We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, pricy for duration of stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samoa Tradition Resort
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

2 adults staying 4 nights. Room 1 in hotel section of resort. Note: the hotel section is 2-storey with 10 rooms. Villas on ground level available at additional cost. Total cost $1200USD

Pros:
- secluded with great views
- clean pool + surrounds (note, deep end is over 2m)
- security guard on duty at night
- fiafia night (traditional dancing) every Thursday; I later found out this is one the more popular hotels & are regularly booked out. On check in, recommend you book your tickets to avoid disappointment. Show is amazing!
- daily housekeeping

Cons:
- if you're staying in the hotel section of resort, parking is on a first in best dressed basis. Not ideal when carrying luggage and shopping supplies
- towels for the pool are not supplied. There's also no pool furniture for sun bathers (or to watch over other swimmers)

Misc:
- room 1 has no balcony, also, the windows do not have a secure "screen" - the current screen can be moved and thus leave an opening to throw things out the window (don't do this!)
- getting to STR is very easy, you will come across another hotel (hotel Hacienda from memory) before getting to STR. You need to continue down the end of this road as the entrance to resort is on the corner to the left.

The hiked price is reflective of the season (Christmas and New Years) during my stay. It's likely prices are more reasonable during non-peak.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2017

The hotel looks like it has undergone a renovation and there are many villas/suites upon your arrival which look great to stay in. I was only there for 2 nights and stayed in the 2 storey (budget) part of it. Overall it was a good stay however there were a few good and bad.

The bad:
the driveway is quite cracked and uneven and needs to be upgraded asap so watch out if you have a small car
the bed creaks alot and the mattress is still covered in plastic
when my partner and i stayed there there wasnt any staff except for the secuirty guard and the receptionist (I think they either own or are related to the owners) otherwise there wasnt really anyone available

The good:
The room has many facilities such as a fridge and tv and the bathroom is quite a good size
the staff were available at all hours of the day which made it handy as we checked in at around 11pm
the location is close to a few shops and eventually the main road
good place to make camp and explore the beautiful Samoa

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSB0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights at the resort. So happy with the very family orientated staff. Thursday night was a buffet dinner & entertainment. The entertainment was awesome, enthralled at the performances, it felt like they took us on a journey around the South Pacific with out us leaving our destination. The emcee had us all engaged, my mother was called out to partake in a kava ceremony as were a few other patrons that night. So much fun & it was intimate.
The amenities are sufficient and clean. My family loved it here & we will most certainly come back with the entire family & will stay here again.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank ja_ves_tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

The tradition resort is an awesome place to stay. The architecture and culture is well represented and the fia fia night is the best on the island!!!
We had a two-bedroom suite and everything needed was included. Very helpful staff and close to the city.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Roderick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

we used the hotel as our base to explore the island. although we were out a lot it was lovely to return to semi-rural quiet and cooler than coastal places. budget room perfect for us with fan aircon fridge kettle tea/coffee/milk. bathroom a little rough but clean and strong hot shower. pool really nice only downer was broken lounge furniture. staff very friendly and helpful. excellent Fia Fia cultural show and dinner in house with firedance.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SallyDee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Apia hotels
5.3 km away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
4.8 km away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
5.7 km away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 29 in Apia
245 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#14 of 29 in Apia
157 reviews
8.4 km away
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
#11 of 29 in Apia
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoa Tradition Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoa Tradition Resort

Address: Ululoloa Heights, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Price Range: RM258 - RM524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samoa Tradition Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talofa lava and welcome to our very own Paradise Accommodation of true Samoan Tradition, nestle amongst the pristine native forest which offers seclusion and privacy for the ultimate get away. Samoa Tradition Resort offers a unique, quiet and relaxing atmosphere where holiday makers enjoy Samoa dwellings expressed in the art of traditional architecture once revered by our forefathers. It is situated at Ululoloa Heights, an exclusive suburban of the capital of Apia which is only 7 minutes drive to the capital of Apia and 3 minutes away from the main Golf Course in Samoa.If you are looking for an authentic Samoan experience with exceptional, modern comfort at an affordable price then Samoa Tradition Resort is for you.Samoa Tradition Resort offers various Accommodations that suit everyone’s budget. Our personal and friendly service caters for the needs of travellers from all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Samoa Tradition Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoa Tradition Resort Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing