We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
403
217
44
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
217
44
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palacio barolo the congress rooftop bar themed hotel before returning home floor to ceiling windows great hotel in beautiful buenos aires government buildings cafe tortoni metro station historic hotel croissants corner room central location hop on hop off bus noise from the street
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

This is a hotel that looks good in the pictures, but is very low class in reality. It is supposed to be new, but looks really tired and dirty with plaster falling off the walls and dirt accumulated in corners. Their windows are so dirty that one cannot see through them. It is like a hostel rather.
The hotel is located on the cheaper end of Avenida de Mayo where crime is common and it is so noisy at night that windows cannot be opened (they are so grimy you cannot touch them anyways!..).
Breakfast is uninteresting with bad service and dirty coffee cups.
Hotel staff especially Reception team (except Franco who tries hard!..) are awful: rude and condescending to customers.
There is no management around.
We were feeling like fish out of water, then they gave us a good reason to leave early: they wrote a very rude letter to us in very bad english asking us to pay 10 usd for a couple of extra towels!!.. It was a pleasure to leave them early and correct the mistake!!.:)

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank KenyaTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tango de Mayo H, Director de Recepción at Tango de Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Dear:
Tango de Mayo hotel deeply regrets that your stay with us has not been positive. Day by day we work to make each stay a unique and memorable experience, where you can enjoy this beautiful city. We will follow up on the information in your comment.
Again we offer the corresponding apologies for what happened.
Best regards.
Florencia Higinio
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

This hotel suited us perfectly. I reserved direct as they offer 10% off meals. Also if you are a foreigner and pay with a foreign credit card you avoid the 20% vat.
The hotel is in a very safe area ( not far from the Congress) in a pleasant avenue, opposite a metro station and 4 stops to the main Plaza de Mayo( the public transport is amazing value, about 30p a journey or 7.50 A$.- buy one Subte card at the local shops and load up there or at the station with cash, then simply click at the start of the journey. 2 can share one card).
The hotel is also opposite a “ La Continental “ which is a chain of very good and very reasonably priced pizza empanada places.
The hotel has great front desk people who will answer all your tourist questions. Rooms are spacious and masses of hot water in their lovely showers. Breakfasts are very good. For the equivalent of £70 a night it’s a bargain compared to say London.
On our first night we were so tired we went up to their roof bar and had a few beers and light snacks. Nice atmosphere with local office workers enjoying their after work drinks.
Near the hotel is a “ photo museum” run by a trade union as a memorial to Eva Peron. Free and excellent.
We enjoyed amazing steaks at La Cabrera ( Palermo) and Las Parillas(? Spelling) in Thames St, Palermo.
Take advantage of the free walking tours/ Strawberry Tours/ BA Street art tours, book ahead for free entry to the Presidents offices in Casa Rosada and visit their museum free entry.
A great hotel in a very interesting city. You can even practise your tango as the room carpets have “steps” to follow

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WRB_Kawakuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tango de Mayo H, Director de Recepción at Tango de Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you very much for choosing us, we hope that your stay with us has been memorable. We appreciate your comment, alway glad to know the opinion of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Florencia Higinio
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

The hotel is an amazingly-restored Belle Époque building, located in the heart of downtown Buenos Aires, on av. De Mayo, between the Congreso and the Plaza de Mayo & Casada Rosada. It is within easy walking distance of most of the city's major tourist attractions (the Obelisk and Teatro Colon) and a minor cab ride from the others. The lobby decor, the Art Deco touches and furnishings and even the staff attire bring you back to a by-gone era.
Check in was smooth, friendly and efficient even though it was an extremely busy check-out, check-in day. We arrived early and while our room was not ready, it was made available before the promised time. Our room was also in period decor and while strikingly red and floral themes abounded, it worked. The room was spacious enough and well appointed and even had a small fridge which doubled as both a mini-bar and for personal use.
The bathroom was more spacious than expected with a very large glass walk-in shower. The sink was styled in keeping with the period, but didn't afford much space for personal items. Toiletries were OK, nothing fancy, but the number and quality of the towels left a lot to be desired. In fact the towels were rough, thread-bare and would have been more appropriate for a hostel than a fine boutique hotel. Also, we often had to ask for paper products as the housekeeping staff was not monitoring this. They did supply bottled water every day but it was not obvious at first that it was provided free of charge as it was identical to what was provided for sale in the mini bar. The room had real glasses, that while chipped looked very clean, but they did not provide wine glasses; surprising in the 6th largest wine-producing country. They were available from the restaurant upon request however.
A copious breakfast buffet was included in the room rate and while it did not vary from day to day, it offered a very impressive array of bread products...croissants, Danishes, fruit loafs, 4 types of bread for toast, fresh fruit, cereals, yogourts, nuts and seeds, cold meats, cheeses, scrambled eggs (a little runny), bacon and chorizo. In addition to wonderful coffee (with available hot milk of course), there were teas and juices.
The surprise to this downtown property was the roof-top terrazzo, with happy-hour offered 3 days a week, but which was otherwise quite under-used throughout the day. It offered comfortable loungers (beds really), plenty of tables and chairs, with some shade and was adjacent to a small exercise room.
Front desk staff was always helpful with suggestions for restaurants, tours, transfers etc. and advice of the streets and areas to avoid as tourists. While we were close to busy tourist locations, we were cautioned to take the longer way around by sticking to the main streets after dark and avoiding shortcuts.
Our check-out was smooth and as tourists, we were told we could avoid a hefty VAT (tax) if we paid by credit card. That was welcomed advice.
Overall this hotel offered a unique experience which we highly recommend to anyone travelling to this amazing European-feel city.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tango de Mayo H, Director de Recepción at Tango de Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Dear PeterM:
Thank you very much for choosing us, we hope that your stay with us has been memorable. We appreciate your comment, alway glad to know the opinion of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Florencia Higinio
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

I always stay here when i go to Buenos Aires as the rooms are very comfortable and clean at a very reasonable price and the staff are always very helpful and friendly and they always remember your preferences for meals when you come back second time. Will go back again.

Room Tip: street view rather than back view
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loki_Cusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tango de Mayo H, Director de Recepción at Tango de Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you very much for choosing us, we hope that your stay with us has been memorable. We appreciate your comment, alway glad to know the opinion of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Florencia Higinio
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Hotel Tango de Mayo, has all the right reasons, to spend your vacation, in Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Beautiful hotel, in the best location of the city, very centeral, walking distance to all major attractions, close to all means of transportation,
close to the Hop on, Hopp off bus, very safe nieghborhood.
The hotel is very clean, beautiful roses decor all over, nice furnitures, warm colors.
Beautiful room and confi bed.
Very welcoming and willing to help, front desk.
Bar and music on roof top.
Nice variety of Breakfast daily.
Free WiFi.
Thank you Tango de Mayo, we enjoyed our time at your hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ksbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tango de Mayo H, Director de Recepción at Tango de Mayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you very much for choosing us, we hope that your stay with us has been memorable. We appreciate your comment, alway glad to know the opinion of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Florencia Higinio
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews