We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent modern hotel close to Waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The entrance by car is from Portwood Road, connection to the Waterfront and its shops and restaurants is via a short pedestrian walkway. Easy and secure parking on the premises. We stayed 3 nights in a suite room with nice views over the VA Waterfront, the city and Table mountain. The hotel, although so close to the Waterfront, is actually quiet and relaxing. Our room had a good size and was well appointed and clean. Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the ground floor. Choices from the buffet were limited, but a selection of cooked breakfasts can be ordered. All staff were courteous and helpful. Special thanks go to the general manager for the room upgrade and to the doorman.

Pro: Location, comfort and quality of service
Con: Room rates at the upper end of the scale, pool at adjacent hotel

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Herbert E

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn of your memorable experience with us. The upgrade was only a pleasure.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2017

Everything about this hotel is 5 star. The exceptional customer service was the best we received in our week long trip to Cape Town. A big thank you to the reception team, especially the lovely doorman and to Mayo for the brilliant Long Island Iced Teas and to Mr B for his first class customer service - it was great to meet you both. And the food, drinks and service at the DASH restaurant was second to none. We enjoyed every minute of our stay - thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Dear CJManc

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed the hospitality of the team and all the facilities of the hotel. Thank you for the feedback on the dedicated team members, this will be passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel and restaurant are STUNNING with a lovely ambience and extremely attentive staff. The only thing that was incredibly disappointing were the cat-sized rats that are saw "dashing" across the balcony as I ate my dinner. Please please please do something about this as this is a top notch spot that I'd certainly like to visit again.

Stayed: April 2017
3  Thank Ayanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights in a premium room at the start of a garden route trip. Room was good and spacious with a wonderful view across the Waterfront to Table Mountain. The USB charging points and international mains sockets provided were a nice touch. Location is perfect - only couple of minutes walk from the Waterfront and Explorer bus stop but in a quiet enclave looking down onto it all. Breakfast was a combination of high quality buffet and cooked to order - really good. Staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the Dash restaurant one night and had a first class meal. Parking the hire car was easy too. Spa was good value. Only negative was that the pool at the adjacent Dock house hotel turned out to be a good bit smaller than we thought - however it didn't really matter as Cape Town kept us so busy we didn't have time for the pool. Can't imagine we'd stay anywhere else if were ever back in Cape Town - the QV really was that good.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steev_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Dear Steev_jo

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. The dedicated team and I are thrilled to learn of your memorable experience with us and that you enjoyed the hospitality and facilities we have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Proper 5 star treatment- this hotel was faultless- each member of staff we encountered was friendly, helpful and the room was beautifully decorated. Classic but modern.

Breakfast was good, ample food on the buffet, plus an a la carte menu to choose from. The hotel is not cheap by any means but you defintely get what you pay for!

Loved the place - hope to be back one day!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ilzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Ilzani

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the hospitality and service the dedicated team has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,564 reviews
0.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
0.5 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,759 reviews
0.7 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM1,679 - RM3,734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing