We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This past weekend my husband and I enjoyed 2 nights at River Manor Boutique Hotel & Spa in Stellenbosch in the Cape Winelands. A lovely old manor house with beautifully manicured gardens, warming fires indoors and approachable staff, we found the hotel a lovely spot for a weekend break.

Our room was spacious, with modern amenities while also being a little old fashioned - which I loved! We had breakfast each morning - great selection of continential and cooked, but one of the highlights was the spa treatment - a half hour back massage with 15 minutes of reflexology. Really a treat!

Stellenbosch also was great to wander around - have been there so many times, but to just chill out with no agenda was great. We went wine tasting and 'marketing' at Blaauklippen Estate, bought local wines, went to movies and went out to dinner at two great restaurants - Umami especially was lovely.

But River Manor was really relaxed, lovely to chill out at and great for a romantic getaway or weekend break :)

Room Tip: We had the top story rooms which were really spacious and out of the way - nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 384 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Location: on a leafy street in central Stellenbosch. Beware when driving around this town. Very deep drainage gulleys to the sides of the road. Easy walk into town from this hotel, and quite safe even during darkness. This is a university town.

Description: beautiful hotel formed by 2 houses being joined together. Grand old style of property.

Parking: at front, could be cramped, though space for about 7 cars. Not secure but probably quite safe. Back in with nose facing outwards to make an easy access.

Rooms: we were in the honeymoon suite at the front on the top floor. It was very nice. I would think all the rooms here are good.

Facilities: two pools in garden settings. Spa treatments available. Dinner served within the main building and was quiet, but nice. Free internet available by use if a laptop. Nice outside undercover lounging areas.

Staff: really nice / discreet. Justin is the manager come host and is excellent. He will help you to choose places in town, guide you where to go etc. Most helpful, particularly when moving on and how best to go.

Summary: really good choice in Stellenbosch. Ideally placed for town. Justin will point out some restaurants, one being an Italian tucked up an alley that was very good only about 10 minutes walk away. Nice town to have a walk around. Take your time as there are a number of interestng features to this town which are easily missed. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear John,

Thank you for your review! We really do appreciate detailed reviews such as this, which gives readers a better picture of what to expect! Just to elaborate on a few points mentioned:

1. The drainage gullies throughout the town are actually national monuments as they were built way back to supply water to the town from the dams in the mountains around us.

2. There are in fact two parking bay areas at River Manor, supplying enough off street parking for all of our guests. You may have just been aware of the main entrance parking and we do apologise if additional parking bays were not pointed out to you.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope that you will return again one day!

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had a fantastic stay at river manor. Justin was a wealth of knowledge, finding places for us to visit that were just perfect. Nothing was too much trouble and it made our stay a very happy one! The room was beautiful, I loved the pools and there was a beautiful communal veranda as well with candles and blankets. I also loved the sweets in our room! Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Hannah,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us and we are thrilled that you left us with wonderful memories to take back home!

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

From the minute we arrived at the "River Manor" we were greeted by such friendly staff, who when they discovered we were celebrating our 50th Anniversary really spoilt us.Justin the Manager made our stay so special and also phoned to the next hotel we were going to and told them about us. Again we had wonderfull treatment.
Thanks Justin

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjcorfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivermanor, General Manager at River Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of River Manor! We are so glad to hear that we could contribute towards wonderful memories as you celebrate 50 years of marriage!

Kind regards,

Justin Mitchell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We were booked into this hotel by a holiday company and didn't know what to expect. What a delight! Great location, lovely rooms, very attentive staff and 2 fabulous wee pools to lie by and enjoy the sun. The hotel is very close to the centre of Stellenbosch making it easy to walk out in the evening to get to one of the many town centre restaurants. It is also easy to find if you are driving in and out of Stellenbosch.
We stayed 2 nights and will definitely go back if we visit South Africa/Cape Town again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are noisy in the early morning. There is a school opposite and classes start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.3 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
8.9 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,947 reviews
0.3 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
414 reviews
0.4 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
881 reviews
1.2 km away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#4 of 115 in Stellenbosch
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 6 The Avenue, Stellenbosch 7602, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: RM624 - RM1,361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Manor Boutique Hotel is located in the very heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our unbeatable location is within easy walking distance from everything that the historic oak-lined town has to offer. Housed in two adjacent manor houses and set in a landscaped garden on the banks of the Eerste River, we offer discerning travellers an unforgettable experience in a gloriously romantic environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your River Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Manor Boutique Hotel And Spa
River Manor Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing