We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Westin Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$190
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$129
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$157
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$111
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Hyde All-Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dysart Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveller rating
247
488
138
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
488
138
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetpedestrian mallhi expressst georges mallcentral locationper daybudget hotelgreen market squaregreenmarket squarecompany gardenswalking distancestayed at this hotel for nightsreception staffdouble bedtable mountainnight lifebreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 902 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night at the end of our trip in South Africa.

The positive parts of the hotel is that it was centrally located with parking available for ZAR60 per day. Trust the sat nav when you enter the city, it took us down a pedestrianised road and we thought this was incorrect, but no - the hotel parking is accessed via this. The valet porters were friendly and helpful!

Rooms were modern and clean - the breakfast was more than adequate and of good quality.

Unfortunately the WiFi was poor - no instructions during check in and we only had 100MB of free WiFi which lasted about half an hour! TV signal was also poor as it was raining outside - there were lots of channels available but we couldn’t watch.

Also - no fault of the hotel but our room was on the 4th floor at the front of the building and we were woken early in the morning by street vendors screaming at each other - so bring your earplugs! The bed was also on the small side.

For one night, it fit the purpose but if you are after a base in Cape Town for longer, I would urge you to consider other options.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JBIS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear JBIS27
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete such a detailed review of our hotel. My sincere apologies for the noise that you experienced from the street vendors on the public pedestrian walkway.
I am pleased to advised that we have recently completed a WiFi upgrade to fiber, and our valued guests now receive fast free unlimited WiFi for the duration of their stay.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the complimentary Express Start breakfast.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

This is a very good hotel if you want to stay in the center of Cape Town. The location couldn't be more central. The reception is on the 1st floor. The room and the bathroom were spacious however there was lack of cupboard and fridge. The staff was helpful.
The breakfast very average. There was free wi-fi.
You will enjoy the central location and the nice room, however don't expect any luxuries.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank jimadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear jimadvisor
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback regarding your experience during your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you found the location met your requirements. Your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated and as a Holiday Inn Express we strive to offer everything that the guest needs and nothing that you don't.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Very good value for price. The rooms are small but very well organised. The hotel has good sound insulation and is generally very quiet. The breakfast was amazing; one of the best breakfast spreads I’ve ever seen at a big hotel chain. The wifi was fast and reliable. The streets surrounding the hotel feel safe during the day. The little stands/shops are nice to wander around and give the street a lively feel. The one side-street where you catch Ubers/Cabs had some sketchy people and beggars on occasion, so you need to pay attention, especially at night. All in all, a good place to stay to explore Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EEBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear EEBea
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel and I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the complimentary Express Start breakfast. We have also recently upgraded our guest internet so that WiFi is even faster than before.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future and once again, thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

The hotel is clean and the staff is nice and helpful. The room has a good size but there is no fridge and there is limited choice of channels on the TV (the quality of the channels' images is not good also). The breakfast is good. The negative point of the hotel is the location, during the day it's noisy due to the market beside the hotel (I was in a business travel and I tried to get a short nap before to go to a business dinner but I was undable to sleep due to the noise) and by night you don't feel that the environment is safe, there is no people outside but homeless and junkies. If you take a taxi to return to the hotel, make sure that the taxi drives you up to the hotel door.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wajdi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear aspis55
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. My sincere apologies for the noise that you experienced. We are located on a public pedestrian walkway in the city centre and work very closely with CCID (Central Security) SAPS (South African Police Service) and our own 24 hour security company to ensure the safety of all our valued guests at all times.
Your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Reasonable price, in historic district. 3-minute walk to City Sightseeing office (HOHO bus stop) on Long Street and other historic sites. Breakfast buffet more than adequate. Friendly staff, filtered water system so it is safe to drink water from tap, no need to buy bottled water. Room is spacious, bed linen soft. There are 4 pillows on the bed, two each labeled "soft" and "firm", the bed is on the firm side but quite comfortable. However, the "firm" pillows don't feel firm at all whereas the "firm" pillows at Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport are a lot firmer. Feel safe as a female solo traveler. Wifi decent speed. Very few television channels (no CNN or BBC but has several sports channesl).
Not bothered by street vendors at all (they set up their stands by 8:30 am daily and pack up by 6 pm). I was gone most of the day so can't comment on the noise level during the day but at night it was very quiet. Food Lover's Market on the other side of St. George's Mall is an upscale food court with wonderful bakery, salad/breakfast/food bar similar to Whole Foods. Lots if eateries nearby. St. George's Mall is mainly a pedestrian street, not sure what the rules are but but vehicles do drive on it; taxis, airport shuttles drop off/pick up in front of the hotel. The street is shaded by tall buildings and trees, there are street sweepers but do expect to see trash around.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1dragonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear 1dragonlady
Thank you so much for the detailed review of our hotel.
I am so pleased to read that you found the hotel to be reasonably priced and in a location that suited your requirements. Your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews