We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
NH Buenos Aires Florida(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Serena Hotel(Buenos Aires)
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Prince(Buenos Aires)
US$60
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
474 BUENOS AIRES HOTEL(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lafayette Hotel(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Los Cedros(Buenos Aires)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$149
US$144
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Faena Hotel(Buenos Aires)
US$399
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$479
US$440
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$626
US$456
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
376
208
42
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
208
42
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalacio barolorooftop barthe congressthemed hotelgreat hotelstar pricefloor to ceiling windowsgovernment buildingscafe tortonifree upgrademetro stationhistoric hotelcroissantsfourth floorcorner roomcentral baheart of buenos aires
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

The hotel is an amazingly-restored Belle Époque building, located in the heart of downtown Buenos Aires, on av. De Mayo, between the Congreso and the Plaza de Mayo & Casada Rosada. It is within easy walking distance of most of the city's major tourist attractions (the Obelisk and Teatro Colon) and a minor cab ride from the others. The lobby decor, the Art Deco touches and furnishings and even the staff attire bring you back to a by-gone era.
Check in was smooth, friendly and efficient even though it was an extremely busy check-out, check-in day. We arrived early and while our room was not ready, it was made available before the promised time. Our room was also in period decor and while strikingly red and floral themes abounded, it worked. The room was spacious enough and well appointed and even had a small fridge which doubled as both a mini-bar and for personal use.
The bathroom was more spacious than expected with a very large glass walk-in shower. The sink was styled in keeping with the period, but didn't afford much space for personal items. Toiletries were OK, nothing fancy, but the number and quality of the towels left a lot to be desired. In fact the towels were rough, thread-bare and would have been more appropriate for a hostel than a fine boutique hotel. Also, we often had to ask for paper products as the housekeeping staff was not monitoring this. They did supply bottled water every day but it was not obvious at first that it was provided free of charge as it was identical to what was provided for sale in the mini bar. The room had real glasses, that while chipped looked very clean, but they did not provide wine glasses; surprising in the 6th largest wine-producing country. They were available from the restaurant upon request however.
A copious breakfast buffet was included in the room rate and while it did not vary from day to day, it offered a very impressive array of bread products...croissants, Danishes, fruit loafs, 4 types of bread for toast, fresh fruit, cereals, yogourts, nuts and seeds, cold meats, cheeses, scrambled eggs (a little runny), bacon and chorizo. In addition to wonderful coffee (with available hot milk of course), there were teas and juices.
The surprise to this downtown property was the roof-top terrazzo, with happy-hour offered 3 days a week, but which was otherwise quite under-used throughout the day. It offered comfortable loungers (beds really), plenty of tables and chairs, with some shade and was adjacent to a small exercise room.
Front desk staff was always helpful with suggestions for restaurants, tours, transfers etc. and advice of the streets and areas to avoid as tourists. While we were close to busy tourist locations, we were cautioned to take the longer way around by sticking to the main streets after dark and avoiding shortcuts.
Our check-out was smooth and as tourists, we were told we could avoid a hefty VAT (tax) if we paid by credit card. That was welcomed advice.
Overall this hotel offered a unique experience which we highly recommend to anyone travelling to this amazing European-feel city.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tango de Mayo H, Director de Recepción at Tango de Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Dear PeterM:
Thank you very much for choosing us, we hope that your stay with us has been memorable. We appreciate your comment, alway glad to know the opinion of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Florencia Higinio
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

I always stay here when i go to Buenos Aires as the rooms are very comfortable and clean at a very reasonable price and the staff are always very helpful and friendly and they always remember your preferences for meals when you come back second time. Will go back again.

Room Tip: street view rather than back view
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loki_Cusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tango de Mayo H, Director de Recepción at Tango de Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you very much for choosing us, we hope that your stay with us has been memorable. We appreciate your comment, alway glad to know the opinion of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Florencia Higinio
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Hotel Tango de Mayo, has all the right reasons, to spend your vacation, in Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Beautiful hotel, in the best location of the city, very centeral, walking distance to all major attractions, close to all means of transportation,
close to the Hop on, Hopp off bus, very safe nieghborhood.
The hotel is very clean, beautiful roses decor all over, nice furnitures, warm colors.
Beautiful room and confi bed.
Very welcoming and willing to help, front desk.
Bar and music on roof top.
Nice variety of Breakfast daily.
Free WiFi.
Thank you Tango de Mayo, we enjoyed our time at your hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ksbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tango de Mayo H, Director de Recepción at Tango de Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you very much for choosing us, we hope that your stay with us has been memorable. We appreciate your comment, alway glad to know the opinion of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Florencia Higinio
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Great location. We stayed in the suite shown in the pictures, great view, big room, but noisy. The room could use some TLC. The bed was comfortable. WIFI was very good. Walked to Recoleta from our location...We enjoyed the upstairs lounge/bar great views, after a long day of sightseeing. The front end staff was very good (Marina). Breakfast had a good variety...scrambled eggs were too running for me.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Valli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tango de Mayo H, Director de Recepción at Tango de Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you very much for choosing us, we hope that your stay with us has been memorable. We appreciate your comment, alway glad to know the opinion of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Florencia Higinio
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Good location in Buenos Aires. Central to several essential services especially ATM machines and money exchanges. Great rooftop views well worth a visit for a sunset view. Hotel staff very helpful and go the extra mile. Rooms kept nice and clean.

Restaurant part breakfast team were very slow to replace items when food ran out - eg scrambled eggs and plates. Didn’t enjoy an evening meal at the hotel . Service was slow and not cooked well.

However, recommend you eat out and not use the restaurant. Cappuccino was very good.

Hint: staff on front desk were excellent . Anything you need to know ask these staff - made my stay in Buenos Aires

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tango de Mayo H, Director de Recepción at Tango de Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you very much for choosing us, we hope that your stay with us has been memorable. We appreciate your comment, alway glad to know the opinion of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Florencia Higinio
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews