We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude members!”

Stellenbosch Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stellenbosch Golf Club celebrated its centenary in 2004. This, the 4th oldest Golf Club in South Africa, changed from a 9 hole golf course to the current 18 hole championship lay-out in 1953. This magnificent golf course has hosted some of South Africa's most prestigious golf tournaments, including the 1999 South African Open and 5 South African Masters tournaments. Situated at the foot of the majestic Helderberg mountains on the outskirts of Stellenbosch, a town that is also home to one of South Africa's most revered universities. Stellenbosch Golf Club offers golfers an immaculate golf course, complemented by a warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We arrived after booking online to find no tee time but not to worry we could play anyway! Told we would have to wait for a buggy as they were still out from the morning. Had to pay full rate not what was quoted online. Had to wait basically in a queue for a buggy and one arrived approximately 20 minutes after our original tee time. Told numerous times this never happened before but due to more seniors turning up in the morning it threw everything, on looking at other reviews this is clearly not true. The course was in very poor condition, the t boxes very scabby and the fairways in places bare! They made no mention of the work taking place on the course, there were diggers and dust on at least two holes. We started at the tenth so finally getting to the first, we waited to tee off - the pace of play was awful. Anyway long story short a German member at the club arrived and basically barked at me that he was next and that we were teeing off out of turn as he had been following the people in front. This was not the case, my husband and I had followed this group for 9 holes - he was very aggressive with me and in effect called me a liar - so he teed off with his group in front of us. We had to cut short our round as we ran out of time. Would I recommend stellenbosch golf club not on your life it was truly a horrid experience from start to end!

Thank Yvette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear Yvette,

Sad to hear about your experience at Stellenbosch GC, we always go out of our way to make every golfers experience memorable here. Unfortunately I don't know to what online booking system you are revering to, I am glad that we could accommodate you in the end. Historically February has always been a very busy month on all courses in the area. On the course, I must say that we are receiving far more positive feedback than negative. A decision was taken to focus on the greens and surrounding areas, as we feel this is the most importuned area to golfers. As you may or may not be aware, the Western Cape is experiencing a serious drought at the moment. That is then also the reason we are enlarging the dam on the 16th hole that you are revering to. We did have notices up all over the club regarding the work. (a dam unfortunately can only be built in summer)
It does sadden me to hear about the behavior of the other golfers on the course that made the day even worse!
I would like to apologizes for all that you went through and can promise you this is not what we want our guest to experience. I would love you to please come and visit us again as my guest so I can show you what a wonderful experience you can have at Stellenbosch GC.

Regards,
Louis Destroo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"halfway house"
in 4 reviews
"round of golf"
in 4 reviews
"pizza"
in 8 reviews
"south africa"
in 2 reviews
"clubhouse"
in 15 reviews
"drought"
in 4 reviews
"tees"
in 3 reviews
"shop"
in 4 reviews
"menu"
in 3 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2017

Quite disorganised. We booked for 2.00pm but were put down to play at 2.30pm so had quite a wait. There were also no golf buggies available so we were told to start playing and they would bring one out when one came free. However, after some complaining a buggy arrived at the first for us. The pace of play was very slow, taking two and a half hours for nine holes and we decided not to carry on for eighteen holes as we were due out for dinner at 8.00pm. The greens were in good condition but the fairways were very patchy, not only due to lack of water, they were completely lacking grass in some places.

A shame to have to report a poor experience as the club house is lovely, but off our list for next year.

Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear Judith,

Never nice to start at the back of a busy day! Apologies for the late start, but sometimes things does go wrong and there are delays in a field. I cannot agree more that it is never nice to wait but it has happened to us all, in many different place in live ie. airports, doctors rooms and restaurants to name but a few. Although two and a half hour as per you email does seem long, we allocate two hours ten minutes for 9 holes. Taking the heat into considerations with many golfer choosing to walk rather than drive it can slow things down. Glad to hear that you did get a golf cart in the end and hope that you would join us for a round again. Please contact me and I will assist with the time and day of the booking, making sure that the next round goes much faster...

All the best,
louis Destroo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Great atmosphere around the club house, and wonderful layout of the golf course.

The greens were in excellent condition and we had great fun.

Due to water restrictions, the fairway was a bit brown

We did play with 3 caddies and they were all good!:)

1  Thank Fredrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi Fredrik,
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your round of golf. We have been working hard to keep the course and our greens in shape during the summer season. We do however hope you will be back to play again soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff and appealing Club House.
Good pro shop.
The place in dry but acceptable condition. Straightforward more the old traditional course without any unsolvable obstacles. On number 8 you can make reservations for halfway.
For me a play again course.
Prices on an acceptable level, fair value.

Thank mktripadvidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi mktripadvidor,
Thank you for the feedback from your time here at Stellenbosch GC. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your day out and we hope to see you back again in the near future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Old Golf course with no water .
Fairways very poor condition !!
Old style and not good to play .
Need renovation and water for all course.
NO GRASS - NO GOLF

Thank DragoFico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch_GC, Manager at Stellenbosch Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Drago, Stellenbosch GC is the 4th oldest club in SA so you are 100% that we are old and very proud of it, with a extremely proud history. In the past we have host numerous big tournaments, including the SA Open and SA Master. The Western Cape is experiencing an terrible drought at the moment with very strict water restrictions. We made the decision to focus on our green complexes and tee boxes as these are the most importuned areas to enjoy a round of golf.
Apologies for your not so nice experience, but hope you understand the situation better now and that we can one day welcome you back to Stellenbosch GC.
All the best,
Stellenbosch GC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stellenbosch Golf Club also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Koelenhof, Stellenbosch
 

Been to Stellenbosch Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing