We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located but noisy and with not a very polite and helpful staff”
Review of Borges Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borges Hostel
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Average room in a well located (but noisy) street.
The service was below average : the room was not cleaned during our stay. Moreover, we couldn't take the breakfast on the last day, because they were very late (more than half an hour). The staff was not sorry at all and even a bit impolite.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sconst_840127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2016

I will agree the staff are great and this hostel has a great laid back vibe. Beautiful court yard and reasonable priced drinks.

The place does not in any way resemble the pictures. It is very run down and facilities are in bad disrepair. We didn't even have a shower curtain in our washroom so it was a delight to wake up to a soaked floor. The kitchen is dirty pretty filthy even by hostel standards and the common areas could use a good scrub. We have stayed in strictly hostels in the last 2 months and this by far was the dirtiest.

If you need a reasonably priced room and like a few drinks every now and again with a good crowd and are not picky by all means stay here. It's livable. If you prefer something with a bit of comfort and peace and quiet this may be one to avoid. We survived but it wasn't on the highlight reel!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

It's a little loud, but aren't all hostels? The staff is friendly and hang out on the patio with guests in the evenings. The showers aren't great, but they have an elevator. I had my own room, then I returned later with a friend and we had a room with two beds...quite small but I had chosen to stay again because I enjoyed it. I recommend this place.

Room Tip: Don't get the single room that backs up to the back patio...Guests stay up until 3:00/4:00AM eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank k8etravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Borges Hostel has some surprising entertainment in the middle of the night. While you try to sleep. Two out of three nights, some imbecile started playing repetitive blues and singing on the top of his voice at 4-5 o clock in the morning. I wish i read some reviews before because there are already complaining people a year ago. This is so disrespectful to your customers when have a silence curfew from 12:00-07:00.
Besides that our first room had a broken toilet seat and no shower curtain so the whole batroom was like a river after a shower.
Been in lot of hostels all over the world but this kond of behaviour i never experienced. I think they should kock this guy and his drunken friends out otherwise they will get what karma they represent.
Choose a nother one please this is such a great neighborhood. Your sleeping place should fit that. Good luck finding a better option. Peace.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kdelouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Pictures are misleading.
Breakfast served very late. In weekend at 9:00 but in fact it was served at 9:30.
Sanitary was poor. We had to change the room because it was broken.
Then the worst was that in the middle of the night, at 4:30 pm, some ridiculous narcissistic clown started performing on his guitar as if he were in a stadion. You could here the neighbors shouting at him from their bedroom windows. Very embarrassing. And of course we woken as well, 2 days in a row.
Staff seemed only interested in them selves.
Location is good. That's all...

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sunondeju3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#50 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,491 reviews
Palermo
Malevo Murana Hostel
Malevo Murana Hostel
#42 of 471 in Buenos Aires
10 reviews
Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
#11 of 471 in Buenos Aires
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
#1 of 471 in Buenos Aires
101 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 471 in Buenos Aires
730 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
#10 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borges Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borges Hostel

Address: Calle Paraguay 4539 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires C1425BSO, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 471 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: RM98 - RM131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Palermo Soho, the vanguard culture and design neighborhood, Borges Design Hostel sits on a wide and warm house builded in late's 1920. The perfect location to explore and enjoy the argentinian culture, but also really near of the wide nightlife in Palermo! Borges offers to you the whole package of services to please your traveller needs, making the Borges experience unbeatable: Internet Wi-Fi, bar & lounge, kitchen for the hosts, TV room, parrilla, and more. Ready for the "mate" afternoons and "asado" nights? Come and share with us the best of Argentina tradition weekly in the activities that we arrange. We have a cheff cooking specially for you tradicional dishes! The true argentinian expirience. We are aware that best things in life are often hidden in the simplest things. We try to guest you in a in a really homely way, we want you feel in the most comfortable and hospitable way. The whole idea of this is you feeling like home while traveling! We'll say you'll have also an Argentinian home... We invite you in the afternoons to have some mates and share with friends, to share your trip experience with us, to cook the foods you like the most or whatever your people cook, to hang your artwork and art crafts and, definitely, to play and share your music! Put a bit of real Argentinian style to your trip, a good wine, a parrillada with friends, culture, art and music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borges Design Hotel Capital Federal District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing