We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Africa at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed for three nights in January 2013 in the Sunbird room as part of a trip along the south west of South Africa. We stayed at some exceptionally nice places but Kanonkop really was fantastic.

The layout of the place is great- a really nice and well kept garden, great pool and rooms which are spacious and well decorated. The views of the lagoon are super.

What sets Kanonkop apart though is the local knowledge of Chris and Mark and their genuine pleasure and willingness to share it. Every morning at breakfast we discussed what we could do that day, and every recommendation was a pleasure. Restaurant bookings every evening were taken care of and each one was great quality.

We also enjoyed a drink and conversation with Mark and Chris of an evening-discovering the secrets of how to make biltong, the mysteries of De Beers diamond history and some great cricket chat as well (even if we agreed to disagree about the merits of Alastair Cook...!)

We would wholeheartedly recommend kanonkop to anyone travelling in this part of the world, and look forward to going back one day soon. A truly brilliant place to stay.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Valiant_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Valiant-Explorer, Thank you for exploring Knysna and for choosing to stay at Kanonkop House. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write your review...it has no doubt contributed to ou rrecent tripadvisor travellers choice award for 'top 25 small hotels in Africa' with which we are truly delighted. So, once again, many thanks to you for your review. We look forward to a future chat on the merits of various cricketers at the bar. Warm regards, Samantha, Chris and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at Kanonkop House for two nights at the beginning of January 2013 (3rd and 4th). We travelled down from Cape Town on the day and were given such a warm welcome it was almost unbelievable.

The house itself is immaculately decorated and our room (The Sunbird Room), was stunning. Very comfortable, lovely bathroom, plenty of space and a balcony with an incredible view of Knysna lagoon.

The hospitality we received from the owners Chris (hilarious dry wit), Sue (utterly utterly fabulous) and Mark (such a warm, enthusiastic and genuine host) was brilliant. We only had a short time in Knysna unfortunately and they all helped us really get the most out of our stay there.

The owners have made their home such a social and welcoming place we felt that we got to know them and some of the other guests, over wine in the afternoons and the delicious breakfasts in the morning.

I whole heartedly recommend that you stay here if you're spending some time on The Garden Route. We really didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoyOhBoyPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear boyohboy, What a super review. Thank you so very much for your feedback and comments. Sue is particularly delighted and since she only appears so very rarely (we don't often let her out), we are delighted that you enjoyed meeting her. So few travellers have time to spend the weeks that Knysna and the local area really need to fully explore, and we are glad that we were able to help you unearth some of the gems so that you could leave feeling that you had made the most of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again. Our warmest regards, Sam, Mark, Chris and ...Sue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Nothing will prepare you for the view from your room at Kanonkop Guest House. The tropical surroundings with unobstructed views of the Knysna Lagoons and the Heads and surrounding mountains are truly unmatched in this region.
Kanonkop is the perfect place to stay for visiting any of the natural wonders in this region of the Garden Route.
Exquisitely furnished you will find everything from the bed to the bathroom the stuff of great luxury .

Room Tip: Hard to believe there is a room one wouldn't recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEILANE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Freshmoonstone,
Many many thanks for your rave review for Kanonkop House. Thanks to guest reviews like yours we received the coveted Traveller award of 'top 25 Luxury Hotels in Africa' received this year. We are delighted that you enjoyed the details of your room and our bathroom products as well as the superb views that are possible because of our position at the very top of Kanonkop Hill overlooking the Knysna Lagoon all the way to the Indian Ocean beyond. We hope to see you again. Very warmest regards, Samantha, Chris, Mark and the Kanonkop team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We were exhausted after a five hour drive from the wine country, and the guesthouse was up a hill off the main road. However, what a nice surprise once we arrived. Our room overlooked the lagoon on one side and beautiful grounds and a pool on the other side, and was quite large with a sitting room, dressing room, and king-sized bed in a large room. A private balcony overlooked the lagoon The common areas were beautifully landscaped. The owners, Chris and his son Mark, were usually there and always very helpful, making recommendations for hikes and meals. Breakfasts were served outside on the patio, and their omelets and smoothies were delicious! Our friends had a fabulous, more open and modern room above us with great views of the lagoon as well, and both rooms were beautifully appointed.
This was a bit off the "beaten path" as it was outside of Knynsa, which was a quite noisy and crowded tourist town, so it was very quiet. They had a open bar policy which was nice. Having a bottle of wine on their beautiful grounds was a treat!

Room Tip: The room upstairs in the main building had beautiful views in all directions and a very open floor p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan_Ed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Susan - Ed. Many thanks for your lovey review and for your comments on the different desings of the various rooms at Kanonkop House. We want our guests to feel completely at home (without the chore of having to do anything for themselves) and so it is our intention that the complimentary bar, free internet service, daily carwash etc facilitate an easy home away from home experience. Thank you for choosing Knysna and thank you for coming to stay at Kanonkop House. Our warmest regards, Samantha, Mark and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

What a treat it was for us to stay at Kanonkop. Imagine an almost tropical setting with a pool in the middle and gorgeous, and I mean gorgeous rooms surrounding it. Chris the owner welcomed us with open arms, attending to our every need and making restaurant reservations for us. The price of a room is worth every penny just listening to Chris and his history in the diamond business. Who knew the Kimberley diamond mine had so many claimholders? Breakfast was bountiful and delicious. Hint of the day - if his son Mark (you'll recognize him instantly, he could double as a bodyguard) is in the kitchen, be sure to order an omelet. I still don't know how he imparts that flavor in it, but I can tell you it is a winner. All of the staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are first class. Spacious, modern and extraordinarily clean. Comfy beds you hate to leave. And we had a beautiful balcony overlooking the lagoon. Throw in the complimentary bar offered to the guests (that's right, all you can drink is on the house, just ask the Germans who staggered in the next morning for breakfast) and you have not only the #1 guest house in Knysna but one that would hold it's own against just about any other lodge. Usually I end my reviews with a suggestion on something the owners could do a bit better, but honestly Chris and his family overlook nothing. Their attention to detail is such that when we went hiking on trails Chris suggested and returned with a dirty, dusty car, the next morning before we left the car was washed and clean as a whistle. This was above and beyond the call of duty and this in a nutshell is what makes Kanonkop so special and a must to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcarlpast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Wow, what a great review. Thank you. Although I am not sure about the Bodygaurd bit? and you clearly did not have an omlette cooked by me? Just kidding; Mark and I have a longstanding competition regarding who makes the best omlettes but I think your comments have just rocketed him into first place? Many thanks and we hope to see you again. Warmest regards, Sam (and Mark and Chris and the team).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.9 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
7.2 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
2.8 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
2.6 km away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#2 of 30 in Knysna
398 reviews
2.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: RM999 - RM1,965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing