We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband took me to the resort for my birthday weekend. We found the service exceptionally attentive from the Front Desk check-in to checkout. Standouts were the well-appointed room (large bath with marbled double sinks, huge shower and spa tub) evening turn down service. We came in from dinner to find the bath tidied, radio playing KBAQ softly, and chocolate on the pillows. The carpeting in the room unfortunately was showing its age and badly needed shampooing.
One thing stood out as unacceptable for a luxury resort. The lanai was filthy. Bird droppings coated the lounge and chair cushions while dirt encrusted the table. Leaves and dirt strewed the patio. We didn't use it the entire stay. Disappointing.
The resort itself has stunning views of Camelback Mountain, especially from the pools. We spent part of the afternoon lounging by the hot tub which was lovely. The myraid lounges strewn around could have used a good cleaning, however.
All in all, we greatly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeysdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,479 - 1,483 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

The property was very well maintained and immaculate. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. Turn down service as well. The burger restaurant was really good and service throughout the resort was very good. The pools were all very nice and there was plenty of room. The small tents that you could rent for a day by the pool were really nice and if you were with the family or a larger group it would be nice to do for a day. We really enjoyed our stay here, would go back again and definitely recommend it, Great spa as well!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amesaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife were eargerly anticipating staying at the Phoenician, our first time, to celebrate our anniversary. The amenities were excellent. Dinner was wonderful at the steakhouse, over the top. The room was not as clean as it should have been. Food pieces in the corners and stains on a rug that should be replaced. Bed was comfortable, barhroom was spacious and clean. Patio furniture was very dusty, could not enjoy it. Rented a cabana, it was like day in paradise. Sam attended to our needs and was excellent. My wife and enjoyed the spa and meditation room very much. Be forewarned if you use a debit card for incedentals. Holds will be placed on the card making the funds unavailable, and they will make you wait up to a week for the funds to be available again even though they were paid in full. They could of fixed this, but chose not to. Because of this we will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amadroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Yep, she's been around a while and some might argue that the decor is dated but this is one classy resort and customer service is top notch. I was here on business for a convention being held at the resort and everything was excellent - food, beverage, staff, etc. I don't have one thing to complain about. This is definitely a 5-star resort and if you ever have the opportunity to stay here you'll appreciate it.

By the way, staff gratuity was included as part of my conference fees and not once was I asked for extra money. I tipped a little a couple of times for hauling my heavy suitcase up a flight of stairs but it was nice to know that all of the staff had been briefed to not expect tips from conference attendees.

Bottom line - this is an amazing place to stay!

Room Tip: I dont know about price differences but the cabanas are great rooms. They are not attached to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budamacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

First impressions were not good. Took more than one hour to get checked in due to the understaffed front desk, the lock on one of our rooms was malfunctioning and the front desk clerk was woefully undertrained to correct the problem.  Lots of apologies, but nothing else. And that was my feeling with other problems with the stay: people falling all over themselves to apologize, but problems at an alleged five-star resort shouldn't happen to begin with. Honestly, the operation felt like amateur hour.  Inadequate staffing persisted in the restaurants and pool.  And when staff did appear they were more often than not indifferent. This, combined with the torn and stained carpets, damaged furniture, non-functioning telephones, room service trays left in the hall for entire days, dated furnishings ... no, this is not a five-star resort. The J&G Steakhouse onsite is adequate, but not spectacular.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Molliebclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: RM1,516 - RM2,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing