We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in Buenos Aires”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #189 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 19 June 2009

This hotel is located in the middle of Buenos Aires close to restaurants, clubs, bars. The rooms are very design and clean. However, the walls are very thin, which limit your privacy.
The service is great: breakfast (which is included in the price of the room) and the employees are always ready to help you or advise you.
One of the highlights of this hotel is the free tango lesson in the living-room with professional teachers.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupofcoffee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 335 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2009

Rooney's Boutique Hotel represented everything I expected Buenos Aires to be - elegant, stylish and full of history. The hotel was once the home of a famous poet and the building across the hotel (looking out onto Avenida Callao) was once the home of Eva Peron when she first arrived in Buenos Aires (the tacky double decker bus told me that). Upon entering the building, you are greeted with tall, black iron doors and have to buzz in. Then you can take a really beautiful old style (functions very well, don't worry) elevator or walk up the marble stairs. I personally preferred the elevator because of the interesting patterns the elevator and light would produce on the walls. The interior of the hotel is decorated with French neoclassical pieces mixed in with cool hues of blues, greens and neutrals giving it an overall contemporary feel. The high ceilings and large windows flooded the rooms with light; our stay was sunny and rain free. The dining room (free breakfast), bar/sitting area and an additional sitting area are just a few steps from the reception desk. During our stay, the band "Miranda!" even shot their music video in several of the rooms.

I went on vacation with my parents and my twentysomething-year old brother, I myself am almost 20 so we got 2 rooms - 3&4, one deluxe size, the other a studio. Both rooms were cozy and beautifully decorated. Both also had balconies. The only difference between the two rooms were obviously the size of the room and bathroom. The staff is really warm and inviting and is more than willing to help you, especially Nico - super kind and easy to talk to. The hotel also offers free tango lessons on certain nights which are a lot of fun...such a sexy and sensual dance.

Our amazing hotel experience on top of everything else Buenos Aires had to offer (parillas, empanadas, leather, suade, fur, the artists at malba, amazing graffiti, spanish&french architecture, the spanish language, the prices, uruguay and every neighborhood in Buenos Aires except Puerto Madero....it's a boring neighborhood...) just helped emphasize my great appreciation for the city and left me with great memories. I am definitely going back to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvk610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Had a fabulous stay at Rooney's (five nights at the start of our trip and one at the end). Just loved the stylish period features. The owner Kieran and his staff were incredibly helpful, spoke good English and had lots of advice about where to eat, where to visit and how to get around. The free tango lessons with Horacio & Maria were great fun and a must in BA.

The hotel is very central (within walking distance of most attractions) and we always felt perfectly safe walking around, even in the early hours. The only downside would be some street noise but that's to be expected in a central hotel. Staying here was one of the high points of our trip and we travelled all over Argentina. Highly recommend this for an authentic BA experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Very friendly and helpful staff - Always eager to please.
Room a little noisy due to proximity of reception (the charm of old doors as opposed to modern soundproofed ones!) but not too much of a problem.
Shower tends to spray on bathroom floor, which could be remedied easily - Again not a major problem.
Central location good for visiting all the major spots in BA.
A tad on the expensive side compared to other 'renowned' hotels and don't forget to include the tax in the calculation of your budget/bill as it makes a difference in the end.
Overall a good experience, and we would book again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Rooney`s Boutique hotel was everything we needed: nice and unique rooms, professional staff and closeness to all main attractions. We stayed in superior rooms and both of them (we stayed in 2 different rooms) were fine. We had to leave the hotel twice to travel around the country and they let us leave our baggage and provided us with an early breakfast. Tango lessions were available too, unfortunately we did not attend and surely it was an experience. Also Nicolas recommended us an awsome tango show which we really enjoyed. If I were to choose a hotel in BA, I would definately choose a boutique hotel - Rooney`s boutique hotel. Unfortunately we did not have a chance to see the owner (Kieran) to express our appreciation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangerine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#48 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,527 reviews
Pampa Hostel
#275 of 478 in Buenos Aires
40 reviews
San Nicolás
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#318 of 440 in Buenos Aires
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Cascada Townhouse Hotel
#163 of 260 in Buenos Aires
8 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#47 of 440 in Buenos Aires
3,550 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooney's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooney's Boutique Hotel

Address: Sarmiento 1775 | 3rd Floor, Buenos Aires CP1042, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#59 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: RM 392 - RM 667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rooney's Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few blocks from the Obelisco, Rooney's Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Buenos Aires just off the main avenues of this pulsating city.Located in the former residence of the writer and poet, Leopoldo Lugones and amidst numerous milongas, tango schools, cafes, restaurants and theatres, this exceptional building has long been part of Buenos Aires' cultural landscape.Rooney's Boutique Hotel promises a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere with 14 lovingly designed and individual suites, a lounge bar, cafe and tango patio.Thoughtfully decorated throughout by designer Paula Piatti, we promise you an oasis of calm in a city that never sleeps.The exceptional location and the unique building, combined with free tango classes, make Rooney's Boutique Hotel the ideal choice for visitors who want an insight into the real Buenos Aires.Surrounded by the original milongas, Tango schools, theaters, cafes and restaurantes of Buenos Aires, guests will be able to soak up the rich culture of this fabulous city.Rooney’s also offers packages to its guests so that they can enjoy the best destinations of Buenos Aires and its surrounds during their stay at the hotel. Utilising our intricate local knowledge and mindful of the expectations of our guests, we are able to guarantee that you enjoy Buenos Aires to its full. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Rooneys Boutique
Rooneys Boutique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing