We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hesitant at first, but was wonderful in the end”
Review of Cape Diem Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Diem Lodge
Ranked #37 of 156 Cape Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We booked well ahead of time for this hotel, knowing it was the holiday season and it was a smaller boutique hotel. In that time of booking to the time the hotel charged our card, it had expired, so we struggled with getting the deposit paid online or by phone for a couple days, but in the end it all worked out.

We loved the place once we arrived. They helped us arrange a taxi from the airport, gave us a welcome drink, showed us around the grounds, and then to our room... the only 2 level room they have. The bed is upstairs in a loft and the rest of the room is downstairs. Different, but no space to lounge, unpack, or get ready. We asked to move and it was accommodated even in their busy time for the next two nights.

The office staff was wonderful at making our stay a good one. Even when we needed to leave early for tours, they had tea and breakfast to go for us. The guard in the evening was a delight. Super friendly and accommodating. We loved using the pool one of the afternoons, we only wish we could have enjoyed it more.

It was super close to the water front, so close that you could walk in 15 mins. Also, close to other places to eat or get food to eat in. I would for sure come back.

Room Tip: rooms by the pool are better than inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Cape Diem Lodge. We are delighted to hear that it all worked out well and that you enjoyed your stay with us :)

We strive to make all our guests happy, and compliments on our establishment and staff is simply heart-warming and keeps us going, thank you for the kind words!

Should you ever be back in Cape Town, it will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again!

Sunny greeting from Cape Town,
Bianca Nagel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2016

We staid here for one night in October and enjoyed this short stay. The manager is very welcoming and helpful and asking if she could arrange anything for our visit to Cape Town. This is a very nicely decorated historic building in a quiet street, but perfectly located! Our room was large and overall very nice, though a very close look will show some attentions points: for ex. the window kept on rattling throughout the night and I had to jam some folded paper in to quiet the frame. Also one of the two sinks was not working very well. Breakfast was very nice, unfortunately we could not sit outside as it was still too cold in the morning. Overall very good: I would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harry_Vanhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Cape Diem Lodge is a most beautiful boutique residence right in the heart of Green Point and walking distance from the V & A Waterfront, Cape Town. A traditional and historic residence, it has been very tastefully upgraded to provide outstanding accommodation, pool and beautiful landscaped gardens.
Ashlin Nunes, Manager was particularly attentive and along with her support staff were always on hand to ensure guests needs were met. She has a strong sense of 'Customer Service' which was very obvious from the minute I arrived.
I was only able to stay for two nights this time, but would definitely consider Cape Diem Lodge again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: The lodge provides the option of rooms in the main house or two very comfortable rooms in a new exte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alexander142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We had 4 nights at Cape Diem and we would definitely stay again. We liked the fact that it is a small hotel / guest house and the attention to detail in the physical environment and in the personal interactions. The manager Ashlin spent time settling us in over a cup of tea, made recommendations on places to eat, activities, and safety. She made bookings for us and checked in with us each day. We also found the bed very comfortable and we liked the breakfasts. In addition we felt safe at Cape Diem.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Kathryn T,

Thank you so much for your kind review! It is a delight to hear that you felt well pampered during your stay, it's what we aim to do best :-) We hope to see you again one day soon!

Sunny Greetings,
Ashlin & The Cape Diem Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Positioned in a very quite area and in walking distance from the water front. Room and bathroom very trendy and very close to luxury. We didn't get a chance to try the pool which the Lodge has within its lovely and very tidy inside garden but it's perfect for a summer stay. It has a private garage which is always good. Only annoying thing about it is that you might find another guest's car behind yours and have to wait a little for it to be moved. This said we parked more than once the care outside on the quite street and no problem whatsoever. Make sure that you speak to the manager for any specific need because when we asked a member of staff, she forgot 2 things out of the 3 we asked (extra bottles of water and fixing the bathtub). Overall, very good lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stefano J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear Sjones76

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, but disappointed to note that your expectations were not fully met in other areas. We trust that despite this we shall again welcome you as guests to The Cape Diem Lodge in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ashlin Nunes



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#19 of 110 in Cape Town
72 reviews
Cape Standard
#13 of 156 in Cape Town
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 156 in Cape Town
524 reviews
Rutland Lodge
#52 of 156 in Cape Town
213 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diem Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diem Lodge

Address: 11 Vesperdene Road | Green Point, Cape Town 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town
Price Range: RM505 - RM857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Diem Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don’t expect the ordinary…”better sleeping, better relaxing, better eating – better Cape Diem LODGE!” In our brand new and stylish Cape Diem LODGE you’ll find victorian charm, mixed with an award winning european interior design and all of that in the heart of vibrant Cape Town. Let us free you from the normal hotel stress. Our fresh, host and easy team wants to treat you like friends and as such, you will be sure to come. The house represents one of the first Farm Houses in Greenpoint, dating back to early 1875, equipped with the latest of modern interior, set in a beautifully landscaped garden with a sparkling pool and a Teak wood sundeck, where you’ll enjoy your rich english breakfast in the morning. It is gently attached to the lower slopes of Signal Hill, overlooking the Bay, Blouwberg Strand, Robben Island and the VA Waterfront and only minutes away from the cities major attractions.Our idea to “relaunche” and converte this victorian jewel from early 1900, in one of Cape Towns most thought after positions, into a luxurious meeting point for friends from around the world, came with a blink of an eye. The complete restoration in 2007/2008 was taking us several month and carried out with the greatest care to details. Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony. Our motto: contemporary design in historical surroundings!In the heart of the house, you’ll be able to relax in our cosy and elegant lounge. Enjoy a book and a glas of exquisit south african wine or lay back in front of our open fire place during the winter.Our perfectly appointed rooms are offered in Classic or Superior. The interior is inspired by the new generation of young south african designers. Light and characterised by innumerable details, as well as kingsized beds, innovative bathrooms, state of the art self controled cooling & heating system, LCD Flatscreen TV’s & DVD’s and a fully loaded minibar including south african wines and champagne. Our complimentary wireless Lan internet connection does not only cater our friends on business, but may be enjoyed by everyone. Furthermore, all of our guest rooms are equipped with a CD sound experience, an Nespresso Coffee station, self dial telephones, digital safe, hair dryer, bathrobes + slippers, luxury bath ameneties, shower & bath and so much more… Why not trying out our pillow menu? Challenge us – what more can we get you?We also would like to offer you a personal, secure and hassle free pick-up in a luxury SUV from or to the Airport to the Cape Diem LODGE at a total of only R 450,- for 2 guests/per way. We only ask you for an early reservation and your exact flight details – leave the rest to us!We wish you already today the best possible trip to Cape Town and a very pleasant stay at your Cape Diem Lodge.Warm regards from Cape Town,Your Cape Diem LODGE Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape Diem Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Diem Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing