We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
287
55
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
55
11
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Its our 3rd year in a row visiting this beautiful lodge with the most amazing staff, extremely friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. Absolutely stunning environment that creates a very relaxing and calming surrounding.
The wooden chalets are surrounded by a beautiful landscape which makes you feel like you in a forest away from all the fast paced city lifestyle yet you are still very central. The chalets are super comfortable with aircons for hot days and a lovely fireplace for the colder days.
The jacuzzi baths are an additional luxury that just adds that extra touch.
We enjoyed some wonderful spa sessions which were very relaxing and the staff were very friendly, professional and made us feel comfortable at all times.
The breakfast is absolutely amazing and the service is fast and efficient.
I really appreciate the little extra personal touches that the staff do such as the matchstick and gem messages for the guests, it creates such a warm welcome to the guests.
Overall Tonquani is definately 5 star to us in all aspects and we are counting down the months to our 4th annual visit.
A special thank you to all the staff that make our visits extra special, your hard work, friendliness and eagerness to help wherever is exceptional and much appreciated.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lea-anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

"Do you like good news?" - that's how we were greeted on arrival at Reception. It turned out we'd been upgraded from an ordinary chalet to their enormous, beautiful and nicely quirky honeymoon suite.

Tonquani is set on a hillside amid very lush vegetation so it's really peaceful even though you're just a few minutes' drive from the centre of Knysna. A leisurely breakfast on the patio was a treat and the staff were very helpful, giving us tips about the best beach, where to eat, etc.

Tip: We only had a short trip on the Garden Route and couldn't decide whether to stay at Knysna or Plettenberg Bay - so we decided to have one night in each place and thereby managed to have both experiences! This worked OK because we arrived in Knsyna mid morning, had all afternoon, evening and half the next day in/around Knysna. Then we drove across to Plettenberg where we stayed at the lovely Milkwood Manor, spent the afternoon in/around the hotel/beach and next day walked the Robberg Peninsula. We left the Plettenberg area mid afternoon (after a delicious tea at Nick's Place), and then drove to Port Elizabeth to catch a flight.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UKTraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This is second time we've stayed here.. after being sent the wrong way by the sat nav, and my husband arguing with it, cause he could vaguely remember where we were going, we arrived at the stunning tonquani lodge. We were delighted to be upgraded to the honeymoon suite, it was absolutely gorgeous! With its own plunge pool, it was too cold to use it, so we lit the fire and relaxed with a free bottle of wine. We used the spa and would really recommend it. We had breakfast in the room the next day and it was delicious! Glad to see that they took heed of my previous review about the fruit salad. Another brilliant stay! Staff amazing! Going back next year for our 25th wedding anniversary!!!!!!!! That you can be sure off!!!! Thank you tonquani, sorry it's taken this long to do review

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dancehotsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was a huge room with jacuzzi and separate outside pool.Lovely bed and very private with your own kitchen and braai area.the breakfast at the lodge was very average and the lodge itself will be great to visit in Summer.Reception staff were fabulous.Interior design is a tad weird with all sorts of little things added like African drums in the bathroom? All in all a pricey stay for what you get

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Annali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Highly recommended!!! Unbelievable!!! Speechless!!! Amazing!!! Treasure place!!!

Beautiful chalet!! Very well trained staff!! Spa treatment was 12/10!! Without doubt a must for people visiting Knysna. Spend our anniversary in room 12 and the memories experience will be forever cherished!!!!

Thank you Tonquani for a wonderful weekend, will definitely see you again!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlFourie1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews