We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to explore the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #47 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Situated in the city center of Cape Town, this is the perfect hotel to stay at if you want to explore. The moment you walk out the front door, the adventure starts with street vendors selling everything from curios to some of the best food. Good clean rooms, proper breakfast, very friendly and help-full staff, without everything costing you a arm and a leg.

Room Tip: Book in advance, they are popular amongst travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_Esterhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear William_Esterhuizen
Thank you so much for the very positive review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that the location met your requirements and that you found the hotel to be clean. Your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed one night before our flight out of Cape Town. It has a great location, right in the middle of everything, markets, restaurants, Hop on Hop off buses, and sites. Inside is quiet, clean comfortable and modern. Breakfast is great, and staff are very helpful! We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joansmrha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear joansmrha
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your experience at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre during your most recent stay with us. A sincere thank you for also providing us with such positive scores and feedback with regards to our facilities and staff. Your comments and feedback will definitely be communicated back to all staff concerned.
It is always our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation and your comments are very important to us.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Had A comfortable stay at the holiday in cape town. We were travlleing around South Africa so didn't have much time to use all the facilities at the hotel. Nevertheless it was a plesant stay and easy to get around by hire car which was very helpful.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Vera N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Vera N
Thank you so much for the positive review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so that you can further explore Cape Town.
Take care
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

very good location…
to go waterfront should use taxi…
very kind, helpful and smiling staff…
room was small but nice and enough…
hotel is very close to everywhere in city centre…
next to the green market square…
if receptionist call taxi for you, it may be more expensive than regular.
We asked a taxi, then receptionist call one. Taxi had no taximeter, I think it was working illegal. Driver demanded price more than regular. Once again we had came cheaper the same way before by the legal taxi which has taximeter. Driver explained the difference of the price as "in agreement with the hotel" ?? Even receptionist call the taxi for you, check the taximeter.

Room Tip: table mountain view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Saffary
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the taxis. We make use of Marine Taxis for local trips to the V&A Waterfront / Table Mountain ect - they are a registered taxi company and make use of meters. For airport shuttles we make use of a door to door shuttle service that charges a set rate of R 350.00 per trip - this is valid for one or two adults. This company is called Kamiga Travel and Tours and they also provide a valet parking service at the hotel. My apologies for any confusion or inconvenience caused.
I am pleased to read that you found the location to be good and your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Convenient hotel for quick stay. Good location for bar and food. Not to far from V&A waterfront. Complimentary breakfast was great. Shuttle to airport costs $350..UBER it.. costs much less. The wifi in room was not working. Called reception and little assistance was offered. Hotspotted of my phone instead.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank TenzoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear TenzoM
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. Our location is certainly something that many of our guests find to be very convenient. The shuttle price is R 350.00 and is for one or two guests and is cheaper than metered taxis in the area however Uber is certainly a cost effective option as well. My apologies for the WiFi not working 100% - we are working quite closely with the company that provides this service to sort out accessibility for all our valued guests.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
610 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
392 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM318 - RM592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing