We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Chef and 5 course Food/Wine pairing”

Reverie Social Table
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$75
Description: Join the Social Table for a totally unique dining concept. An eclectic space to eat, drink and be merry with some fabulous company. Table d' Hote style eatery with a set 5 course dinner, each paired with boutique wines from around the Western Cape. Perfect for the lone traveler, couple, friends and groups. It's a must try when visiting the Mother City!
Restaurant details
Description: Join the Social Table for a totally unique dining concept. An eclectic space to eat, drink and be merry with some fabulous company. Table d' Hote style eatery with a set 5 course dinner, each paired with boutique wines from around the Western Cape. Perfect for the lone traveler, couple, friends and groups. It's a must try when visiting the Mother City!
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

This spot was a word of mouth suggestion and we are thrilled we took it!

The Chef knows her wine and pays special attention to every detail of each pairing. She works with each Vineyard who participates and explains her selection of each glass as well as each course. The plated food looked like works of art!

Wine is available for purchase at the conclusion of the evening at the Wholesale price. Since we are flying in a day's time we were unable to purchase this amazing wine!

Only a limited number of seats are available so book ahead. This place is located in the great little area called the Observatory or OBZ. We took a cab and one was called for us later in the evening.

The other guests were such a pleasure to meet. We enjoyed a wonderful evening of conversation, which made the whole evening complete!

Fine art covers the walls and is changed out monthly. It's all by local artists and can be purchased if you choose.

We put this beautiful place and experience at the top of our list of Cape Town Favorites! I paid 3 times this much for a 5 course Wine Pairing in Boston, Mass in the USA

Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Hattingh, Owner at Reverie Social Table, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hello Jan,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your Social Table experience.
Super awesome to meet you and I'm so glad you enjoyed dining with us.

I hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Cape Town!

warm regards,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017

We were fortunate enough to secure a last minute dinner reservation with Julia, and it was the most memorable meal we had in Cape Town. The course menu was beautifully put together and paired with fantastic wines from Springfield. The dining room itself is beautifully decorated, it feel like you're enjoying a meal in a private gallery. We had the chance to chat with many wonderful guests at the table, including chef Julia. Her energy and passion shines through her work, and we hope to see more of Julia's talent in New York City!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank yeli s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Hattingh, Owner at Reverie Social Table, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hello Yeli,

Thank you for your fabulous review!
I am so glad you guys could join us- that delayed flight was a sign!
Hopefully we'll see you in NYC in July :)

warm regards,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We had a fantastic time at reverie. Julia was an incredible host and the food was wonderful. The wine pairings with the food really added to the occasion and we had such an enjoyable evening. I would recommend it to anyone who wants excellent food with excellent company.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lfsellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Hattingh, Manager at Reverie Social Table, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Thank you so much for such a lovely review.
I am so glad you enjoyed your Social Table experience!

Looking forward to the next time :)

warm regards,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This experience was one of our favorites by far during our stay in Cape Town. Chef Julia is a warm and friendly face who invites you to sit with 17 other people at one large dinning room table to eat from a preset menu with 5 courses that she has previously chosen for the night. Each course is unique and is creatively put together on a nicely decorated dish. This is not your typical dinner experience - Chef Julia has uniquely created 5 wonderful dishes paired with some yummy wines from a local winery which you share with strangers who then become great friends by the end of the night. What a great concept and you would be missing out if you did not add this to your list of things to do while in Cape Town!

Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Hattingh, Owner at Reverie Social Table, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Hello Michelle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Reverie experience.
It was so lovely having all four of you guys join our Social Table! Next time you'll have to bring your hubby :)
Hope to see you in LA in July!

warm regards,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Where to start . this night 4th march was the highlight of our trip so far. the food was exceptional, the wine was interesting (Sorry Gemma) the wine was of a high standard this was enhanced by Springfield wines
Gemma being there to explain each and every one of the 6 wines .
But the highlight of the night was the Social side of it all one large table 8 other guests (thank you for being such fun companions) and Julia the chef ,we will take these memories with us for a long time to come. Others my try and copy this but they can’t copy the one thing that makes it all work Julia her energy vibrancy and personality are what make this work . Oh and the food was to die for thanks again to all that were there THIS IS A MUST DO

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Hattingh, Owner at Reverie Social Table, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Nigel,

Thank you for choosing our Social Table dinner to celebrate your birthday, we all loved being apart of it! It was wonderful to meet you and Dawn and I hope to see you both again on your next trip to Cape Town. Have an incredible trip up the garden route and don't forget to taste a craft cider or 2!

warm regards,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reverie Social Table also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Reverie Social Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing