We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPOT ON - EVERY SINGLE TIME”
Review of Cape Diem Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Diem Lodge
Ranked #36 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017

There are very little hotels that get it right every time you visit. I have been fortunate enough to have stayed at the beautiful Cape Diem Lodge a few times and each visit surpasses the previous one.

Located in the heart of Green Point, it offers a fabulous location being walking distance from the waterfront and cosmopolitan De Waterkant. Also a stone's throw away from the lodge you will find the Cape Town Stadium and the Somerset strip that hosts restaurants ranging from Italian to Mexican and Bistro chic fare.

The Cape Diem has a certain freshness about it. Despite of the fact that this lodge is located in one of Green Points original farm houses dating back from the 1800's - its eclectic mix of Afro-European art and decor pairs beautifully with the Old Cape farm-style architecture. The grounds are kept spotless and even in winter the pool is sparkling clean and the deck kitted out with loungers, pool towels and table and chairs with menus - very inviting but i was not brave enough to use this facility in the midst of a very mild winter.

Since my last visit there has been some changes to my home away from home and the first thing that you would notice when entering a room in the lodge is the beautiful brand new bathrooms. The owner, Daniel has invested in brand new bathrooms for each suite at the lodge, with cutting edge design and top end finishes they add style and sophistication to each of the guests suites.

Except for other minor renovations in the public areas they have launched a new breakfast menu featuring my favorite - Eggs Benedict and the lightest, fluffiest omelets. All of Cape Diem's breakfast ingredients are locally sourced and they have even introduced freshly baked breakfast pastries on the buffet.

As usual the service was seamless, the linen fresh and crisp, the new bathroom snazzy and inviting, the breakfast top notch and the goodbey harder than before.

If you are looking for a boutique style hotel experience with most of the added benefits of a big city hotel - just personalized look no further. Cape Town has one address if you are looking for a no fuss stay , value for money, spacious accommodation with oversized beds and stunning bathrooms, a great location and a stay that leaves you with that warm and fuzzy feeling inside despite of it being winter - The Cape Diem offer it all!

Room Tip: My favorite room is Room 5 with its free standing bath, double volume ceiling and bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JaKo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Jako,

Once again, thank you for your great review on Cape Diem.

As usual, it was a pleasure having you!

Warm regards,
Bianca
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Fabulous little botique hotel situated a short taxi ride from the V&a Waterfront. Lovely little place with nice rooms with fully stocked mini bar. Nice private pool area and fab breakfasts. Great staff. The only down side for us is the is no secure parking and all of the wheel trims were stolen from our vehicle. We are still fighting with the hire company as they have not refunded our fuel charge of £168. I would definitely recommend this place if you don't need a car

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Anne,

Thank you for your kind review on Cape Diem Lodge and your wonderful compliments, we really strive to deliver the best service to ensure our guests are always happy.

I am sorry to hear about your car, but since TripAdvisor is a public platform, I should also advise that we do have secure parking available on a first come, first serve basis. I am sorry that we could not accommodate your request at the time.

Cape Diem is located in one of the best Neighbourhoods in the city and it is an extremely unfortunate thing that has happened with you, but sadly as a City develops and tourism and business increases, unfortunately so does opportunistic crime.

Once again, thank you for your review and we wish you many more happy travels!

Warm regards,
Bianca Nagel
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Cape Diem Lodge is one of Cape Town's best locations for a weekend away, within walking distance to almost everything the city has to offer. The lovely pool area is ideal for enjoying the welcome drink and the flowers and personalised note in the room made us feel extra welcome. A special thank you to the friendly and attentive staff. I will certainly recommend Cape Diem Lodge.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dolla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Dolla,

Thank you for your kind review on Cape Diem Lodge and the nice pictures.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm regards,
Bianca
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

A stylish & comfortable base from which to explore Cape Town. So central & close to everything yet hidden from the city hustle & bustle. What a pleasure to wake up late in the morning (possible because breakfast is served until 11! Fantastic!) to the twitter & tweets of birds singing in the nearby trees. Even the faint hoots of owls calling each other were heard in the night!We were made to feel welcome & special - many thanks to the attentive staff! I will happily stay here again in the future...

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deon P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Deon,

Thank you for your kind review on Cape Diem Lodge.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm regards,
Bianca
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

This place is a gem in Cape Town. I just stayed there with my partner and it was the best decision we could make. Service is amazing, rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated and it's just a short walk to the waterfront. Bianca and Chelcie were excellent hosts. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I go back to Cape Town, and hopefully I will.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Diego U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Diego,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Cape Diem Lodge!

I am so happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and appreciate your positive feedback. Should you ever be in Cape Town again, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to our lodge!

Wishing you all the best!

Warm regards,
Bianca Nagel
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 km away
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#8 of 110 in Cape Town Central
85 reviews
0.9 km away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#23 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
1.8 km away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
1 km away
Bayflowers Guest House
Bayflowers Guest House
#10 of 156 in Cape Town Central
303 reviews
2 km away
Parker Cottage
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diem Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diem Lodge

Address: 11 Vesperdene Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM572 - RM919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Diem Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don’t expect the ordinary…”better sleeping, better relaxing, better eating – better Cape Diem LODGE!” In our brand new and stylish Cape Diem LODGE you’ll find victorian charm, mixed with an award winning european interior design and all of that in the heart of vibrant Cape Town. Let us free you from the normal hotel stress. Our fresh, host and easy team wants to treat you like friends and as such, you will be sure to come. The house represents one of the first Farm Houses in Greenpoint, dating back to early 1875, equipped with the latest of modern interior, set in a beautifully landscaped garden with a sparkling pool and a Teak wood sundeck, where you’ll enjoy your rich english breakfast in the morning. It is gently attached to the lower slopes of Signal Hill, overlooking the Bay, Blouwberg Strand, Robben Island and the VA Waterfront and only minutes away from the cities major attractions.Our idea to “relaunche” and converte this victorian jewel from early 1900, in one of Cape Towns most thought after positions, into a luxurious meeting point for friends from around the world, came with a blink of an eye. The complete restoration in 2007/2008 was taking us several month and carried out with the greatest care to details. Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony. Our motto: contemporary design in historical surroundings!In the heart of the house, you’ll be able to relax in our cosy and elegant lounge. Enjoy a book and a glas of exquisit south african wine or lay back in front of our open fire place during the winter.Our perfectly appointed rooms are offered in Classic or Superior. The interior is inspired by the new generation of young south african designers. Light and characterised by innumerable details, as well as kingsized beds, innovative bathrooms, state of the art self controled cooling & heating system, LCD Flatscreen TV’s & DVD’s and a fully loaded minibar including south african wines and champagne. Our complimentary wireless Lan internet connection does not only cater our friends on business, but may be enjoyed by everyone. Furthermore, all of our guest rooms are equipped with a CD sound experience, an Nespresso Coffee station, self dial telephones, digital safe, hair dryer, bathrobes + slippers, luxury bath ameneties, shower & bath and so much more… Why not trying out our pillow menu? Challenge us – what more can we get you?We also would like to offer you a personal, secure and hassle free pick-up in a luxury SUV from or to the Airport to the Cape Diem LODGE at a total of only R 450,- for 2 guests/per way. We only ask you for an early reservation and your exact flight details – leave the rest to us!We wish you already today the best possible trip to Cape Town and a very pleasant stay at your Cape Diem Lodge.Warm regards from Cape Town,Your Cape Diem LODGE Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape Diem Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Diem Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing