 5 Star is 5 STAR..... not 3.5 or 4 star. With the exception of the massage team at the pool and one or two dining staff and the awsome lady at reception who was amazing at sorting out our travel agents ridiculousness...... we felt like the building carried the vast majority of the WOW factor. The tusk bar staff acted like they were doing us a favor. The pool bar staff tried real hard but had no idea what 5 star service was. It's sad that this unbelievable place is not really given the attention it needs. Our day at the clubhouse for lunch was also met with a reluctant waitress who made us feel like she was doing us a favour. We went to experience a 5 star luxurious week away and we hope SUN hotel group reads this and understands what a once in a lifetime experience they have on offer. We have heard the same from numerous friends who have been recently. It's a pity. Breakfast was good.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank tyron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear tyron s

thank you so much for giving us feedback of your stay at resort.

The team has taken note of your review,and we shall concentrate on improving in the areas that you brought to our attention

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

One of the most remarkable places to stay at. The swimming is a great place to unwind. Loved the breakfast. Been driven to places a luxury. I enjoyed my stay! The flower petals and nougat... a touch of five star service.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank TravellerCharlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear TravellerCharlene

Great to see you had such a magical time here

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Robert; the pianist made our day this morning by playing a song "I wanna know what love is..." Good play Robert... The breakfast is also good...lot of varieties... of food that makes one ready for the day to deal with the day...

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Annie T

Thank you for complimenting Robert

He will be recognized!!!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews