We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homely place with fantastic Table Mountain view”
Review of Amber Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amber Tree Lodge
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We love it here! The rooms are lovely and comfortable, there is a beautiful large living room decorated traditional African style and a TV with lots of DVDs you can watch. The tranquil courtyard (which our twin room opened onto) is gorgeous with 2 picnic tables you can eat at shaded by large trees and surrounded by a variety of plants and flowers. The kitchen is homely and very clean with excellent coffee and cereal, toast and spreads like peanut butter and jam available for breakfast. We stayed on Christmas day and they put out mince pies and berry muffins with the breakfast! Lovely! Lots of herbs and spices in the kitchen too for your cooking. There is free wifi available with fast internet and a computer if you don't have a laptop. Lots of reading material too (books or magazines or brochures). Chess and Jenga as well. Upstairs there is a FANTASTIC view of Table Mountain from the balcony which you can admire either in the hammock or eating your meals at the picnic table. It is breath-taking. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, and Stephen gave us a map and advice on where we can go in the city (he recommended the City Sightseeing bus tour, which we took and now highly recommend to others as well!). The lodge is situated next to the lively Long Street full of bars restaurants and shops, and there are food shops about a minute's walk away. We wish we were staying longer, but we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The twin room with courtyard view is nice and quiet, opens onto the tranquil courtyard and the livin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sades2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 49 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2014

We are a group of 6 "mature" travellers who stayed at Amber Tree Lodge for 4 nights, staying in a 6 bed dorm. The room was spacious & the bunks really comfortable, fantastic bathroom & kitchen facilities, breakfast included is a real bonus! We enjoyed the outside courtyard & the front views of Table Mountain are beautiful! All the staff were extremely friendly & helpful, and we felt secure with the access in & out of Amber Tree Lodge. The location is great, shops etc within easy walking distance & we were really pleased to be able to park our rental car securely at Amber Tree. We would highly recommend It to others and we're already planning our next visit back!

Room Tip: The 6 bed dorm at the front can be a little noisy with people leaving nearby restaurants after dinne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Waipuna689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014

This place was a fantastic stay
the room was clean, the bathrooms were clean and spacious, water was hot
close to the main street for shops and restaurants. When it wasn't raining I had a perfect view of table mountain
The staff were friendly and cheerful, always happy to help with any touristy questions, everything was well explained and it was very secure
Perfect as a 5 star backpackers spot

Room Tip: I had a room on the second floor. Had a balcony and a hammock but was too wet and cold for me to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2014

Have to say Stephen and Wayne have been brilliant, helpful, and very welcoming, really enjoying our stay, its lovely and peaceful, it has a beautiful view of table mountain, no drunken backpackers, it has a family feel to it, young couples, singles, familys and friends all seem to really enjoy the place, complementary breakfast in the morning also, 10 minute walk to long street, its the perfect place personally and would truly recommend the place to anyone . . .

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulieallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Amber Tree Lodge for 5 days in September, after it was recommended by a friend in the UK.
The staff were fantastic in helping up organise trips, transport around Cape Town (including the bus system which was a great money saver) and giving us advice on how to organise our days so that we could do as much as we could in our limited time.
The room we had was comfortable, quiet and had everything we needed. We also made use of the hostels living room and got to meet some really interesting people.
The location was great, with a bus stop about 30 seconds away, or a 10 minute walk from long street, or a very easy 40 minute walk from the waterfront.

I think Amber Tree is a great option for anyone travelling to Cape Town, and is definitely somewhere I would stay again.

Stayed: December 2014
Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.1 km away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#78 of 110 in Cape Town Central
711 reviews
2.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 110 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
0.5 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#81 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 128 in Cape Town Central
528 reviews
2.5 km away
A Sunflower Stop
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 128 in Cape Town Central
344 reviews
1.1 km away
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel
#72 of 110 in Cape Town Central
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Tree Lodge

Address: 10 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM80 - RM296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amber Tree Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing