We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-Notch Food!”
Review of Javelina Cantina

Javelina Cantina
Ranked #38 of 169 Restaurants in Sedona
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, View details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Javelina Cantina is located in the Hillside Shopping Center. We offer traditional Sonoran Mexican cuisine. All of our food is housemade fresh daily and cooked to order, using the finest and freshest ingredients available. We offer indoor and outdoor patio dining with spectacular views of Sedona whether you're seated inside or out. Happy hour is from 3:00 to 6:00 daily. Please join us for Sedona's finest Mexican Cuisine. Visit us near sunset and you just might get a show, we usually see Javelina's on the north side of the restaurant around sunset.
Reviewed 5 March 2021

My wife and I stopped in on a Saturday night and had to wait roughly 45 minute to get a table, however this was not a huge deal to us. We left our name and walked around the nearby shops for a bit and then returned for a drink at the bar. Great margarita selection! Bartender was very nice and attentive. What really impressed us was the quality of the food. Some of the best chips and salsa we had ever had, and a heaping plate of chicken fajitas that we couldn't finish. Great atmosphere, even during capacity restrictions due to COVID. The restaurant had more of a modern, slightly upscale feel to it (not your typical Mexican restaurant vibe). Friendly and quick service for respectable prices. Definitely will be back when we visit the area again!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick-Lee0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2021 via mobile

Nothing special about this place, just another Mexican restaurant. After waiting 35 minutes, we were seated. They brought chips and dip which was mostly tomatoes that tasted like they were from a can, very little white onion, jalapeno or cilantro. We ordered jalapeno poppers, fish tacos and chili relleno, with refried beans (no pinto beans) & rice. The only dip for the poppers was thin ranch, chili rellenos was very bland & tacos were ok.
We would not return.

Date of visit: February 2021
2  Thank TCWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021 via mobile

Great margaritas, friendly service! If you stop in, we definitely recommend the Prickly Pear Margarita!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2021

There was a large indoor dining room, the bar area was large and they had televisions that had sports on I think.
The sun was beautiful so we agreed to be seated outside, but then we were put into the shade where it was cool.
The food we ordered and it came quickly, everything was very tasty. The salsa was great too and the chips were refilled for us.
My son had the fajitas and my daughter and I shared a 'combo plate' that had your choice of 3 items. ($20ish) She likes the rice & I like the refried beans. On top of that we had a taco, enchilada, and a chimichanga. We took food to go that we didn't finish. No bar drinks, just lemonade.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021 via mobile

Only giving 5 star for food not hospitality
We were greeted with a friendly hello at the host stand and decided to sit at the bar instead of waiting for a table. The female bartender with short hair/ buzzed cut was rude and stand-offish. It was only us and one other couple at the bar but she acted like she wanted nothing to do with us. She didn't wipe the menus down or anything. I didn't even see one rag or sanny bucket at least I had hand sanitizer.
Other than the bartender everything else was fabulous!! We split one prickly pear margarita and ordered the pick 3 combination, plus an additional Carne asada taco. This was more than enough to fill both of us up.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank heath28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Javelina Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Javelina Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.