We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
US$111
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$211
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$125
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fritz Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$203
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$278
US$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
204
38
11
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
38
11
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen pointowner danielwould stay here again without hesitationfinest restaurantsthe lovely pool areabreakfast was deliciouswalking distanceguest house isnespresso machinewelcome drinktwo nightswooden floorsperfect locationmain roadrecommend staying heresugar hotelshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We stayed at Cape Diem Lodge for the first night of our honeymoon and the service we recieved was first class. The room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The beds were comfortable and someone even prepared the room for when we came back (from dinner) by putting the heating on for us and leaving a treat on the pillow. We would stay here again without hesitation. The staff were very helpful and so welcoming. Thank you for making our special holiday so memorable!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ExplorerM122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you so much for your very kind review on Cape Diem Lodge!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish you many more happy years ahead!

Sending you lots of well wishes!

Warm regards,
Bianca
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

There are very little hotels that get it right every time you visit. I have been fortunate enough to have stayed at the beautiful Cape Diem Lodge a few times and each visit surpasses the previous one.

Located in the heart of Green Point, it offers a fabulous location being walking distance from the waterfront and cosmopolitan De Waterkant. Also a stone's throw away from the lodge you will find the Cape Town Stadium and the Somerset strip that hosts restaurants ranging from Italian to Mexican and Bistro chic fare.

The Cape Diem has a certain freshness about it. Despite of the fact that this lodge is located in one of Green Points original farm houses dating back from the 1800's - its eclectic mix of Afro-European art and decor pairs beautifully with the Old Cape farm-style architecture. The grounds are kept spotless and even in winter the pool is sparkling clean and the deck kitted out with loungers, pool towels and table and chairs with menus - very inviting but i was not brave enough to use this facility in the midst of a very mild winter.

Since my last visit there has been some changes to my home away from home and the first thing that you would notice when entering a room in the lodge is the beautiful brand new bathrooms. The owner, Daniel has invested in brand new bathrooms for each suite at the lodge, with cutting edge design and top end finishes they add style and sophistication to each of the guests suites.

Except for other minor renovations in the public areas they have launched a new breakfast menu featuring my favorite - Eggs Benedict and the lightest, fluffiest omelets. All of Cape Diem's breakfast ingredients are locally sourced and they have even introduced freshly baked breakfast pastries on the buffet.

As usual the service was seamless, the linen fresh and crisp, the new bathroom snazzy and inviting, the breakfast top notch and the goodbey harder than before.

If you are looking for a boutique style hotel experience with most of the added benefits of a big city hotel - just personalized look no further. Cape Town has one address if you are looking for a no fuss stay , value for money, spacious accommodation with oversized beds and stunning bathrooms, a great location and a stay that leaves you with that warm and fuzzy feeling inside despite of it being winter - The Cape Diem offer it all!

Room Tip: My favorite room is Room 5 with its free standing bath, double volume ceiling and bay windows.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JaKo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Jako,

Once again, thank you for your great review on Cape Diem.

As usual, it was a pleasure having you!

Warm regards,
Bianca
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Fabulous little botique hotel situated a short taxi ride from the V&a Waterfront. Lovely little place with nice rooms with fully stocked mini bar. Nice private pool area and fab breakfasts. Great staff. The only down side for us is the is no secure parking and all of the wheel trims were stolen from our vehicle. We are still fighting with the hire company as they have not refunded our fuel charge of £168. I would definitely recommend this place if you don't need a car

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Anne,

Thank you for your kind review on Cape Diem Lodge and your wonderful compliments, we really strive to deliver the best service to ensure our guests are always happy.

I am sorry to hear about your car, but since TripAdvisor is a public platform, I should also advise that we do have secure parking available on a first come, first serve basis. I am sorry that we could not accommodate your request at the time.

Cape Diem is located in one of the best Neighbourhoods in the city and it is an extremely unfortunate thing that has happened with you, but sadly as a City develops and tourism and business increases, unfortunately so does opportunistic crime.

Once again, thank you for your review and we wish you many more happy travels!

Warm regards,
Bianca Nagel
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Cape Diem Lodge is one of Cape Town's best locations for a weekend away, within walking distance to almost everything the city has to offer. The lovely pool area is ideal for enjoying the welcome drink and the flowers and personalised note in the room made us feel extra welcome. A special thank you to the friendly and attentive staff. I will certainly recommend Cape Diem Lodge.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dolla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Dolla,

Thank you for your kind review on Cape Diem Lodge and the nice pictures.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm regards,
Bianca
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

A stylish & comfortable base from which to explore Cape Town. So central & close to everything yet hidden from the city hustle & bustle. What a pleasure to wake up late in the morning (possible because breakfast is served until 11! Fantastic!) to the twitter & tweets of birds singing in the nearby trees. Even the faint hoots of owls calling each other were heard in the night!We were made to feel welcome & special - many thanks to the attentive staff! I will happily stay here again in the future...

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deon P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Deon,

Thank you for your kind review on Cape Diem Lodge.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm regards,
Bianca
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews