We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic downtown location & animal friendly”
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hassayampa Inn
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017

For weary travelers has a restaurant, a cafe, a bar/lounge choice for food/drink. Enjoyed eating in the lounge with live guitar music & variety of old songs being sung. Nice outdoor patio area as well.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldengrandma91301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hello! Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forwad to any future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

The hotel was renovated in 1987 but still has original structure and as such was squeaky and noisy just walking in our room. There is poor insulation between rooms and outdoor sounds come through too easily. Downtown at night generally is very quiet although not so much on Saturday night at least.

Our room was also very small and with one sink by a bed and not in the bathroom. The shower stall was very small.

There are really no amenities that make up for these shortcomings. Coffee make in the room is just average. Coffee downstairs is $2.50 a cup but at times I had to wait in line even for that service. No free paper, no room refrigerator or small safe for valuables.

The location is great but downtown is not far from many other hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello Dan,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had noise issues at the hotel. And I am sorry you didn't find the hotel as enjoyable as most do. I am happy to discuss with you further if you would like to. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This historic hotel has a beautiful lobby as well as a nice patio and is in a great location in the centre of Prescott, a lovely town to visit with lots of good quality shops and great bars/restaurants. However the rooms and especially the bathroom are quite small even though very clean .The big inconvenience is the lift, yes so historic that you have to call a member of staff to use it ! definitively not very 2017. We did not try the restaurant but the menu looked interesting and fairly priced. The lady in the bar was friendly and efficient. Check in was not so friendly when we got there. There is a car park reserved for customers.It was however a good experience to stay there.

Room Tip: The highest floors seem to have quieter and better rooms but you will have to use the stairs or wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hello, Corinne,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hassayampa Inn. I am sorry you found the original elevator to be an inconvenience. The staff is trained to be called to the elevator as quickly as needed. I am also sorry to hear that the check-in staff was not friendly with you, I will address this with them.
We hope you visit again and try the restaurant next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Stephanie and her team made our wedding day dreams come true! The weather was a huge concern but everyone made it as stress-free for me and my groom and that was so important to me. The day of the wedding was a blast since I didn't have to worry about the details. Everyone that helped us was super attentive and considerate in every way. The best part is that our guests really enjoyed themselves and there was ZERO complaints. The hotel rooms were nice, very clean. I was hoping that the rooms themselves would have more of a "vintage" feel but other than that, our stay there was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hello Georgina,
I'm pleased to see your review as well as happy to hear that Stephanie assisted in making your wedding special. I will make sure to pass that on to her. :)
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, as well as your guests, did. We hope you will visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Everything about this hotel exceeded my expectations. From the constant jazz music playing to the fantastic lobby- it was really a treat to stay here.
Yes, the rooms are small, but they are clean and quaint and nice.
Yes, the bathrooms are tiny, but they are clean and serve their purpose.
We never used the elevator, but apparently it's the original one that the staff has to run for you. For some reason I kept tripping up the stairs.. I'm not sure if they are a different "vintage" size than I am not used to, but I tripped twice (so be careful!).

Cons:
- The staff wasn't welcoming or responsive to my husband or myself. We're young and maybe they're used to helping only older people? I don't know, it wasn't great customer service though.
- Not much parking. We had to park on the street.

Pros:
- Right in the middle of the downtown area.
- Great price.
- Vintage style (makes you feel like a flapper or something)
- Coffee shop in the lobby with delicious coffee!

Overall, super experience in a historic hotel with lots of character!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello Mary,
Thank you for the great review. We take all comments seriously and I am very sorry to hear that the staff wasn't welcoming to you. I will address this with staff and am happy to hear from you regarding it, should you want to discuss further.

There is a lot across the street for the hotel if nobody told you. I'm glad you had an overall great experience and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
550 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#12 of 22 in Prescott
333 reviews
6.3 km away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#10 of 22 in Prescott
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
826 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
518 reviews
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Address: 122 E Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3899
Region: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prescott
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#10 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range: RM329 - RM1,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing