We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, but portions are slightly small ”

Ocean Terrace Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 71 Restaurants in Candidasa
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Description: The restaurant is an open-sided pavilion where guests can see the Indian Ocean and The Nusa Penida Island from different angle. Open daily from 07.30 - 24.00
Restaurant details
Description: The restaurant is an open-sided pavilion where guests can see the Indian Ocean and The Nusa Penida Island from different angle. Open daily from 07.30 - 24.00
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

For the price you pay, compared to other local restaurants, the portions are pretty small. The breakfast options are very good and are of a good standard. Food is cooked well, and the staff are very friendly and pleasant. The view from the terrace is truly beautiful. I would recommend having the fried chicken in Thai sauce, but order extra rice! As the rice portions are really small.

Thank Hormuz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Ocean Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Homez A,

Thank you very much for the positive comment regarding the food and the friendliness of our staff. We appreciate your constructive feedback with regard to the portioning of the food which we will review it and make the adjustment. On your next visit please let us know should you require some rice instead of bread. We will be pleased to provide you the rice without additional cost.

Best regards,
Gede Widia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Have been staying at this resort, the food for breakfast is excellent, with a wide choice of juices and fruit, fresh omelettes made to order, standard bain marie dishes and lots of other bits and pieces, all with a beautiful view of the sea and Lombok from the terrace. Pinch yourself, you are not dreaming...We have eaten there for two meals at night. One was when we arrived quite late and decided to eat there, good food but quite expensive for what you get, and toned down in flavour, probably for European tourists who dont eat chillies on everything like some of us do. A beer here is 2-3 times the going price at other places in the street, but you get a superb view to go with it. A dreamy romantic setting. All in all this is a great place to stay, will be coming back, the staff are wonderful, but you can get some far more interesting food at the small warungs nearby.
The rooms at the Candi Beach resort are stunning. The place is spotlessly clean, everyone smiles, and we even got a free room upgrade to one with a private pool. This is a seriously good place to stay. So a 5 (or a 6 if there was one!) for accommodation and helpfulness, but a 4 for food (high quality but a bit boring, targeting a German market by the menu) and slightly high prices. Still, brilliant. Suggestion.....for a few dollars per meal, try eating at the little restaurants along the street...you wont be disappointed, the food is "safe" and delicious.

Thank owloAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Ocean Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear owloAustralia,

Thank you very much for your positive comments on the breakfast, friendliness of our staff, and the accommodation. Thank you for your understanding on the price setting as we offer different ambience compared to other restaurants in the area however we do take note your valuable input to have more spicy food on the menu. I am not sure if you have tried the other restaurant, Biru Restaurant where we serve Indonesian and Asian food which tend to be more spicy. If not you may try next time.
At the moment 50% of our clients are from Germany and we have a good mix of other nationalities for the rest. We are keen in increasing the share of the Australian market therefore we really appreciate your feedback and will look into this for improvement.

Best regards,
Gede Widia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

i went there at the end of august while in Candidasa and was surprising that i found a very delicious suckling pig here ( i though it was on Ubud only hahaha ). The view was amazing, blue sea and sky is the most i wanted to have in Bali, while there are also has nice greenery view on site. The atmosphere is good and the staff and Manager Anton was really nice and welcoming. He make sure our meals are okay and got the best service for us. Well done, thank you for all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Ocean Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Alexandra B,

Thank you for your visit and for dining at our restaurant. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the meal especially having the suckling pig. We also appreciate your positive comment on the setting of the restaurant with the stunning view to the ocean. It is also pleasing to hear that our team has provided you the best service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Gede Widia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We loved the place, quite and spectacular garden view and sea view. The ocean restaurant at Candi beach villa were we seated in terrace has amazing cool brezze . Service was good and staff (Sri &Eka) really friendly also the food was good too. Recommended for trip advisor member to try this place

Thank Ant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Ocean Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Ant T,

Thank you very much for your positive review on your dining experience at our Ocean Terrace Restaurant. I am happy to read your comment and have shared this with Sri and Eka and they were very happy and motivated to hear your positive feedback. Thank you for recommending us to the others. We really appreciate it and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Best regards,
Gede Widia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We went there following different reviews and it was definitely worth a visit! One of our best memories of our overall trip to Bali. The place it self is very peace full and nicely arranged. The service was professional, at a good place and not too present at the same time also of course the food was delicious! It was so good that we went again the next day. We had Babi Guling dish in Ocean Restaurant special event every Tuesday "East meet West" so well cooked and tasty. Thus dish to be recommended, which make them a real experience. . Highly recommended if you like excellent food!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Su J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Ocean Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Su J,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the food that we served especially the famous Balinese pork dish "Babi Guling". We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Gede Widia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Terrace Restaurant also viewed

 
Candidasa, Karangasem
 

Been to Ocean Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing