We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at Cape Cadogan”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 13 days. We decided to stay at this one location and rent a car to travel to Winelands, Hermanus, Cape Hope and other sites. What a great idea!!! We loved coming back to our "large" room #8 to find everything neat and clean. Wisdom, Pelo and Meaghan were all wonderful and Cliff did an excellent job caring for our car. This location was so convenient to all shops and restaurants. We just loved Cape Cadogan will definitely recommend to our friends.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 407 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

First time to South Africa,hotel was booked via Audley travel consultants UK. Found this a very agreable boutique hotel located in one of the best residential areas of CT , with own shuttle to Waterfront made our evening transporttion easy .The staff are the stars of this hotel,owners not around but hey with such staff no need!
Breakfast was a feast ,service was perfect.
We stayed in room 2 for 4 nights ,plenty of space with charming small private courtyard, only remark would be the washbassin which could do with being replaced.
Recommend trying this one when in CT
G Cattle

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We spent four nights in this lovely hotel at the start of our South African experience. It is in a fairly anonymous position in the town but not far away from good restaurants and shops. It is a small hotel with under 15 rooms. The lounges and breakfast areas are very tastefully decorated. There is a small pool with sun loungers. Our bedroom (room 3) was amazing with a huge bathroom and shower facilities, outside seating in a walled area with fountain and good sized bed. Staff were extraordinarily helpful and friendly. Breakfasts are excellent. Dinners are not catered for but there is room service from a local restaurant. Our stay at this hotel was very special. I recommend it unreservedly if you want to get away from large characterless hotels.

Room Tip: Try room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kempr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

After the wow factor of Nottens bush camp safari, we were a bit dazed and unsure of the city. However, we soon got into the city life and found some great restaurants, well done Wisdom for recommending Cafe Paridiso, a great find! Monica and Grace were great at breakfast, which was lovely. It is a busy city and quite noisy, but Cape Cadogan is well situated, within walking distance to Kloof street, but also the shuttle can take you to the waterfront. We stayed 8 nights, which in hind sight, was too long, as we would have rather have spent longer at one of our other destinations, as we did all we wanted to do in 5 days, and city life is quite tiring! However, this is not a reflection on the hotel, purely our preferences.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

We booked over a year ago so were disappointed we got one of what thought was one of the smallest rooms in the place. Nice facilities, if a little impersonal. Some info not offered by staff such as details on the free shuttle to the v&a. It's a guest house so no restaurant or bar for evening, but that was not a major issue. Quiet location about 30 mins walk from waterfront

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmypeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,460 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,840 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,645 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#12 of 112 in Cape Town Central
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: RM1,042 - RM2,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing