We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Ranked #31 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We decided on a short break from being a mommy and daddy, visiting the coast, having nice coffee and great food. And do some sightseeing in between. We were very lucky we chose Tonquani as our base of operations. Why? Because the staff here pointed us to all the little (and big) gems the area has to offer! Forget "Siri", ask your host! Satisfaction guaranteed!

Also, the chalet we stayed in has very romantic feel, jacuzzi and super comfortable bed ("the cloud"). Need I say more?

Just stay there, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Danny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Its our 3rd year in a row visiting this beautiful lodge with the most amazing staff, extremely friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. Absolutely stunning environment that creates a very relaxing and calming surrounding.
The wooden chalets are surrounded by a beautiful landscape which makes you feel like you in a forest away from all the fast paced city lifestyle yet you are still very central. The chalets are super comfortable with aircons for hot days and a lovely fireplace for the colder days.
The jacuzzi baths are an additional luxury that just adds that extra touch.
We enjoyed some wonderful spa sessions which were very relaxing and the staff were very friendly, professional and made us feel comfortable at all times.
The breakfast is absolutely amazing and the service is fast and efficient.
I really appreciate the little extra personal touches that the staff do such as the matchstick and gem messages for the guests, it creates such a warm welcome to the guests.
Overall Tonquani is definately 5 star to us in all aspects and we are counting down the months to our 4th annual visit.
A special thank you to all the staff that make our visits extra special, your hard work, friendliness and eagerness to help wherever is exceptional and much appreciated.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lea-anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

"Do you like good news?" - that's how we were greeted on arrival at Reception. It turned out we'd been upgraded from an ordinary chalet to their enormous, beautiful and nicely quirky honeymoon suite.

Tonquani is set on a hillside amid very lush vegetation so it's really peaceful even though you're just a few minutes' drive from the centre of Knysna. A leisurely breakfast on the patio was a treat and the staff were very helpful, giving us tips about the best beach, where to eat, etc.

Tip: We only had a short trip on the Garden Route and couldn't decide whether to stay at Knysna or Plettenberg Bay - so we decided to have one night in each place and thereby managed to have both experiences! This worked OK because we arrived in Knsyna mid morning, had all afternoon, evening and half the next day in/around Knysna. Then we drove across to Plettenberg where we stayed at the lovely Milkwood Manor, spent the afternoon in/around the hotel/beach and next day walked the Robberg Peninsula. We left the Plettenberg area mid afternoon (after a delicious tea at Nick's Place), and then drove to Port Elizabeth to catch a flight.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UKTraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This is second time we've stayed here.. after being sent the wrong way by the sat nav, and my husband arguing with it, cause he could vaguely remember where we were going, we arrived at the stunning tonquani lodge. We were delighted to be upgraded to the honeymoon suite, it was absolutely gorgeous! With its own plunge pool, it was too cold to use it, so we lit the fire and relaxed with a free bottle of wine. We used the spa and would really recommend it. We had breakfast in the room the next day and it was delicious! Glad to see that they took heed of my previous review about the fruit salad. Another brilliant stay! Staff amazing! Going back next year for our 25th wedding anniversary!!!!!!!! That you can be sure off!!!! Thank you tonquani, sorry it's taken this long to do review

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dancehotsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was a huge room with jacuzzi and separate outside pool.Lovely bed and very private with your own kitchen and braai area.the breakfast at the lodge was very average and the lodge itself will be great to visit in Summer.Reception staff were fabulous.Interior design is a tad weird with all sorts of little things added like African drums in the bathroom? All in all a pricey stay for what you get

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Annali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.3 km away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#18 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
0.9 km away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#14 of 129 in Knysna
255 reviews
4.5 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 km away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
8.2 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
6.7 km away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa

Address: Welbedaght Lane | 1 Cherry Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: RM412 - RM662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna's multi award-winning lodge offers luxurious individually decorated log chalets and family suites with every conceivable comfort including minibar, complimentary port and chocolates, tea, coffee and biscuits, TV, hair dryer, heater and air conditioner. Four units have a Jacuzzi bath, fireplace and the executive chalet has a private spa area for the ultimate in pampering. All units have private patios, air conditioner and barbecues and are serviced daily. For our guests' convenience we offer an affordable on-site laundry service. Sun loungers invite you to enjoy the welcoming coolness of the main swimming pool which is set in tranquil gardens where you can also enjoy a light lunch on the decked lapa. Three units have private splash pools and there is secure on–site undercover parking. The Spa has been designed to ensure total relaxation and privacy and clients enjoy the exclusive use of the Spa facilities during their treatment. There are all kinds of treatments and therapies to relax, replenish and invigorate. Guests can look forward to enjoying a full and varied breakfast with freshly baked scones, muffins and pancakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Tonquani Hotel Knysna
Knysna Tonquani Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing