We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$152
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$185
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amoa Resort(Savai'i)
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Savaiian Hotel(Salelologa)(Great Value!)
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vacations Beach Fales(Savai'i)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets(Salelologa)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
64
23
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
23
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh tideper nightopen falebreakfast and dinnernice beachmosquito neta family run businessawesome experiencetraditional falefresh fishlovely spotincluded breakfaststayed for nightscoconut rumrelaxing holidaywatertala
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Very basic, great location, nice beach, fantastic food, fantastic food... 40 SAT per night, and you get what you pay for. Clean water, but toilet block amenities filthy. Staff were excellent and fia fia night was very funny and interesting. Ask for an extra matress, take your own snorkelling gear, take a plastic sealed container to keep the mice etc off your own food. Lovely villiage and walks nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed here for a week and had a really wonderful stay. Fales and facilities are clean and basic. Right on the beach with the ocean lapping underneath you which was the perfect lullaby to get you to sleep (although others there complained it was too loud and that they needed ear plugs!). The beach is short for walks but there are good sandy parts amongst the coral making it perfect for swimming.

Apart from a sight seeing trip around the island there isn't much to do which makes it perfect for zoning out from your own every day crazy life with swimming, sleeping, reading etc... People staying here were either basing themselves there for a week or so or stayed a night or two as they drove around the island.

Food is good - they mix it up a bit brekkie is fruit and bread or pancakes or eggs. If I had a sleep in they bought the food to the fale! They throw in lunch as well - usually soup and dinner was a mix of local dishes and Chinese. Other guests had dietary issues and they were very obliging with their requests. Bring your wine and beer (stop at supermarket near the ferry) and they'll pop it in the fridge. There are small shops in each direction from the property for snacks if you need them. Food in fales needs to be in sealed containers or you'll attract animals. The breeze off the ocean meant the mozzies weren't really an issue but I used the spray a few times and slept under the net.

We were treated like family and were very well cared for. We were invited to attend the grandfather's 80th birthday which was very special.

I'd recommend Joelan Beach Fales to anyone. I'll head back next year fore sure to say. Brilliant spot to do nothing but relax.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - and quiet. The ones near the big eating fale are quiet - it's a low key quiet spot (no partying etc...).
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annelouisedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

What wonderfully friendly and eager to please hosts. Beautifully situated Fales right over the ocean with great snorkeling at your feet. Generous fresh and tasty food included in the very reasonable price of 50Sat per person. Take your own snorkeling gear because they dont have any for rent. Load up at duty free before you get to Samoa and you can stash your mixers in the fridge or go to the bar nextdoor because the bar is currently under construction. If you want a relaxing place that's not crowded with tourists then its a great spot with amazing people. Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macpeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Joelan's is great value for money and a wonderful opportunity to experience the real Samoa. You really are treated like one of the family. There are three meals a day, which are pretty much made up with what the locals eat. Make sure you try the coconut jam. There are are two choices of fales, with walls or without. For the extra $30tala a head the walls are worth it. The swimming is great, with a huge area inside the reef. Lots fish and coral and turtles on the full tide. By the time you get there the dining area will be finished and things should be a bit quieter, but you'll miss out on observing the local building styles which includes starting the day with 'ava and a chat. If you're looking for five stars keep driving. If you want a great camping style holiday surrounded by locals who really look after you, some of the best snorkelling in Savaii, and fantastic value, drop into Joelan's

Room Tip: Go for the fales with walls.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glencuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I was really looking forward to staying at Joelans after reading the great reviews. We were there 2 nights. I think our stay was at a bad time as they were in the middle of building the dining area. This meant lots of noise and headaches for our hosts. We had some wind and rain and our fale blinds needed repairs so we had a rough night. The beach is lovely to swim in and the fales are good value as far as generous meals go. The papaya soup for breakfast was yum. I wasn't able to get a cup of tea outside of meals but this may have been because of the construction and perhaps a difference in culture. Also once dinner was over we had to leave area by about 730pm and there was no where to go except your fale, so a long night. I must mention the lovely young ladies who work there and prepared our food etc. They were so warm and gracious and a pleasure to be arround. I do want to return to Joelans when we come back to Samoa and see the girls and how the fales have developed with the dining area up and running.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews