We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Spot in Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Long overdue review...my wife and I visited Asara in Oct 2010 for our honeymoon and we had a fantastic stay at the estate! Rooms were spacious, comfortable and had the most awesome views. Breakfast was unbeatable especially when you're surrounded by open countryside, lakes and towering mountains in the background. The wines were also pretty good even though they were relatively more expensive than the surrounding estates.

We also rented bicycles from the reception to cycle around the estate and it was a great way to work off those calories especially after so much eating and drinking. Although I wont advice cycling after wine tasting :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YongBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 668 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at the Asara Hotel for one night on our way to Franschhoek and were extremely happy with our choice. We were upgraded to the Bell Tower Suite for no extra cost which was the size of a house!

The staff are extremely very attentive and not intrusive offering a top quality customer service and are able to recommend wine farms in the area. Would highly recommend a stop over here. Even if you don't decide to do the wine tasting at Asara it is a very good base to visit other wine farms with excellent views.

The only very small down side was that the food could have been slightly more exciting.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samloujohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Relais & Chateau have standards, they have obviously not done an inspection at Asara for a long time as the service and attitude at Asara certainly don't meet these minimum standards. We have been to Asara regulaly over the past year and after every visit we leave more dissapointed than the last. The service standards drop every time. I can't comment on the hotel, only the various restaurants. After our last visit last week, we won't be back. Waiting 20 minutes just to get a menu then another 15 mins just for a wine list then another 15 mins for drinks is ludicrous. There were only 2 waiters on duty (on a busy Friday evening) and every table around us was grumbling about how long they had to wait and complaining about the complete lack of service and no manager to be seen. After waiting a long time between rounds of drinks both at the bar and / or for a waiter and then another 30 minutes for our bill we eventually went inside to get it ourselves and asked to speak to the manager. The manager evetually came out of his office and when confronted about the lack of service and why he had not even bothered to help the staff or even venture outside to where all the patrons were he was completely not interested in our complaint or the other patrons complaints and simply told us to leave. The manager should clearly not be in the hospitality industry and needs a few lessons in customer service and interaction.

The estate still has amazing views and a great location but there are just as beautiful settings / estates in Stellenbosch where the service and attitude of management is far superior.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank TwicksTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Just been at Asara for the last 3 nights and while the staff seem a little stretched the moral is obviously very good. The manager Kielan was superb in handling our requests and nothing seemed too much trouble. Checking and checkout went smoothly even though the hotel seemed to be exceptionally busy.

The room decor is a litte dated but the rooms were very clean. Food was good, but not exceptional as was service. The food was above average, service polite, the maintenance seemed to be very good and the pool on Saturday was clean and well attended.


At the rates they charge (booking.com) this was fantastic value for money the best of our South African trip.

The deli serves excellent cakes, coffee's and chocolates. Sansibar was good although very busy and a smoking bar!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed for 1 night after getting a reasonable rate online/also chosen for the ratings on here, doesn't live live up to the hype unfortunately.
So good:
- beautiful setting and grounds with exceptional views and a close location to Stellenbosch.
- efficient and friendly check in but you can't help but notice the staff are a little overworked, one we notice had done a 14 hour shift and it showed in her attitude.
- good service in getting bags to the room/having your car ready for you
- our original room was comfortable and well appointed. Note our original room, this is where it gets interesting.
Not good:
- freezing cold swimming pool despite advertising a heated pool
- broken walls in a cold steam room which is an opener to the general lack of standards throughout the complex
- lack of towels around the pool
- add tourism tax onto your bill which is completely unusual for any South African trip. When questioned, they say this is managements decision
- our original room's doors didn't close or lock properly
- you could hear the room next door using their toilet very clearly.....!
- the roof leaked with a loud dripping noise which forced us to phone and complain. They sent someone along to investigate who were then quite adamant in saying they couldn't move us to another room as the hotel was full, so suggested moving the bed instead! After refusing to do this I said they better find us another hotel to stay in for the night. After 20 minutes, they miraculously found a vacant room in the hotel. It happened to be the suite which was impressive. A 3 storey house with lounge/huge bathroom and seperate floor for the bedroom. Couldn't help but notice though they were extremely reluctant to put us in there. They even sent someone along at 7am the next morning to wake us up (without our permission!) with the offer of some water, very very annoying. They wouldn't even give us a key to the room, it was almost like they were doing us a favour. Despite a night in a suite, the way it was handled left a bitter taste. We still ended up paying the whole bill despite highlighting these points to a manager who frankly could not be less interested
- breakfast was disappointing, while having to repeatedly ask for various items. The buffet was not stocked or replenished regularly enough.
Overall a thoroughly disappointing experience considering the prices they charge/5* experience on offer. They are clearly overwhelmed by the sheer size of the place and need to sort out their management quickly before this place loses its rating. You can normally trust the South African tourist agency ratings but something has gone wrong here. The place almost seems too 'up itself' to care. I have also mailed the SA tourist agency to highlight them of this. AVOID this place if you can, there is better in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.6 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,948 reviews
4.9 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.5 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
647 reviews
7.8 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#2 of 17 in Stellenbosch
635 reviews
6.7 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: RM706 - RM2,722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara is a 5-star hotel, set on a 180-hectare wine estate, in the heart of the Cape Winelands. The hotel offers warm hospitality, luxury accommodation, and the finest in food and wines - at highly competitive rates. A major feature of the hotel is its unique location on the Polkadraai Hills just outside of Stellenbosch, which affords stunning views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains, and creates a relaxed, get-away atmosphere. Asara is situated just 4kms from Stellenbosch and 25kms from Cape Town International Airport, making it ideal as a base from which to discover and explore the fabulous Cape Winelands, and further afield in the Western Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing