We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knysna Country House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$137
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
US$295
US$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$547
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
204
96
28
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
96
28
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roomgarden routebreakfast each morningfamily roomhonesty barsecure parkingbreakfast was excellentnice stayquiet locationstayed one nightlovely gardenwaterfront areabeautiful placeminute drivestunning viewserikhosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our second visit to Knysna country house, on this occasion we had the self catering unit. It was very good value, spacious, very well equipped, our only negative was the bed was a little soft and the bed room smelt a little damp. Erik and Ypie are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome again. Lovely garden with a good sized swimming pool.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

About 10 minutes from the waterfront- in the country you will find this property that accommodates 25 .We are warmly greeted by Erik who immediately offers suggestions for supper.
We have a small apartment on the lower part of the property that could sleep 5 so if you are a family, this property will work for you. Initially because I am tired after a long drive i am disappointed and find the bed not as firm as I would appreciate but the second night I sleep well and begin to notice notice spectacular bathroom that is spotless and carefully decorated.

I also enjoy having space to spread out my stuff on the extra bed. The pool is great and the breakfast offers cereals, yoghurt, cheeses and fruit along with hot and freshly prepared eggs, etc Yippi and Erik are wonderful hosts.

We do spot larger more attractive single rooms on the upper level but these are usually booked a year ahead so if you are headed towards Knysna, holiday place surrounded by the world's most beautiful beaches,book early for the best selection,

Room Tip: Sometimes an initial impression might be slightly off as mine was. Reflect a bit, talk to the hosts, and reconsider why you have made snap judgments. Glad I did. :-)
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unhappytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Knysna Country House should be updated. Somewhat shabby carpets in public areas and room really need to be replaced. Bathroom lacks comfort and the interior needs renovation, if the lodge were to keep its 4 star status.
We particularly were annoyed by the presence - during breakfast - of an obtrusive little dog, with clear signs of a skin disease.
Despite the nice location we therefore cannot recommend the lodge.
Hopefully the owners will decide for renovation shortly.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with outside view. Some of the rooms only view on a small courtyard
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxsita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Maxsita,

Somehow we expected this review. You made it clear every day that you did not like it here. You were booked by a tour operator and we indeed do not know exactly what your expectations were. By the time you arrived at 20h30 in the evening we had already called the operator to find out if something happened to you, since we were worried and (by far) most of our guests arrive during the day. We actually thought it was funny when you asked for a room on the 1st floor, since we do not have a 1st floor.

The first morning we noticed immediately that you did not like our little dog, so every day when you arrived for breakfast we locked him away. The dog could not have bothered you for more than 1 minute. Pity you do not recognize that in your review. We do agree with you about the now ex-carpets, we did replace them the beginning of March.

As we can see in your valuation, it also affected your score on sleep quality, cleanliness, your perception of our service etc. We always try to make our guests feel at home, but we obviously did not succeed this time.

Kind regards.
Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Erik and Ypie were excellent hosts. There are various types of rooms,all clean and very comfortable.
We did have a minor problem as the room we expected to be in was already occupied. After a nights stay in the Family Unit by the pool,we were offered the Garden Cottage which was excellent with a large balcony overlooking the garden. Most people comment on the choices and quality of the breakfast and we totally agree . . a lovely way to start the day.We also tried the Braii twice & can recommend this as well. Our hosts could not have been more helpful. We had left valuables in the safe at our previous accommodation & both Erik & Kate (the assistant manageress) did all they could to make sure we got them back before we left S.A. Because of their persistance we just made it... Thank you!
Knysna Country House has a lovely,peaceful setting in attractive, well cared for grounds with the bonus of a pool.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avril R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Avril,

It was a real pleasure having you here with us. We are glad you enjoyed your evening braais and our accommodation in general. And we are happy to hear that it finally got sorted with your valuables.

We hope to see you again, better sooner than later.

Kindest regards,
Ypie and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We arrived a little before dark, having stopped at Botlierskof (just outside Mossel Bay) for a lion walk in the afternoon (a wonderful experience). The house is just outside the town - though as you are driving there for the first time, it does seem miles! However, it is really only 5-10 minutes in the car from the Waterfront, which is perfect.
We were met by Kate, who showed us our room - complete with lovely complimentary champagne to celebrate our honeymoon. We had a great view down on to the lovely pool area from our private balcony :-) Kate also went to lengths to explain what was about (restaurants etc) and to make sure we had some activities planned - booking one for us (the Featherbed Nature Reserve trip) for the following day. We must thank her for recommending Mo's for dinner too. It was great fun and probably one of our favourite restaurants from our whole trip to South Africa!
The attention to detail was carried on throughout, with an essentials box provided in the room - mosquito repellents (highly appreciated after being eaten alive in Oudtshoorn for the past 2 days), torch, hairdryer, candles. The huge bathroom with double shower was great fun as well.
Breakfast was excellent with the option of eating outdoors or indoors (we stuck to outdoors as the terrace is lovely in the morning). And we also met Erik and Ypie on our first morning, who continued the great customer service that Kate had begun.
Whilst we were there, the carpets were being replaced in large sections of the property, which was managed with a minimal amount of disturbance to the guests - much appreciated.
We wish the family all the best and send our thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkeyjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews