We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel just 10min walking to Cerro Catedral”
Review of Village Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Catedral
Reviewed 31 July 2015

This hotel is located on the street that gives access to Cerro Catedral, so for those planning on skiing everyday, it is just a perfect location. Everyday, during the 10minutes walk to Cerro Catedral, we would see a line of cars waiting to get to the parking lot... and we were so much faster walking!
We arrived just after a big snowstorm, there were 2ft of snow all around, but we were able to get to the hotel on the van (for some other hotels we saw people pulling their bags on the street, I believe the access to those hotels were closed to traffic, but as Village Catedral is on the main street, it was open!).
The hotel is old, and would benefit from some renewals (the beds and mattresses were pretty old, but linens were new, the fridge was noisy and towels could be newer), but our room was big and comfortable. The floor is heated, which was very good for walking barefoot after a day of skiing.
Just note that the reception, the restaurant and the spa are all in separate buildings, so getting from one to another requires to walk on the snow. It does make going to the spa a bit of a hustle... but it was a great experience for the kids to leave the room and be right on the snow!
Staff was very helpful and kind. Breakfast had a lot of options on the buffet and you could order some extras. We had dinner only once there, it was okay. Just across the street there is a small convenience store where we would stop everyday to buy water, some "empanadas" for dinner, and some snacks for the kids.
Overall it was a very good stay, maybe a little overpriced, but it was ski high season and the hotel really has a fantastic location, so I guess it paid out!

Room Tip: I liked staying on the first floor to see the snow covering the windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mtbaraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

We were last summer in Village Catedral and had a very good experience. The appartment was comfortable and clean for my family of six, but it only had one bathroom (but we knew it when we booked it). The recreational activities were really fun: treaking, country day in the lake, treaking at night including traditional meals (the best!), activities for children. There were only some organizational details that we suffered when we went to Steffen lake (a paradise!), but the people were always helpful, and compensate for the inconvenience. The breakfast was buffet type, and it was really good!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The location is good and close to the mountain if you don't mind walking 1/2 mile on a daily basis to the lifts, the rooms are of a good size but with only one bathroom, it's not comfortable at all, specially when traveling with kids, you can also count on very lousy beds & linen, never went to the restaurant, just one look inside was more than enough, the Spa was Ok, what you get at this place is not in concordance with the price paid, go there only if you have no other option.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toolperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

During the weekend the heating system broke out and we lost almost 1 day to go to another hotel. The staff was unorganized. They were not prepared to handle this kind of situations. We got back dissapointed for the issues that we had in the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlmartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The pictures on booking.com are not showing this place. Breakfast 1/10th of what the pic shows, so are the room and the building. I could not sleep properly for the 5 nights we stayed there, the beds were uncomfortable and smallest I've seen. Room is dirty, I like to quickly put my clothes in cupboards and this time I had to stay in my bag for the fear of using the dirty spaces. It is so expensive when compared to some other accomodation that is better. I'm not sure how we ended p there, must be the pics and reviews in "some" websites.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CheerstoExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
10.4 km away
Club Hotel Catedral
Club Hotel Catedral
#45 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
161 reviews
10.2 km away
Galileo Boutique Hotel
Galileo Boutique Hotel
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
238 reviews
5.1 km away
Pailahue Lodge & Cabanas
Pailahue Lodge & Cabanas
#31 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Villa Sofia Resort & Spa
Villa Sofia Resort & Spa
#34 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
331 reviews
5.2 km away
Altos del Nahuel - Bariloche
Altos del Nahuel - Bariloche
#61 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
83 reviews
6.3 km away
La Cascada Hotel
La Cascada Hotel
#47 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Catedral

Address: | Base del Cerro Catedral, San Carlos de Bariloche CP 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 131 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: RM499 - RM875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Catedral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing