We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - could easily be made "good" if management pay attention to customer comments, but not there yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Krista Hotel Boutique
Ranked #102 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We booked Krista on the back of the Tripadvisor reviews. Our expectations were high, as the other three hotels we stayed at on our trip - all chosen using Tripadvisor - were excellent. Having arrived from El Calafate, where we stayed at the excellent Los Sauces, we found Krista disappointing.

Perhaps it is not fair to compare it to the ultra-lux Los Sauces, as Krista does not lay claims to luxury. However, it misses some basic comforts that you would expect at this price point.

It is very noisy: the echoy halls and patios devoid of soft furnishings bounce he slightest sound all over the building. The walls between rooms are surprisingly thin for such an old building: I was woken up in the middle of the night by the bathroom sounds and was about to moan at my boyfriend when I realised that he was sound asleep, and the noise came from the next door room!

The only window in the room lead onto the internal patio, so there is no source of fresh air. There are no air con controls in the room, it is controlled centrally. The room gets very stuffy during the night, and there isn't much you will be able to do about it. Oh, and guests are allowed to smoke on internal patios (even roofed ones), and the smell gets into rooms.

On the subject of cerntral control: for some reason, the guests do not get keys to the front door and have to ring a bell. On two occasions we were left waiting for about 5 minutes, and with the reception desk hidden out of the view, we were standing there in the middle of the might with no certainty of being able to get in, which is not a nice feeling.

There was no bottled water provided with the room: I am sure BA tap water is safe to drink, but it is not very nice, and we were on a different continent from our own and did not want the risk of our trip being interrupted by stomach upsets.

The rooms were cleaned daily, but unsympathetically: anything left on the bed would be chucked in a pile on top of our suitcase, including our travel-sized Tempur pillows.

The breakfast was very basic, with hardly any choice.

On the bright side, the food that was available at breakfast was of fine quality. Staff are friendly and helpful. The period building is very nice, and decor - interesting, even if a bit Spartan and not exactly in keeping with the building. There is not much management can do about the noisiness and other issues which are integral to the building, but quality of guests' stay can be significantly improved by more attention to their creature comforts.

The hotel has some strong things going for it, unfortunately they are counter-balanced by the negatives, resulting in the "average" overall rating. Management can very easily, at little cost, improve it to "good" wih a little thought and effort.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crismarsden, Gerente at Krista Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

I would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.
Regarding the noise, I think it was due to your stay in a Superior room, the only room category with a connecting door to the next room. This connection has 2 doors to avoid the noise, but I want you to know we are working on this issue and we hope to have a solution in the next future.
With reference to your comment about the internal patios, all of them have an open roof, but after your review we decided to allow the guests to smoke just in the garden.
Concerning the front door, as we have a concierge 24hs, the door is always locked and the guests have to ring the bell. This means we are worried about the security of our guest, not allowing the entrance to anyone. But of course we are going to pay more attention to the front door to avoid unnecessary waiting.
With respect to the air conditioning, the guests are offered to modify the room temperature at their convenience by asking the Front Desk 24hs. You may also be interested to learn that we are working on individual control in each rooms. We expect to be finished in a few months.
I am pleased that you have had a good experience with our staff, we are so proud of all our team members here, and I know they work hard trying to exceed our guest´s expectations.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Buenos Aires was most enjoyable.

Regards

Cristina Marsden
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 129 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

We loved our stay at the Krista Hotel and wish it was longer. With only 10 rooms, we felt that we got individualized attention. The staff was very personable and helpful with directions, suggestions, and making reservations for us. Very unique decor with hardwood floors and high ceilings. Clean. Convenient access to many restaurants in the area. We loved ending the evening in the jacuzzi in the lovely garden patio. On returning to the Krista after having spent ten days traveling to Bariloche and Patagonia, we felt that we had returned "home".

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crismarsden, Gerente at Krista Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for such a warm comment about your stay at Krista Hotel Boutique.
We really appreciate that you took your time share your experience.
With no doubt, our goal is to make our guests feel like home and I am happy to know we did it

We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest.

Best regards,

Cristina Marsden
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This is an absolutely beautiful, elegant, peaceful and professionally run boutique hotel. The attention to detail is everywhere; freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast; your bed turned down in the evening and a chocolate left on the pillow; spacious and very contemporary bathrooms with walk-in showers, bidets and masses of fluffy towels. And everywhere is immaculately clean. The common areas are elegant, spacious, comfortable and cool. There is a Pc with Internet access for guests who travel without their laptops and plenty of books and magazines to leaf through whilst enjoying a Nespresso. The outside courtyard/garden is a delight, the walls bedecked with jasmine and the chairs and sun loungers all have cushions! The staff are very professional but also very friendly, helpful and courteous and you are left with the unmistakeable impression that their sole aim is to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as is possible. I stayed for three nights and I was very sorry to leave. Both the location, Palermo Hollywood with its myriad of restaurants, cafes and bars, and the hotel itself are just perfect!

Room Tip: Room no. 10 is on the first floor at the back of the hotel and is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RojEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 November 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for such a warm comment about your stay at Krista Hotel Boutique.
We really appreciate taht you took your time to write your review and share it with other travellers on this site.

We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest.

Best regards,

Cristina Marsden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed here for one night in August and wished it was for a month. This place is a dream. It's small, it's a bit of a splurge, but it's so luxurious and intimate and beautifully decorated and so well-located and has the friendliest, most accommodating staff, that it makes the price go unnoticed. I cannot rave about it enough - the bed was simply heaven that waking up was pretty much out of the question; the bathroom with the claw-foot bathtub and strong-pressure shower were wonderful; the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and like you were royalty living in a beautiful bedroom in a huge mansion. It's tastefully decorated too, so none of that opulent "regal" design that you see in Recoleta at Alvear Palace -- this is for hip, modern people that want to indulge in luxury in a fashionable way. Let's just say, this isn't your parent's hotel. :) I can see this hotel in Soho NYC -- it's chic and lovely, not luxurious and stuffy. If you can get a room here, stay here!

And, the best restaurants and bars are seconds away. Shoot, now after writing this, I want to go back! haha! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelerInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2011

Dear Guest,

We really thank you very much and appreciate your time and cooperation by writting such a wonderful and rewarding comment.

Looking forward to having you again as our guest in the near future, we remain yours,

Cristina Marsden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Booked the hotel mainly because of the area and some positive reviews on Hotels.com. The tariff was very reasonable and on arrival we were instantly impressed with the gorgeous turn of the century building, and tastefully decorated interior. The hotel has a couple of courtyards and lots of natural light. The rooms are decorated in vintage styke and evokes an early 20th century era in Buenos Aires. despite being 'old fashioned' style, teh room had all modern amenities, flat screen TV, lovely bathroom and excellent free WIFI. IT was quiet at night and slept well. In the morning we enjoyed the breakfast and espresso coffee and then were mad to feel very welcome as we took over a table in the dining room for a few hours to do work. a late check out was no issue and i can't speak highly enough of the service and pleasantness of all the different staff we encountered. A lovely antique boutique hotel that also caters to modern needs and i will definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2011

Dear Guest,

We really thank you very much and appreciate your time and cooperation by writting such a wonderful and rewarding comment.

Looking forward to having you again as our guest in the near future, we remain yours,

Cristina Marsden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Be Hollywood! Boutique Hotel
Be Hollywood! Boutique Hotel
#88 of 444 in Buenos Aires
850 reviews
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#14 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,433 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Vitrum
Hotel Vitrum
#99 of 444 in Buenos Aires
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
1828 Smart Hotel
1828 Smart Hotel
#117 of 444 in Buenos Aires
303 reviews
Palermo
BA Sohotel
BA Sohotel
#116 of 444 in Buenos Aires
448 reviews
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#110 of 444 in Buenos Aires
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krista Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krista Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle Bonpland 1665 | Palermo Hollywood, Buenos Aires C1414CMS, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: RM372 - RM890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Krista Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is placed in a privileged area, in a bohemian and charming neighbourhood, surrounded by very good restaurants and boutiques of Argentine designers. Krista came to be in a house of the early twentieth century with all the grace and charm of that age. The hotel has kept to the original layout of rooms giving on to patios, thus taking maximum advantage of sunlight for all its rooms. The furniture chandeliers and stylish decor also contribute to a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The hotel has 10 exclusive rooms, all of them have bath suite. The elegant decoration, the height of the ceiling, the combination of colors, textures and wood reflects the fine distinction and warmth in right harmony Krista Hotel is a combination of French 'savoir faire'and Argentine tradition, with exquisitely decorated areas, and delicate perfumes, which arouse the senses, inviting the guest to enjoy. The hotel has a lively area for pleasure and rest, where you can enjoy an special therapeutic massage. This is excellent way to relieve your stress. It stands out for the quality of contact expressed through the gentleness and sensivity of the hands, whilst the highest quality pure natural oils are being use. The Hotel has different saloons where you will find elegance, service and consulting at the time to plan a social or business event. They are ideal for business breakfast, lunches, presentations, and small cocktails. The Principal saloon stands out for its French style elegance with delicate moldings on walls, high ceilings, and antique chandeliers lighting up the space. It's communicated with the lobby of the hotel and can be used both spaces at once. The permanent care of every detail makes Krista Hotel Boutique the place to choose for small business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Krista Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing