We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience”
Review of Cape Diem Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Diem Lodge
Ranked #37 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Our 14 days in this lovely guest house was unforgettable.

The Cape Diem Lodge is amazing: a beautiful ancient farm converted in a cozy hotel with all comfort and care for details.
But you can see this from all the pictures you can find on the internet.

What you cannot see is how much this guys care about their clients. We felt really cuddled and loved, it was all custom made for us. They really helped us to organize our days and spent much time to make them unforgettable.

Thank you very much to Bianca, Chelcie, Samuel, Daniel and all the staff for making our journey such beautiful and unforgettable.

We really miss you and we never forget our days with you.

We hope to come back soon!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Davide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca_Nagel, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Davide and Guilia,

Thank you for this very kind review on Cape Diem Lodge.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we will always remember the nice talks with you!

Hopefully, we will welcome you back again one day!

We wish you both all the best, and many more wonderful travels ahead :)

Warm regards,
Bianca, Daniel and the rest of the Cape Diem Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

We stayed at Cape Diem Lodge for the first night of our honeymoon and the service we recieved was first class. The room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The beds were comfortable and someone even prepared the room for when we came back (from dinner) by putting the heating on for us and leaving a treat on the pillow. We would stay here again without hesitation. The staff were very helpful and so welcoming. Thank you for making our special holiday so memorable!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ExplorerM122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you so much for your very kind review on Cape Diem Lodge!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish you many more happy years ahead!

Sending you lots of well wishes!

Warm regards,
Bianca
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

There are very little hotels that get it right every time you visit. I have been fortunate enough to have stayed at the beautiful Cape Diem Lodge a few times and each visit surpasses the previous one.

Located in the heart of Green Point, it offers a fabulous location being walking distance from the waterfront and cosmopolitan De Waterkant. Also a stone's throw away from the lodge you will find the Cape Town Stadium and the Somerset strip that hosts restaurants ranging from Italian to Mexican and Bistro chic fare.

The Cape Diem has a certain freshness about it. Despite of the fact that this lodge is located in one of Green Points original farm houses dating back from the 1800's - its eclectic mix of Afro-European art and decor pairs beautifully with the Old Cape farm-style architecture. The grounds are kept spotless and even in winter the pool is sparkling clean and the deck kitted out with loungers, pool towels and table and chairs with menus - very inviting but i was not brave enough to use this facility in the midst of a very mild winter.

Since my last visit there has been some changes to my home away from home and the first thing that you would notice when entering a room in the lodge is the beautiful brand new bathrooms. The owner, Daniel has invested in brand new bathrooms for each suite at the lodge, with cutting edge design and top end finishes they add style and sophistication to each of the guests suites.

Except for other minor renovations in the public areas they have launched a new breakfast menu featuring my favorite - Eggs Benedict and the lightest, fluffiest omelets. All of Cape Diem's breakfast ingredients are locally sourced and they have even introduced freshly baked breakfast pastries on the buffet.

As usual the service was seamless, the linen fresh and crisp, the new bathroom snazzy and inviting, the breakfast top notch and the goodbey harder than before.

If you are looking for a boutique style hotel experience with most of the added benefits of a big city hotel - just personalized look no further. Cape Town has one address if you are looking for a no fuss stay , value for money, spacious accommodation with oversized beds and stunning bathrooms, a great location and a stay that leaves you with that warm and fuzzy feeling inside despite of it being winter - The Cape Diem offer it all!

Room Tip: My favorite room is Room 5 with its free standing bath, double volume ceiling and bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JaKo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Jako,

Once again, thank you for your great review on Cape Diem.

As usual, it was a pleasure having you!

Warm regards,
Bianca
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Fabulous little botique hotel situated a short taxi ride from the V&a Waterfront. Lovely little place with nice rooms with fully stocked mini bar. Nice private pool area and fab breakfasts. Great staff. The only down side for us is the is no secure parking and all of the wheel trims were stolen from our vehicle. We are still fighting with the hire company as they have not refunded our fuel charge of £168. I would definitely recommend this place if you don't need a car

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Anne,

Thank you for your kind review on Cape Diem Lodge and your wonderful compliments, we really strive to deliver the best service to ensure our guests are always happy.

I am sorry to hear about your car, but since TripAdvisor is a public platform, I should also advise that we do have secure parking available on a first come, first serve basis. I am sorry that we could not accommodate your request at the time.

Cape Diem is located in one of the best Neighbourhoods in the city and it is an extremely unfortunate thing that has happened with you, but sadly as a City develops and tourism and business increases, unfortunately so does opportunistic crime.

Once again, thank you for your review and we wish you many more happy travels!

Warm regards,
Bianca Nagel
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Cape Diem Lodge is one of Cape Town's best locations for a weekend away, within walking distance to almost everything the city has to offer. The lovely pool area is ideal for enjoying the welcome drink and the flowers and personalised note in the room made us feel extra welcome. A special thank you to the friendly and attentive staff. I will certainly recommend Cape Diem Lodge.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dolla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Dolla,

Thank you for your kind review on Cape Diem Lodge and the nice pictures.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm regards,
Bianca
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 km away
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
118 reviews
1 km away
Bayflowers Guest House
Bayflowers Guest House
#10 of 156 in Cape Town Central
316 reviews
0.4 km away
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#40 of 156 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
1.8 km away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
532 reviews
0.8 km away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diem Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diem Lodge

Address: 11 Vesperdene Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM 600 - RM 1,075 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Diem Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don’t expect the ordinary…”better sleeping, better relaxing, better eating – better Cape Diem LODGE!” In our brand new and stylish Cape Diem LODGE you’ll find victorian charm, mixed with an award winning european interior design and all of that in the heart of vibrant Cape Town. Let us free you from the normal hotel stress. Our fresh, host and easy team wants to treat you like friends and as such, you will be sure to come. The house represents one of the first Farm Houses in Greenpoint, dating back to early 1875, equipped with the latest of modern interior, set in a beautifully landscaped garden with a sparkling pool and a Teak wood sundeck, where you’ll enjoy your rich english breakfast in the morning. It is gently attached to the lower slopes of Signal Hill, overlooking the Bay, Blouwberg Strand, Robben Island and the VA Waterfront and only minutes away from the cities major attractions.Our idea to “relaunche” and converte this victorian jewel from early 1900, in one of Cape Towns most thought after positions, into a luxurious meeting point for friends from around the world, came with a blink of an eye. The complete restoration in 2007/2008 was taking us several month and carried out with the greatest care to details. Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony. Our motto: contemporary design in historical surroundings!In the heart of the house, you’ll be able to relax in our cosy and elegant lounge. Enjoy a book and a glas of exquisit south african wine or lay back in front of our open fire place during the winter.Our perfectly appointed rooms are offered in Classic or Superior. The interior is inspired by the new generation of young south african designers. Light and characterised by innumerable details, as well as kingsized beds, innovative bathrooms, state of the art self controled cooling & heating system, LCD Flatscreen TV’s & DVD’s and a fully loaded minibar including south african wines and champagne. Our complimentary wireless Lan internet connection does not only cater our friends on business, but may be enjoyed by everyone. Furthermore, all of our guest rooms are equipped with a CD sound experience, an Nespresso Coffee station, self dial telephones, digital safe, hair dryer, bathrobes + slippers, luxury bath ameneties, shower & bath and so much more… Why not trying out our pillow menu? Challenge us – what more can we get you?We also would like to offer you a personal, secure and hassle free pick-up in a luxury SUV from or to the Airport to the Cape Diem LODGE at a total of only R 450,- for 2 guests/per way. We only ask you for an early reservation and your exact flight details – leave the rest to us!We wish you already today the best possible trip to Cape Town and a very pleasant stay at your Cape Diem Lodge.Warm regards from Cape Town,Your Cape Diem LODGE Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Cape Diem Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Diem Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing