We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David P
Bedford, New York

Noise all night long from the party in the courtyard

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 May 2024
I've never stayed in a hotel with such an astronomically stupid fundamental design. The entire building literally WRAPS AROUND THE OPEN-AIR BAR/COURTYARD. So if you've been assigned one of the inside rooms, you're treated to the sounds of partiers until all hours.

It's 12:30am as I write this, and the party is going full swing. It's impossible to sleep.

I called down to the front desk, and they told me that there are no quiet hours, no time when the loud guests are required to clear out. They said they'd send security out there to ask them to keep it down, but, of course, it made no difference.

Like nobody could have figured out that noise would be a problem if you wrapped the guest rooms around a huge open-air bar!?
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 8 May 2024
Dear davidpT4623PK,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Scottsdale. We appreciate your feedback as your comments allow us the opportunity to focus on areas where we can exceed expectations. Thank you for your assistance as we work to strengthen our guest experience. We hope that you will provide us with another chance to show you the exceptional stay for which we are known.

Ryan Lemcke
Guest Services Manager
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 513
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 513
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 334
  • Agoda.com
    RM 512
9.5 km from The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 958
  • Expedia.com
    RM 901
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 840
  • Hotels.com
    RM 899
14.7 km from The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Cabanas
RM 725
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    RM 725
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 631
  • Priceline
    RM 725
13.0 km from The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 1,697
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    RM 4,283
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,445
  • Trip.com
    RM 1,696
2.6 km from The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Beachfront
Pool
The Phoenician sits at the base of majestic Camelback Mountain
RM 1,692
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 1,692
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,370
  • Trip.com
    RM 1,691
13.4 km from The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Pool
Restaurant
RM 372
  • Expedia.com
    RM 372
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 319
  • Hotels.com
    RM 372
8.6 km from The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 750
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    RM 748
  • travelup.com
    RM 552
  • Vio.com
    RM 748
11.1 km from The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 382
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 313
  • Agoda.com
    RM 274
  • Priceline
    RM 382
17.9 km from The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 757
  • travelup.com
    RM 728
  • Priceline
    RM 757
6.7 km from The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Casita overview
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 810
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 783
  • Priceline
    RM 810
19.7 km from The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Scottsdale
Reviews (3,131)
Filter reviews
3,131 results
Traveller rating
1,749
876
306
118
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,749
876
306
118
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river golf course flow rider adventure pool adult pool bagpipe player heavenly bed outdoor mall fire pit family pool scottsdale quarter pool area kids club great shopping ping pong self parking spring break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 3,131 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2024

This is good for families - but I didn't know why the rating was so high. They don't allow rollaways. Room was fine. Plain. They didn't give me the upgrade I was entitled to for Bonvoy. Bonvoy status seems not to matter much anymore. Breakfast not included. Breakfast buffet was ok. The tea was good. The pool was ok. The bar wasn't open on one side. Wait staff was few and it took a while to get food and the order was wrong. The lazy river doesn't MOVE forward and it was filled with leaves and debris. It wasn't anything special at all. The gym was nice. The lobby is nice. Check in staff - meh. My teens felt like they were treated like babies. Lots of malls and restaurants in the area...that was a plus. Great hibachi place that is loud and boisterous and young.

Room tip: They don't do rollaways. The pool was dirty. the lazy river didn't flow and got stuck a lot, very slow! No breakfast included. OVERPRICED.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler650749
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy member and for taking the time to write a review. It is always our goal to provide an exceptional stay to our guests; therefore, we apologize for letting you down. We will share your feedback with our associates to ensure our loyal travelers are receiving the experience they expect and deserve. Your comments are a valuable part of ensuring that our services align with the benefits you rightfully expect as a member. Furthermore, we are sorry for your unpleasant front desk experience and for the service issues you endured at our bar. Please be assured we will follow up on this appropriately and will take measures to ensure we focus on providing attentive, seamless hospitality to our guests. Meanwhile, your remark regarding the pool condition has been noted and shared accordingly. On a positive note, we are glad to know you liked our inviting lobby and convenient location, as well as our well-equipped WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio. We hope you will give us another chance to make a better impression.

Ryan Lemcke
Guest Services Manager
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2024

First, off we paid $20 a day, for $80 total, for never using any resort facilities. We were in meetings all day and night. And the first warning of this was when we were checking in, buried in the check-in printout; no place else.
Various websites say parking is free and in fact there are no control gates or monitoring at the self-parking lot. Half the guests knew to just lie and say they weren’t parking here but we were honest and thus got hit with another fee of $20 a day for four days, for still another $80 total.
We only stayed here because of the conference we were attending but only after the fact were we told we would not earn Bonvoy points because our hotel stay was coordinated with the conference event. Even though we checked in and otherwise used the Marriott app, thereby saving still more overhead for whoever really owns this property.
And finally, various GPS apps took us and many others to the wrong Westin Kierland resort. Marriott somehow doesn’t care about making the distinction between two properties with nearly identical names.
Marriott spends a fortune trying to get us to stay at their brands but a property owner such as this one totally undermines any loyalty to Marriot.

Room tip: If you are self-parking, don't tell them. Half the guests lie and thus avoid the $20 nightly fee. Websites even say it's free.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWarrior200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2024

Dear TravelWarrior200,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We were disappointed to read about the trouble you experienced in locating our resort. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, as we are always striving to improve our guest satisfaction. Furthermore, we regret your disappointment with the additional charges. In addition, regarding the earning of Bonvoy points, we apologize for any confusion or misunderstanding. We will review your comments with the appropriate individuals, and we are grateful for your patience during this time.

Ryan Lemcke
Guest Services Manager
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2024

Very mixed experience. The disconnect between what I thought I was booking and what I actually booked was huge. I understood that I was booking 2 rooms - one more of a suite with a full kitchen and a nearby or connected room with 2 queen beds for my kids. What I actually had was a casita that had nothing you would describe as a full kitchen - just a refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Oh, and a microwave. But no way to actually cook anything. There was no cutting board or sharp knife. No kitchen towels, no colanders, no cooking implements of any kind. This is a big problem for me, as I have a child with special needs who doesn't eat anything you can buy in a restaurant.

When I checked in, I was surprised to find that my kids had to be in another building to stay in a room with 2 queen beds. And I was certainly surprised to find (after I showed up with several bags of groceries) that I could not cook in the kitchen. I had spent nearly an hour booking this on the phone. Then I called the local hotel 2 days in advance to confirm what the kitchen was like before arriving. So I was shocked at the simplicity of the setup.

It didn't help that the person who checked us in did not offer us any help in getting our many bags to our rooms. All in all, a poor first day.

There are, however, quite a lot of good things to say about the rest of the visit. There's quite a lot to do on property and we enjoyed all of it. The activities (pools, basketball, ping pong, pickleball courts) provide something for everyone. The gym was great - both the hours and equipment. Many of the employees are quite nice. A special shout out to Alfred at the Flowrider - learning to do boogie board tricks was the highlight of the trip!

Room tip: Be careful - casita looks like a full kitchen but is really just a fridge/freezer, microwave, and dishwasher
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanneGu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2024

Dear SusanneGu,

We are pleased you enjoyed your overall visit to Scottsdale, and that our associates, especially Alfred, helped to make your stay memorable. It was also a pleasure reading you loved our excellent resort amenities. However, we are disappointed to learn of the issues you experienced. This will be shared appropriately, and we will use your critique as we are always striving to grow and enhance our guest services. We appreciate your patience and your feedback. Thank you for choosing us, and we hope to welcome you and your family the next time you are in the area.

Ryan Lemcke
Guest Services Manager
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2024 via mobile

Beautiful property, but be prepared to walk 5-10 min from elevator to get to room. We were by the family pool and still a long way through a maze of hallways to get to our room. We booked this resort so our 12 yr old and 7 yr old would have plenty to do by the pool. We were disappointed to find that the Flo Rider had a fee to use, the lazy river was very slow and the waterslide is best suited for small children. We’ve been to 3 other resorts with the Flo Rider and never had to pay additional to use it. Nice to walk to shopping and restaurants, but not worry the high price for the family pool area.

Room tip: Lots of conventions, so busy lobby and coffee shop
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank OurPlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2024

We visited over spring break with a family of 4, two adults and two teenagers. We absolutely loved this hotel. Our stay was three nights and could have stayed longer. The property was well run, staff was accommodating and the facilities were clean. The pool area had a pool, lazy river and flowrider. There were basketball, baseball, pickleball and ping pong for the kids. It is a beautiful property and plan to return for a longer stay.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 860jilln
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear 860jilln,

Thank you for the five-star review of The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to read about your invigorating stay and how much you and your family enjoyed our impeccable property and thoughtful hospitality. Our associates are dedicated to delivering an excellent experience to all of our guests, and it will be an honor to pass along your compliments. Furthermore, we are glad our resort amenities helped elevate and optimize your visit. Thank you again for the high rating, and we love knowing you plan to return; we look forward to it.

Ryan Lemcke
Guest Services Manager
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews