We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$48
View deal
Hotels.com
US$48
View deal
Agoda.com
US$60
US$35
View deal
SAVE US$25
Booking.comUS$43
PricelineUS$42
FindHotelUS$60
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
242
201
61
9
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
242
201
61
9
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fat cactus kloof street great location table mountain long street bars and restaurants secure parking within walking distance room was spacious company gardens hippos noise jerrys waterfront uber bowl
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2021

Lockdown has been very difficult for all without a doubt. But to cut corners as this hotel has is disgraceful.
The once good hotel has become a backpacker hostel filled with transients.
The property has been given zero tender loving care.
Supposed to be a non-smoking hotel, the smell of cigarettes and pot are constant.
Many other safe options in the area from which to choose.

Date of stay: July 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jeffrobinsonBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adine Perel, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Thank you for your feedback and comments, however the procedure for tenants is to report to the owner of the apartment as you are not on our system as a guest. The owner of your apartment, will then report to the body corporate of the sectional title. The facilities for the guests are different for the tenants please ensure that you are aware of all the house rules as well as which facilities that are available to you and that are adhered to as a tenant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2020

Perfect location close to shops and anything you might need in town, comfortable room (massive bed!), friendly staff, quiet despite being near restaurants. I would definitely stay again - thank you Hippo Boutique!

Date of stay: December 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sgurne316968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2020

The hotel offers excellent value for money for a stopover in Kloof street, middle of Cape Town. You are surrounded by great restaurants / pubs to indulge in. This without the worry of havings to go far after a dinner out with friends. The Hippo Boutique Hotel is worth every cent you pay.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nengel2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adine Perel, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in response, Trip Advisor has changed the response for the reviews.
Thank you so much for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

This hotel is not very nice, it’s meant to be 4 star but in fact it is filth...
When we arrived we discovered that the hotels was opposite a building site which had obviously closed for the weekend. However it was clear that this would be extremely noisy, dirty and disruptive on Monday.
The restaurant beneath the hotel had closed and moved there was only the bar next door which was full of backpackers.
You will see from the photos attached how basic the hotel was.
We looked at the other room they offered but the standard was the same.
On our tour bus trip around the city the commentary said ‘and this is the backpackers district famed for the hundreds that arrive here to explore the city’.

Obviously we were not keen to stay there or even unpack.

This is awful please avoid at all costs.

Date of stay: February 2020
3  Thank kirstie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Thank you for your feedback and we would like to assure you that we at Hippo Boutique Hotel pride ourselves in delivering the best guest service and strive to get the basics right consistently. Your experience does not reflect the high standard we are usually proud to offer.

We tried everything to assist you and unfortunately we were unsuccessful. Once again our sincere apologies for your disappointing stay and hope you traveled home safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

I stayed in one of the Hippo's two-storey suites and it was easily the best accommodation I have had in Cape Town at this price. The location is great too - Kloof Street is buzzing with bars and restaurants and it's only a five minute walk from the Company Gardens, but the hotel itself is on a quiet side-street. Recommended.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced our exceptional staff, spacious rooms, superb restaurant for breakfast and brilliant location

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews