We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
One&Only Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$130
Hilton
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$470
US$393
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$124
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$255
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$666
US$530
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$153
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$314
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
US$231
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$405
US$377
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,798)
Filter reviews
1,798 results
Traveller rating
1,455
218
66
27
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,455
218
66
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubisland suitenobu restaurantreubentable mountainthe main hotelhigh teafour seasonsbeautiful hoteloystersnespresso machinebreakfast buffetsouth africaluxury hotelturn down servicemountain viewwaterfront area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,798 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gorgeous lobby area with a huge plate glass window allowing for fantastic views of Tabletop Mountain. The staff was extremely gracious and welcoming. The room was clean and extremely comfortable, also providing a gorgeous view of the mountain. I think all the rooms face the mountain. I dined at Reuben's Restaurant several nights and especially remember the Wagyu fillet. Breakfast offered an over the top selection of all sorts of pastries, fruit, cheeses, juice, etc. Very nice.

The location near the V&A Waterfront and the Aquarium is also a plus as there is a lot to see within walking distance. The Hop on Hop off bus stops right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon_01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear William S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. Waking up each morning and seeing Table Mountain just outside your window is an experience unmatched anywhere else, so we are pleased to hear that this was a highlight of your stay. We would be honoured to host you again—the Wagyu filet will be waiting.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing experience for our first high tea at The One & Only Hotel in Cape Town! Beautiful atmosphere, delicious pastries, cakes and sweets. To top it off, their staff were great and service was superb! Specifically our excellent waiter, Shaundre, who made an extra effort to make our experience very pleasant and make us feel comfortable. We certainly look forward to our next visit to The One & Only Hotel. :-)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Raushana2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon_01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Raushana2018,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are overjoyed to hear that a member of our team made you feel so welcomed, and we will be sure to pass your kind words along to Shaundre. What may seem like extra effort is the standard to which we strive for every day. The next time you are in the mood for an elegant Afternoon Tea, we would love to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Would definitely stay again here. From the minute we arrived until the day we departed every member of staff were so professional and friendly. Most of them knew us by our name which is more than we can say for another One and Only Resort. Great location.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stevepotock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon_01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear stevepotock,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear that you felt well taken care of throughout your stay. We will do whatever is necessary to ensure a flawless stay at One&Only Cape Town, and it was our pleasure to make your experience with us so enjoyable. We hope to have the honour of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had the most wonderful high tea today at the One & Only. Tariro that looked after us was so amazing at his job that we couldn't believe when he told us it was only his first day working there. He handles himself as if he had years of experience in fine dining and was very knowledgeable about the menu, teas and high tea experience. He knew which unique tea would suit each of our individual personalities. His choice for us were even better than we could have made ourselves. I truly believe that had we not had Tariro, our day would not have been this wonderful, he made it an amazing experience we We had the most wonderful high tea today at the One & Only. Tariro that looked after us was so amazing at his job that we couldn't believe when he told us it was only his first day working there. He handles himself as if he had years of experience in fine dining and was very knowledgeable about the menu, teas and high tea experience. He knew which unique tea would suit each of our individual personalities. His choice for us were even better than we could have made ourselves. I truly believe that had we not had Tariro, our day would not have been this wonderful, he made it an amazing experience we will never forget. The teas and treats were out of this world. We will definitely be returning and asking for our favorite waiter. never forget. The teas and treats were out of this world. We will definitely be returning and asking for our favorite waiter.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank LetitiaVenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon_01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear LetitaVenter,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to Tariro, who will certainly appreciate them. His layered knowledge and professional candor makes him a welcome addition to our team and elevates our Afternoon Tea to something truly extraordinary. We hope that you decide to join us again sometime soon—simply ask for Tariro and we can make all the arrangements necessary.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were very good. The location was excellent being near to the V&A. My only problem is this is not a 5 star hotel, that’s another notch up. The value for money is just not there. Next time I’ll rent a 3 bed apartment in the nearby Mountain Marina which will be a fraction of the cost.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking over the canal, its a lot quieter. The higher you can get the better for the views.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank dejm106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon_01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear dejm106,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear that you found our service satisfactory and enjoyed our incomparable location in Cape Town. We aim to provide an unparalleled experience for our guests in terms of accommodations, amenities, and service, so we regret if you felt as if the value was not quite there. We hope you will consider another visit to One&Only Cape Town, as we would love another opportunity to show you how unforgettable a stay with us can be.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews