We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Earthbound B&B(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yotclub B&B(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thabile Lodge(Oudtshoorn)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
575
52
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
575
52
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightguest housefantastic hostslovely couplecango cavesold friendson arrivalb bsoff street parkingfriendly ownersplaces to visitsense of humourlocal restaurantssecure parkinglocal knowledgegarden routehomemade jams
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Thank you Zoe and Hugh for a wonderful stay. Clean rooms and the beds had wonderful Linen. Breakfast was great. It was Lovely sitting on the veranda. The B& B is on the main road and so close to everything. A perfect address for enjoying Oudtshoorn. Will recommend it. As one revue said : we arrived as guests and left as friends!

Room Tip: We were in room 1 and was fabulous. Spacious and quaint.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This overnight stay exceeded our expectations. On arrival we were met by Huw who made us fell very, very welcome and was an absolute fountain of knowledge and advice on everything from restaurants; sights seeing & everything else!! Room was very comfortable and well furnished. Breakfast was something else! served on the patio we had a FULL breakfast finished off with lovely homemade muffins and jams made by Zoe. both Huw & Zoe made a point of having a friendly chat with all guests. Arrived as strangers left as Friends!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HechterPJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Simply perfect. We felt not like guests but like longtime friends. Great breakfast, nice, spacious and quiet rooms. Huw and Zoë take care about all your needs.
And they will always remember you when it is beer o'clock!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I haven't stayed in any other guest house in Oudtshoorn but I just cant see how anyone could beat 88 to the number one position!

If you want super clean, comfortable, accessible and charming... and only want to pay peanuts - then stay here. Zoe and Hugh really could command more for what they provide but I really think that its not all about money for them - they just thrive on being great hosts! Zoe had us laughing from the moment we arrived - a great sense of humour that immediately puts you at ease.

I had been unwell for a few days prior to arriving and woke up realising I did need a doctor - Zoe sprang into action and had me booked in with her GP within an hour (who was much better than mine!) As we left Hugh advised on various places to stop on our route. You were right Hugh the milk shakes at the Blue Cow were sublime - so was the cheesecake!

Room Tip: Book one of the rooms with the little verandas outside.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Really wonderful welcome. Very cosy and tidy. Well worth the money.
Zoe and Hue are professionals at this.When we arrived we got a huge welcome with things to do, places to visit and even places to eat. Breakfast is yum.Pool area in lovely. If you book this you will want to come back again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jandm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews