We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Alturas Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alturas Wildlife Sanctuary is a non-profit organization where we Rescue, Rehabilitate and Release Costa Rica's exotic wildlife back into the jungle! 100% of your donation goes to care for the animals. You will see a variety of species and hopefully walk away with an understand on the importance of conservation.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had a tour with Joanne. We LOVED it. Our kids too. We learned a lot and just overall- it was super enjoyable. Gorgeous setting too. Love their mission.

Thank bklynyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Public Relations Manager at Alturas Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review and support. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour and our lovely tour guide! With your support, we are able continue our work in rescue, rehabilitation and release. From all of us at Team Alturas, Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"injured animals"
in 13 reviews
"sad stories"
in 12 reviews
"money goes"
in 9 reviews
"amazing animals"
in 8 reviews
"worthy cause"
in 8 reviews
"local animals"
in 7 reviews
"informative tour"
in 10 reviews
"permanent residents"
in 7 reviews
"love animals"
in 6 reviews
"costa rican animals"
in 6 reviews
"spider monkeys"
in 8 reviews
"heart wrenching"
in 5 reviews
"their lives"
in 12 reviews
"great chance"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful hotel"
in 4 reviews
"animal lovers"
in 6 reviews
"dedicated staff"
in 5 reviews
Filter

76 - 80 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Such an amazing place . Spent a week volunteering with my teenage son. The staff are incredible! The animals are so well kept. We roughed it a bit in the volunteer house but was still fine. Great getting to meet and get to know the other volunteers. Loved every minute!! Even had time to do an atv jungle tour!!

Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Public Relations Manager at Alturas Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank your Maureen for your kind words and support! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time volunteering with us! We hope that you will volunteer with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Staff is super awesome here, we had a small mix up with our times and they were able to get us in no problem. Fish tacos are great here and seeing all the animals was really cool.

1  Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Public Relations Manager at Alturas Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you so much Ben for your review and support! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit! 100% of your ticket price goes directly to help fund everything we do to protect and rehabilitate the amazing animals of Costa Rica and we couldn't do it without you. From all of us at Team Alturas, thank you for your support. Please come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

We had a rough start as I had booked the tour on the wrong day, but the staff was very helpful and graciously got us a spot on the tour!
Everything went up from there with Florian’s incredibly informative tour and wonderfully corny jokes. The centre is doing a great job at rehabilitation and release of the animals. The whole operation consists of unsung hero’s. We have done several tours like this in other parts of the world and this one was by far the most informative!

1  Thank MakaiPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Public Relations Manager at Alturas Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words and support! We are very glad that you enjoyed the tour of the sanctuary and glad that you were able to learn more about Costa Rican wildlife. As a 501(3))c nonprofit, we rely on our tours and volunteer program to care for all the animals in our rehabilitation center and sanctuary. We so appreciate your donation and hope you will visit us again in the future. From all of us at Team Alturas, Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

During our recent visit to Costa Rica, our group of 8 enjoyed a first-hand look at native animals of Costa Rica who were in need of the caring, sensitive intervention offered at the Alturas Wildlife Sanctuary. Our guide, Florien, has been part of the team for five years, and patiently toured us around the compound where animals are in various stages of rescue. While the ultimate goal is to return injured animals to their natural habitat, not all the animals can be fully rehabilitated. The tour included both animals about to be released, as well as those who can no longer survive on their own, and who therefore remain at the sanctuary to educate humans who have impacted their environment. We received thorough information from Florien regarding the various parrots, macaws and toucans in residence, as well as the kinkajou, sloths, monkeys, raccoons, etc. The sanctuary is largely staffed by volunteers and it is inspiring to hear the stories and the see the utmost respect for all the animals in their care.

1  Thank Mrs_FOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas R, Public Relations Manager at Alturas Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for your kind words and support! We rely on our tours to help fund all the work we do at the sanctuary and we couldn't do it without you. We try to make sure the tour is as informative as possible so that people can leave with more knowledge about what we do, why we do it, and how they can help.We so appreciate your generosity and support. From all of us at Team Alturas, Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alturas Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Alturas Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing