We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of giving credit card for booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Ranked #30 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

I had made a booking with the property and offered by credit card which was debited. The booking was cancelled due to an unfortunate incident at the property, which I even doubt now, but the money was never refunded to me. It has been 5 months now and I am communicating with the property for a refund. Thus beware of sharing your cc information.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Rajan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Such a delight to check into this hotel. Seems like its tucked inside some woods but extremely accessible from the water front.

The chalets are really pretty. Ours had 2 bedrooms, huge hall with a fire place, kitchen and dining area. There was a private pool for our chalet. The only issue is if you have big suitcase or very old people you might face problems getting inside the chalet as there is a flight of stairs and no elevator. However the staff helped us with our luggage so we didn't have a problem but i felt bad for the staff.

The fire place was the biggest highlight for me.

Breakfast is basic. Not anywhere close to a 5 star spread. They have a small limited menu and will get the food you request w like eggs, mushrooms, sausages etc.

Good for a night. If you want to stay for a longer time, stay at the waterfront hotels.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Maurita and her amazing team made us all very welcome once again. Coming from the UK it was a wonderful couple of days at the Spa and Lodge and the beautiful Knysna.
Thank you for our incredible stay. Each and every chalet is as beautiful as the other it is very hard to choose.

Room Tip: All the rooms were absolutely amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rich-cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We decided on a short break from being a mommy and daddy, visiting the coast, having nice coffee and great food. And do some sightseeing in between. We were very lucky we chose Tonquani as our base of operations. Why? Because the staff here pointed us to all the little (and big) gems the area has to offer! Forget "Siri", ask your host! Satisfaction guaranteed!

Also, the chalet we stayed in has very romantic feel, jacuzzi and super comfortable bed ("the cloud"). Need I say more?

Just stay there, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Danny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Its our 3rd year in a row visiting this beautiful lodge with the most amazing staff, extremely friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. Absolutely stunning environment that creates a very relaxing and calming surrounding.
The wooden chalets are surrounded by a beautiful landscape which makes you feel like you in a forest away from all the fast paced city lifestyle yet you are still very central. The chalets are super comfortable with aircons for hot days and a lovely fireplace for the colder days.
The jacuzzi baths are an additional luxury that just adds that extra touch.
We enjoyed some wonderful spa sessions which were very relaxing and the staff were very friendly, professional and made us feel comfortable at all times.
The breakfast is absolutely amazing and the service is fast and efficient.
I really appreciate the little extra personal touches that the staff do such as the matchstick and gem messages for the guests, it creates such a warm welcome to the guests.
Overall Tonquani is definately 5 star to us in all aspects and we are counting down the months to our 4th annual visit.
A special thank you to all the staff that make our visits extra special, your hard work, friendliness and eagerness to help wherever is exceptional and much appreciated.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lea-anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.9 km away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#13 of 129 in Knysna
259 reviews
5.3 km away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#20 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
8.2 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 km away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
4.5 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
282 reviews
6.7 km away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa

Address: Welbedaght Lane | 1 Cherry Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: RM404 - RM649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna's multi award-winning lodge offers luxurious individually decorated log chalets and family suites with every conceivable comfort including minibar, complimentary port and chocolates, tea, coffee and biscuits, TV, hair dryer, heater and air conditioner. Four units have a Jacuzzi bath, fireplace and the executive chalet has a private spa area for the ultimate in pampering. All units have private patios, air conditioner and barbecues and are serviced daily. For our guests' convenience we offer an affordable on-site laundry service. Sun loungers invite you to enjoy the welcoming coolness of the main swimming pool which is set in tranquil gardens where you can also enjoy a light lunch on the decked lapa. Three units have private splash pools and there is secure on–site undercover parking. The Spa has been designed to ensure total relaxation and privacy and clients enjoy the exclusive use of the Spa facilities during their treatment. There are all kinds of treatments and therapies to relax, replenish and invigorate. Guests can look forward to enjoying a full and varied breakfast with freshly baked scones, muffins and pancakes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knysna Tonquani Hotel Knysna
Knysna Tonquani Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing