We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Sierra Bonita Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Sierra Bonita Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 3,078 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 7th St & Glendale Ave.
Description: The Sierra Bonita Grill is named after the historic Sierra Bonita Ranch in South Eastern Arizona. Founded by Henry Hooker in 1872, the Sierra Bonita Ranch was known for it’s hospitality and innovative ranching methods. We would like to celebrate the spirit represented by Mr. Hooker and other pioneer ranches throughout Arizona with our restaurant and hope to continue the tradition of great food and hospitality. Our menu reflects the hearty cooking style of Southern Arizona ranches, many of which were started by Spanish and Mexican families. We will continue to explore the ongoing Mexican and Latin influences on this area’s culture and food. Patio seating available to accommodate 30 people.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I happened upon this place a year ago when we were trying to find a nice place for lunch on a Sunday. I ordered the Monte Christo , man o man that was a super good sandwich.
We have been back a number of times. And every selection on the menu has been delicious, my wife always has to start off our meals with their mini quesadillas. We visited the Sierra Bonita again last week. I had the enchiladas, which are stacked instead of rolled. They were very flavorful. My wife had the north Phoenix chicken, which had a red chili glaze, but her favorite part of the dish were the poblano creamed corn and the green chili mashed potatoes.
The atmosphere is great as well. The interior is rustic and intimate and they have a great indoor patio.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azduner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    66
    22
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great evening out!”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Upon reviews found on TripAdvisor, we treated our Phoenix hosts to dinner at the Sierra Bonita. The restaurant was new to them, too. We went on a Friday night and it was about 8 pm when we arrived. I was a bit concerned as the restaurant was packed at that time and the noise level was HIGH. However, even though there was more noise than I enjoy at a restaurant, it was not annoying and shortly after we arrived, the crowd broke so all was pleasant. We enjoyed wonderful meals and chose to go with one of the wine specials for the evening; it too was excellent. Our waitress was very nice and the food presentation was quite inviting. Prices were fair, too. After we finished eating, we walked around the restaurant a bit to enjoy the western art. Our hosts were very pleased to find this restaurant and said they would return again as we will on a future visit to the Phoenix area. Our hosts are not the most adventurous restaurant goers so for them to say they enjoyed their outing and would return in a heart beat is saying a lot.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrgAmes_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
372 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We love the selection of food and it's a great place to meet friends

Helpful?
Thank goodtravel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
147 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Whoops You passed It”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The Sierra Bonita has such a small presence on 7th street you almost drive by without seeing it. The restaurant is surprisingly spacious inside. Great southwest comfort food. Seems to have made the transition from owners just fine. Previous owner left the wonderful Buttermilk Pie recipe.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
162 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Best Southwestern Grill”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

OMG we happened upon this place by accident and will be among are favorites for appealing good and atmosphere. Cozy and warm and the food is out of this world. I had Mahi tacos that had some zing to them and the homemade guacamole was scrumpous. My husband had the Osso Buco, the small plate size, and it was big with bold flavors. We're going back on Wednesday and bringing another couple so we can try even more selections. Great experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maga48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sierra Bonita Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sierra Bonita Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing