We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central, within the CBD and easily accessible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #48 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Very good service, courteous staff. Reasonable prices and good value for money.Rooms were always kept clean, and housekeeping staff were very friendly. Good, wide variety of fresh food, and one can easily go to various other restaurants that are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danisas2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear danisas2015
Many thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and your kind comments relating to the service and staff is much appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night at the end of our trip in South Africa.

The positive parts of the hotel is that it was centrally located with parking available for ZAR60 per day. Trust the sat nav when you enter the city, it took us down a pedestrianised road and we thought this was incorrect, but no - the hotel parking is accessed via this. The valet porters were friendly and helpful!

Rooms were modern and clean - the breakfast was more than adequate and of good quality.

Unfortunately the WiFi was poor - no instructions during check in and we only had 100MB of free WiFi which lasted about half an hour! TV signal was also poor as it was raining outside - there were lots of channels available but we couldn’t watch.

Also - no fault of the hotel but our room was on the 4th floor at the front of the building and we were woken early in the morning by street vendors screaming at each other - so bring your earplugs! The bed was also on the small side.

For one night, it fit the purpose but if you are after a base in Cape Town for longer, I would urge you to consider other options.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JBIS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear JBIS27
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete such a detailed review of our hotel. My sincere apologies for the noise that you experienced from the street vendors on the public pedestrian walkway.
I am pleased to advised that we have recently completed a WiFi upgrade to fiber, and our valued guests now receive fast free unlimited WiFi for the duration of their stay.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the complimentary Express Start breakfast.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

This is a very good hotel if you want to stay in the center of Cape Town. The location couldn't be more central. The reception is on the 1st floor. The room and the bathroom were spacious however there was lack of cupboard and fridge. The staff was helpful.
The breakfast very average. There was free wi-fi.
You will enjoy the central location and the nice room, however don't expect any luxuries.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank jimadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear jimadvisor
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback regarding your experience during your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you found the location met your requirements. Your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated and as a Holiday Inn Express we strive to offer everything that the guest needs and nothing that you don't.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Very good value for price. The rooms are small but very well organised. The hotel has good sound insulation and is generally very quiet. The breakfast was amazing; one of the best breakfast spreads I’ve ever seen at a big hotel chain. The wifi was fast and reliable. The streets surrounding the hotel feel safe during the day. The little stands/shops are nice to wander around and give the street a lively feel. The one side-street where you catch Ubers/Cabs had some sketchy people and beggars on occasion, so you need to pay attention, especially at night. All in all, a good place to stay to explore Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EEBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear EEBea
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel and I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the complimentary Express Start breakfast. We have also recently upgraded our guest internet so that WiFi is even faster than before.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future and once again, thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

The hotel is clean and the staff is nice and helpful. The room has a good size but there is no fridge and there is limited choice of channels on the TV (the quality of the channels' images is not good also). The breakfast is good. The negative point of the hotel is the location, during the day it's noisy due to the market beside the hotel (I was in a business travel and I tried to get a short nap before to go to a business dinner but I was undable to sleep due to the noise) and by night you don't feel that the environment is safe, there is no people outside but homeless and junkies. If you take a taxi to return to the hotel, make sure that the taxi drives you up to the hotel door.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wajdi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear aspis55
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. My sincere apologies for the noise that you experienced. We are located on a public pedestrian walkway in the city centre and work very closely with CCID (Central Security) SAPS (South African Police Service) and our own 24 hour security company to ensure the safety of all our valued guests at all times.
Your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#39 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#44 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
914 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
402 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#50 of 112 in Cape Town Central
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM 376 - RM 626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing