We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice budget hotel in central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Buenos Aires
Ranked #63 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel in central location”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

As said above, in walking distance to the most central places, acceptable prices, clean comfortable rooms in an aging building but good in shape. Stayed there twice during our 6 weeks long Argentinian trip (arrival and the last days) and were given an upgrade to a suit at our second stay (had their MAS card).
Main negative: They charge hefty fees for internet access which I regard as inacceptable.
Also had the same negative experience twice with the reception: Asked for a late check-out and got one. Next day found out it wasn't entered in their computer.Later found out also the room keys had to be reprogrammed to enter the room after noon (nobody told us). Asked at second time to reprogramme the keys and got as answer: Not necessary. Of course I couldnt access the room next day again !!! Just unbelievable !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joys_R_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    815
    211
    46
    9
See reviews for
308
774
87
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

clean and safe place; excellent service, stylish; nice area in front of the hotel with lots of bars, cafés and restaurants

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were staying at the Melia prior to embarkation on a cruise ship. Fortunately, it is only a short drive to the cruise terminal from the hotel.
The Melia is a fine hotel, with excellent prompt service available at the front desk. The dining room is very good and the bedroom very comfortable. Room service was also prompt and the presentation and quality of the food very good. The only issue we had was that the room was a trifle cool and the aircon control did not seem as responsive as we would have liked. We appreciated the appropriately priced access to the internet and the basement gymnasium and pool. The bathrooms adjacent were of first quality. There were saunas there also but we did not use them. We definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: For us, 'good rooms' are quiet non-smoking rooms and that it what we asked for and received.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I liked the hotel, very clean, very nice people, we took the luxe room, which was great, nice room, clean with all facilities and a good breakfast included, concluding we had a great time.

Room Tip: I believe that all the rooms are ok, because there's not a lot of traffic in the hotel street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticha34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, Df
Level Contributor
150 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here 4 nights on business - company chose the hotel. The location is pretty good for the Microcentro and access to e.g. San Telmo and Puerto Madero. The Microcentro is the shopping area and tends to be heavily polluted, though this didn't affect our stay in this hotel.
The room (we were on the 9th., top floor with veranda) was a good size and comfortable but a tad tired. A/C was either on or off - no temperature control. But it was very comfortable and quiet. Service was also very good throughout the hotel. Breakfast was good if uninspiring.
Internet on the 9th floor was poor - fluctuating connection, and you had to pay for it. It was a weakness.
I'd actually give this 3.5 stars - good place for a weekend break, for example

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffStranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
#43 of 451 in Buenos Aires
861 reviews
San Nicolas
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
#44 of 451 in Buenos Aires
670 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#46 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Collection Buenos Aires Lancaster
Recoleta
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Melia Recoleta Plaza
#35 of 451 in Buenos Aires
708 reviews
Retiro
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
#101 of 451 in Buenos Aires
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenos Aires

Property: Melia Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Buenos Aires
#20 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#27 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#37 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#48 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#65 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price range (per night): RM387 - RM744
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few blocks from Puerto Madero and the Colon Theater, in downtown, Melia Buenos Aires is the best choice to stay in Argentina's capital city, thanks to its prime location in the heart of the city, its luxurious and comfortable facilities, quality of services and an exquisite personalized service. Among its services and facilities, Melia Buenos Aires offers 209 comfortable and spacious rooms; different dining spaces: Restaurant Azorin, Gongora Lobby Bar, Machado Cafe, La Terraza. Internet access (Wi-Fi) high speed (*); Free Business Center with 3 computers, printer and fax; Spa with heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, full gym, massages and beauty treatments; parking and a modern Congresses and Conventions Center 9 meeting rooms, 7 with natural light and capacity up to 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing