We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We were here for 4.5 days in October, to see Jimmy Buffett on Thursday night and the Steelers on Sunday. Despite the fact that Scottsdale is on the other side of Phoenix from these venues, we picked the Phoenician.

Much has been written thus far about the opulence of this resort, and most of it is true.

Golf, biking, hiking, tennis, swimming are all available without leaving the resort. The equipment is all new-ish and up to date, and the rec area featuring the clubhouse and tennis garden are an easy walk from the main building.

There are several bars/lounges in the resort, but as a warning, they are all very low-key. If you're looking for nightlife, you're going to have to leave the Phoenician. In fact, the only live entertainment while we were there was a guitarist that can only be described as "coma-inducing" playing in the main lobby off of the Thirsty Camel bar. This was really the only drawback to the entire resort.

The staff though, is what makes this place. From the valet to the front desk to housekeeping to the bartenders, tennis staff, pool staff and grounds crew, everyone was on top of their game. You never passed a staff member in a hallway without being greeted, and on more than one occasion, they even asked out of the blue how our stay was and if there was anything that they could do for us.

There are several pools, including one that is "adult-only". Getting chairs was not a problem, as the pool staff continuously monitored unused chairs and replaced old towels with new, and moved belongings to a common area where they could be picked up by their owners. Great idea to keep people from "reserving" chairs at 9:00 AM only to not return until 2:00 PM. We've all seen that at every resort.

If you're looking for a relaxing place to get away from it all, The Phoenician in Scottsdale is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBC925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,661 - 1,665 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

We completed a very complicated program with 3 separate but overlapping back-to-back conferences very successfully. We couldn't have done this without the dedication of a very skilled and talented team of hotel professionals. For my responsibilities in housing and attendee services, we partnered seamlessly from the start with our counterparts in Convention Services and Group Reservations as well as the Front Desk staff. We especially would like to acknowledge the efforts of Ms.Tori Paul and Ms. Mallory Willson, for endlessly going above and beyond to make the impossible happen for our challenging and demanding annual group. They've continued a standard of excellence against which to benchmark for future years programs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaG73_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, as well as recognize members of our staff. We realize that in today’s world, change is a constant. Our goal is to provide exemplary service to our meeting planners and group attendees -- beginning prior to their program. First impressions are so important, and this starts for The Phoenician with the relationship between group coordinators and meeting planners long before a conference ever takes place. The partnerships created with individuals such as yourself are a great source of pride for us. We hope to welcome you back to The Phoenician soon for another program, or better yet, a relaxing vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This is a beautiful hotel with plenty of staff all eager to make us feel at home. We enjoyed hanging out by the pool with our kids and watching a football game in the Relish Burger Bistro. Looking at the majestic Camelback Mountains in all thier ruggedness while relaxing in luxury is great!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJDUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your Phoenician experience. We're glad to hear that you and your family had a memorable stay, enjoying our personalized service, beautiful views from the base of Camelback Mountain, pool complex and dining offerings. I do hope your team won! We look forward to having you with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Absolutely fabulous! We got a great deal that brought the room price down several hundred dollars. Not sure what the deal was, but keep an eye out in early December. Perfect time of year! Everything was just fabulous - service, rooms, food, the grounds. I wish we could have stayed longer. We talked about coming back again with the kids (we felt bad seeing the three different pools and slides, knowing how much they would enjoy). The wonderful soaking tub helped to ease the guilt away. We did some easy hikes on the grounds and enjoyed the desert landscape and wild life. We even went on a walking art tour. Since it was December they had a huge gingerbread house display. I'm missing it already ...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gellybeanlovescake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the Phoenician in September and what an absolutely PERFECT time for a visit! The guest rooms are fantastic, large, clean and the beds are awesome! The large property is fantastic and the pools were terrific. At the times we swam no one was ever in them so we had them nearly all to ourselves most of the time. The food was fabulous and the customer service was remarkable. The staff really new how to cater to us and we had wonderful experiences with the concerige as well. We will definately stay at The Phoenician again!

Room Tip: We had a 600 Sq Ft Superior NS room on 6th floor facing the Camelback Mountain. It was quiet and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: RM1,343 - RM3,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing