We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment! Have”

Rust en Vrede Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 276 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Contemporary fine dining within Rust en Vrede Wine Estate’s historic former cellar (also a national monument), where the front-and-centre kitchen, fine stemware and bespoke crockery enhance creative four- and six-course menus. A comprehensive winelist carries wide local and international selections, leaving little to be desired.
Reviewed 5 March 2021 via mobile

What a disappointment! Have had many good meals previously. 6 course wine pairing. Now they only wet your glass with wine and the portions became way to small even with fine dining and no attention to detail. Poor presentation. 12.5% service fee on this standard is not acceptable. Good service equals good tip. Way over priced on this standard. 3 x desserts on a 6 course meal very unusual.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank annelizey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2020 via mobile

After a great afternoon and winemakers lunch in the tasting room, we just had to go for the real deal - the Restaurant at Rust en Vrede.
We arrived on a beautiful late afternoon and had pre drinks outside. This is where our service problems started as I had to get up to find someone to take an order for our drinks. Even then we were left alone and eventually had to get up and asked to be taken to our table. We saw our waiter/s twice that evening - when we placed our order and when it was delivered to our table. We even had to ask for the bill at the end of the evening.
Despite that hickup - which I am sure is not their norm as the service in the tasting room the previous week was top class - I have to give them 5 stars. The food - what we came for - is Michelin quality. The wines - although pricey - world class. Ambiance the best in the world.
Go spoil yourselves there twice or 3 times a year. The money you pay for the experience will stay with you a lifetime.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank altenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2020 via mobile

A must visit if you are in the area,so much history and culture,details of the food,excellent,we will be back

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank coen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2020

From start to finish, this restaurant is OUT OF THIS WORLD! We enjoyed it so much last year, that we returned this year, and it is better than ever!
Well done team! I am yet to experience anything close to this calibre, anywhere else in the world!

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank welltravelledc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020 via mobile

Have visited Rust en Vrede many times for lunch and will continue to do so, but please bring back the triple cooked chips. Its no place for oven chips.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank danieballitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rust en Vrede Restaurant also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Rust en Vrede Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.