We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 11 August 2017

If you want to be near to V&A, Red Bus Tour, Two Ocean Aquarium, shopping among others and willing to pay some extra bucks, this is the place to book! Nice design and spent one week there. Everything was great!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank krish509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear krish509,

Thank you for taking time to inform us of your stay at our Hotel.

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay at with us.

Our location, the V & A Waterfront, is but one of our many attractions. The Waterfront, as we locals call it, offers our GUESTS many wonderful opportunities to shop as you mentioned, and to visit as the many restaurants to sample their varied fare. The Waterfront is also central to most of the Tourist attractions, in and around Cape Town.

We hope you enjoyed the meals provided by our Restaurant, while enjoying the view of both the harbour and Table Mountain.

Thank you once again for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel when you next visit our friendly city.

Kind Regards,
Colin Naiker


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

The location of the hotel is fantastic, just a very short walk to the V&A waterfront and opposite the aquarium and start of red and blue bus tours. The staff are friendly and the rooms are very clean and well-equipped with fridge, hairdryer, toiletries, kettle, tea/coffee. We had an excellent night's sleep in a very comforrable bed.
However, we only stayed for one of the four nights originally planned. As a family of four we were at the end of a 2 week tour of South Africa with 4 large suitcases and felt there really wasn't enough space for us to stay and relax 4 nights. I must add that I had read the reviews before coming and was aware of this fact and think if we had been coming for a city break with hand luggage then it would be a good place to stay. Given the value for money and the timing in European school holidays, it should also be noted there were several school sporting groups staying who were generally well-behaved but did tend to fill up the public areas!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Dawn T,

We thank you and appreciate the time you have taken to inform us of your stay at our Hotel.

Our location is one of our attractions. It is within walking distance of our Hotel and offers our GUESTS the opportunity to shop to their hearts content, and to try the many Restaurants both in the Wharf and alongside the Harbour. The Waterfront also offers some interesting places of entertainment, such as the movie houses, a trip to Robben
Island, to name but a few. It is also central to most of the Tourist attractions in and around Cape Town.

It is with sadness that we read that you had to cut your tour short due to the smallness of the Family unit. We do have 7 different room types, and should you not be happy with the room type allocated to you, you are most welcome to request an upgrade from our Front Office TEAM, and should availability allow, our TEAM will gladly accommodate your request.

We are aware of the congestion when School groups are staying with us, and are in the process of finding alternative areas for them to utilize that will alleviate the congestion.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel when you next visit Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Overall I was pleased with my stay. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel itself is a bit plain, as it is an old prison hence you can tell that by the design and look of the rooms.
The location is probably the best thing about the hotel, walking distance from the waterfront.
I would personally choose a different hotel for my next trip, but if you like value for money it is a good choice.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank meladvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear meladvisor,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay at our Hotel.

We are happy to read that you found our rooms clean and enjoyed the comfort of our beds. Our Hotel comes with a bit of history, that is, only one section of the Hotel, B-block, dates back to 1859. A-block and C-block are the new additions to the hotel, offering a more modern outlook.

Location is important when selecting a holiday destination. The V & A Waterfront offers our GUESTS many wonderful opportunities to shop or browse and the many restaurants lures you to try their delicious fare. The Waterfront also offers some interesting places of entertainment.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Great venue for our recent school academy tour of South Africa. The rooms we had were a little small but clean and comfortable, beds and pillows helped provide a good nights sleep. Breakfast was really good with lots of choices. The location was great and all staff were courteous and helpful.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Valued GUEST,

Thank you for your review and the fantastic score!

Reading your review was of great encouragement to me personally reminding me why we do what we do. Your words of appreciation make a world of difference and sets the tone for my STAFFs morale.

I will definitely share your review with my team.

Thank you once again for your fantastic review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel when you next visit our friendly city.

Kind Regards,
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

I checked into this hotel and checked out of it within 30 minutes. When I went to my room, all the other guest were hanging out in the corridors, it still has the feel of a jail before lock down. If you want the feel of "Orange is the new black" this is the place for you. The bed and sheets were badly stained to boot. I simply didn't feel safe in the place. I paid in full for the night, even though I was only there for minutes, to boot the chap at reception tried to make me feel guilty about leaving, he kept pressing me for a reason for leaving. Only politeness stopped me from telling him. Dreadful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Len-G-Borg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Len-G-Borg,

We are sad to read that your stay with us did not go as expected.

Our goal is GUEST satisfaction, and clearly we failed. We will take your feedback into account as we work toward improving the way we conduct our business. It is thanks to feedback like yours that we can tackle issues that may impact our most valuable asset, our GUESTS.

Knowing where we are missing the mark assists us in tackling our weaknesses as we strive improve our service.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 km away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 111 in Cape Town Central
754 reviews
0.4 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
2.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#69 of 111 in Cape Town Central
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,268 reviews
0.4 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,512 reviews
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge

Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM629 - RM1,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance modern comfort and and experience soaking in the rich history of Cape Town with a stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge. Our hotel in Cape Town, South Africa sits right next to the city's fantastic V&A Waterfront, a minute from restaurants, shops and theatres. We're perfectly poised to give you a feel for the heart of the Waterfront area, just 25 km from Cape Town International Airport. Enjoy easy access to beaches, mountains and city hotspots from our accommodations, as well as convenience getting to Cape Town International Convention Center and Cape Town Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing