We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We spent our first two nights in Samoa at the outrigger- it was perfect. The breakfast is delightful, staff are friendly and welcoming, rooms are very comfortable. We had a wonderful time, would recommend and would stay again. Thanks to all of the staff at the outrigger!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank soaproddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We spent one night in the Samoan Outrigger. Arrived early in the morning and were lucky that there was a room ready for us to check in. The staff was extremely friendly and offered us complementary breakfast.
The rooms and the common areas were very clean. Good value for price.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bogdana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Bogdana,

Thank you for taking the time to upload this review. We'r pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also good to see that you found our rooms and common areas very clean. Once again faafetai lava.

Regards

The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Our family group rented two fales and an air-conditioned room. All of us found the room/fales very comfortable and slept well. The lockable boxes to keep belongings safe in the fales were appreciated.
The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a guard to keep cars and the premises secure at night which was good.
There is a kitchen for guest use.
The grounds are very nice with lovely landscaping and the good sized pool got a lot of use from the younger members of the family. Don't forget the repellent as there are a lot of mosquitoes in the evening!
The position is convenient to town and to the Cross Island Road. If you don't have a car there is a taxi rank just across the road.
Our only criticism was the breakfast which was much scimpier than other places where we stayed - one small pancake and one boiled egg each and limited fruit. Plenty of toast!
All in all, an enjoyable stay at a very good budget hotel, at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Fales 3 and 4 are quietest as they do not have people walking along the path alongside them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pipi_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Talofa pipi_on the_go,

First of all thank you so much for the nice comments regarding our Fales, staff, pool, garden, facilities etc. Great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Breakfast we serve is a tropical breakfast and guests are more than welcome to ask for extra fruits, pancakes etc. Once again thank you so much for being our guests.

Regards

The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Great value hotel located close to the central part of Apia. I have been staying here several times during the last several years and I keep coming back. The staff are helpful and friendly, the rooms are functional and clean, it is quite at night and the breakfast (included in the price) is great. Overall, I can highly recommend the Samoan Outrigger Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomaslyngejensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Talofa Thomas,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to your next visit. Until then all the best.

Regards

Claus Hermansen
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

​Stayed several nights at the Outrigger. The staff were helpful and friendly at check in, as they remained during the stay.

Pro’s.
1. Nice pool and sitting area out the back.
2. Air conditioning in the room (helpful if you need to acclimatise to the warmth).
3. Breakfast included in our tariff. Not a huge breakfast, but enough to get going in the morning.
4. Not too far from town.
5. A safe in the room.

Con’s
1. Had to endure two cold showers. The owner said that the premises has solar panels, so if it is drained off by people showering early - your gonna miss out if they spend too long in the shower!
2. The premises are on a busy road during the day. The noise starts pretty early, but pretty much quietens down during the night.
3. The GYM over the road is a bit noisy in the morning with their dance type class. This could be a pro if you want to go to the gym!!
4. The room I had was pretty basic, but it was clean.
5. Parking is a bit of a squeeze, and you may have to move your car to let others out etc.
Overall, I thought our stay was good, and you should consider it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Onlinegeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamoanOutriggerHotel, Owner at Samoan Outrigger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Talofa,

Thank you for taken the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our staff, garden, pool, breakfast etc. and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Regarding the hot water: We did have a large group staying with us while you were here and we thought that was the reason why our hot water was under extra pressure. However it turned out that the problem was a burned capacitor in the panel. The problem has since then been fixed.

Once again thank you so much for staying with us. All the best.

Regards

The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
2.3 km away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
1.4 km away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
1.9 km away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 29 in Apia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#15 of 29 in Apia
159 reviews
28.4 km away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
409 reviews
2.2 km away
Taumeasina Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoan Outrigger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Address: Cross Island Road | Motootua, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Apia
Price Range: RM228 - RM266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samoan Outrigger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is located in Motootua only 15 min. walk from downtown Apia and only 5 minutes walk from the national hospital. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel offers budget accommodation "with a touch of style" Clean and affordable rooms with ensuite and without ensuite. We also have traditional Samoan garden fales overlooking the swimming pool. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is surrounded by a lush tropical garden. All rooms with ensuite and AC renovated in February 2012. Come and enjoy a cold Vailima on our new pool deck.WI-FI available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Samoan Outrigger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Hotel Apia
Outrigger Apia
Apia Outrigger
Samoan Outrigger Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing